[SOLVED] How to partition disk for installation: no root file system is defined

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
AndyMH
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2927
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: [SOLVED] How to partition disk for installation: no root file system is defined

Post by AndyMH »

Relieved, think you can see that we were running out of ideas :) You have got a solid laptop in a T410 capable of running cinnamon and it should, from now on, present no problems with mint.
Homebrew i5-8400+GTX1080 Cinnamon 19.0, 3 x Thinkpad T430 Cinnamon 19.0, i7-3632 , i5-3320, i5-3210, Thinkpad T60 19.0 Mate

User avatar
LanceM
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1808
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 11:50 pm

Re: [SOLVED] How to partition disk for installation: no root file system is defined

Post by LanceM »

I wish last night, that before you erased the Windows installer, you could have updated the BIOS. Did't think of it until I was in bed. There's still the convoluted OS independent route Lenovo provides - but I guess if it's not broken, don't fix it, right? As a word of caution, you should only put in matched pairs of RAM modules. When you purchase them, only buy as a pair from a reliable manufacturer. I like G.Skill, Kingston, and Crucial because of such good luck with them.
To mark this issue solved, go to your original 1st post and click the edit pencil and add [Solved] at the beginning of the title and click Submit.
Mint accepts donations: https://linuxmint.com/donors.php

scot^2
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 145
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 3:25 pm

Re: [SOLVED] How to partition disk for installation: no root file system is defined

Post by scot^2 »

blueocean wrote:
Tue Jan 14, 2020 12:11 pm
I wish last night, that before you erased the Windows installer, you could have updated the BIOS. Did't think of it until I was in bed. There's still the convoluted OS independent route Lenovo provides - but I guess if it's not broken, don't fix it, right? As a word of caution, you should only put in matched pairs of RAM modules. When you purchase them, only buy as a pair from a reliable manufacturer. I like G.Skill, Kingston, and Crucial because of such good luck with them.
Do you think I should update the BIOS now somehow?

That is good to know. The 4 GB stick is Crucial, but the faulty 8 GB stick was Adata.

User avatar
LanceM
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1808
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 11:50 pm

Re: [SOLVED] How to partition disk for installation: no root file system is defined

Post by LanceM »

Tough call. It may do no good at all. No certainty of knowing. If you think you could update it following the instructions on their site without help (can't duplicate because of not having a Lenovo anything) it would be okay. Other members might have used that method and could provide assistance.The reason the module went bad, is quite likely they were mismatched and not because of the brand. Mismatched is poison.
To mark this issue solved, go to your original 1st post and click the edit pencil and add [Solved] at the beginning of the title and click Submit.
Mint accepts donations: https://linuxmint.com/donors.php

jglen490
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 975
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 9:57 pm

Re: [SOLVED] How to partition disk for installation: no root file system is defined

Post by jglen490 »

scot^2 wrote:
Tue Jan 14, 2020 4:13 pm
blueocean wrote:
Tue Jan 14, 2020 12:11 pm
I wish last night, that before you erased the Windows installer, you could have updated the BIOS. Did't think of it until I was in bed. There's still the convoluted OS independent route Lenovo provides - but I guess if it's not broken, don't fix it, right? As a word of caution, you should only put in matched pairs of RAM modules. When you purchase them, only buy as a pair from a reliable manufacturer. I like G.Skill, Kingston, and Crucial because of such good luck with them.
Do you think I should update the BIOS now somehow?

That is good to know. The 4 GB stick is Crucial, but the faulty 8 GB stick was Adata.
Do you know what level your BIOS (UEFI?) is at right now? Not every firmware update is necessarily needed. If you think you are having a system problem, you MAY need to or even want to update. You can look here and open up the text file for each of the listed updates and see what is being changed by the firmware update.
I feel more like I do than I did when I got here.
Toshiba A135-S2386, Intel T2080, ATI Radeon® Xpress 200M Chipset, 2GB RAM, 500GB

User avatar
LanceM
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1808
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 11:50 pm

Re: [SOLVED] How to partition disk for installation: no root file system is defined

Post by LanceM »

Do you know what level your BIOS (UEFI?) is at right now? Not every firmware update is necessarily needed. If you think you are having a system problem, you MAY need to or even want to update. You can look here and open up the text file for each of the listed updates and see what is being changed by the firmware update.
See page 4
To mark this issue solved, go to your original 1st post and click the edit pencil and add [Solved] at the beginning of the title and click Submit.
Mint accepts donations: https://linuxmint.com/donors.php

jglen490
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 975
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 9:57 pm

Re: [SOLVED] How to partition disk for installation: no root file system is defined

Post by jglen490 »

Sorry, this has gone on for 8 pages! But I will check page 4 for the correct answer.

EDIT: O.K., my bad I thought this was a T430s. Obviously thinking of another thread.
Same concept though, just replace the T430s with T410s in the link. Check the text file, make a decision, etc.
I feel more like I do than I did when I got here.
Toshiba A135-S2386, Intel T2080, ATI Radeon® Xpress 200M Chipset, 2GB RAM, 500GB

User avatar
LanceM
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1808
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 11:50 pm

Re: [SOLVED] How to partition disk for installation: no root file system is defined

Post by LanceM »

Sorry, this has gone on for 8 pages! But I will check page 4 for the correct answer.
:mrgreen:
To mark this issue solved, go to your original 1st post and click the edit pencil and add [Solved] at the beginning of the title and click Submit.
Mint accepts donations: https://linuxmint.com/donors.php

scot^2
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 145
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 3:25 pm

Re: [SOLVED] How to partition disk for installation: no root file system is defined

Post by scot^2 »

jglen490 wrote:
Tue Jan 14, 2020 5:32 pm
Sorry, this has gone on for 8 pages! But I will check page 4 for the correct answer.

EDIT: O.K., my bad I thought this was a T430s. Obviously thinking of another thread.
Same concept though, just replace the T430s with T410s in the link. Check the text file, make a decision, etc.
The T410s is not listed anymore that I can see. It starts at T420 for the T-series.

User avatar
LanceM
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1808
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 11:50 pm

Re: [SOLVED] How to partition disk for installation: no root file system is defined

Post by LanceM »

If you go here: https://pcsupport.lenovo.com/us/en/downloads/ds012909 Download the .iso. A ways down you will see 410. Also the README is there for download.
To mark this issue solved, go to your original 1st post and click the edit pencil and add [Solved] at the beginning of the title and click Submit.
Mint accepts donations: https://linuxmint.com/donors.php

User avatar
zcot
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 715
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 6:08 pm

Re: [SOLVED] How to partition disk for installation: no root file system is defined

Post by zcot »

scot^2 wrote:
Tue Jan 14, 2020 4:13 pm
The 4 GB stick is Crucial, but the faulty 8 GB stick was Adata.
It might not be a faulty stick. It might work perfectly in a different scenario.

Echoing what blueocean mentioned, the very specific product info will tell you exactly the compatibility factors. It might just be that this system does not even support an 8GB stick? Maybe it maxes at 8GB, but can only be done with 2x4GB? Maybe it needs to be equal pairs? Maybe ecc/non-ecc can/can't be mixed? Who knows? -I didn't look for the info though.

but good job chasing down the issue! ;)

scot^2
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 145
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 3:25 pm

Re: [SOLVED] How to partition disk for installation: no root file system is defined

Post by scot^2 »

blueocean wrote:
Tue Jan 14, 2020 6:39 pm
If you go here: https://pcsupport.lenovo.com/us/en/downloads/ds012909 Download the .iso. A ways down you will see 410. Also the README is there for download.
Oh, yes, I do see the list of changes since my BIOS version, but I thought this route required that I have Windows installed?

User avatar
LanceM
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1808
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 11:50 pm

Re: [SOLVED] How to partition disk for installation: no root file system is defined

Post by LanceM »

The iso update is OS independent. No OS is required. But if you read the README, you'll see it's not easy to do.
To mark this issue solved, go to your original 1st post and click the edit pencil and add [Solved] at the beginning of the title and click Submit.
Mint accepts donations: https://linuxmint.com/donors.php

User avatar
LanceM
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1808
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 11:50 pm

Re: [SOLVED] How to partition disk for installation: no root file system is defined

Post by LanceM »

According to Kingston 8GB is maximum for your laptop. That would be 2 matched 4GB modules. Crucial has the same information. Amazon has the Crucial set: https://www.amazon.com/Crucial-PC3-1280 ... B005LDLVAO I might add that for everyday use adding to the existing 4GB probably won't produce any noticeable performance gain. You can monitor the amount used by launching System Monitor and click Resources tab.
To mark this issue solved, go to your original 1st post and click the edit pencil and add [Solved] at the beginning of the title and click Submit.
Mint accepts donations: https://linuxmint.com/donors.php

scot^2
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 145
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 3:25 pm

Re: [SOLVED] How to partition disk for installation: no root file system is defined

Post by scot^2 »

blueocean wrote:
Tue Jan 14, 2020 9:31 pm
According to Kingston 8GB is maximum for your laptop. That would be 2 matched 4GB modules. Crucial has the same information. Amazon has the Crucial set: https://www.amazon.com/Crucial-PC3-1280 ... B005LDLVAO I might add that for everyday use adding to the existing 4GB probably won't produce any noticeable performance gain. You can monitor the amount used by launching System Monitor and click Resources tab.
Interesting. Thank you. I had added the extra memory b/c I had planned to do a lot of video conferencing.

Post Reply

Return to “Installation & Boot”