Trying to boot mint off HD with grub 2

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
sofasurfer
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2021 6:02 pm

Trying to boot mint off HD with grub 2

Post by sofasurfer »

I am learning to boot ISOs on a hard drive with grub 2. I have been successful with debian-live-11.5.0-amd64-cinnamon.iso. The script I am using in 40_custom is this...

Code: Select all

 menuentry "Debian 11.5" {
loopback loop (hd0,5)/debian-live-11.5.0-amd64-cinnamon.iso
linux (loop)/live/vmlinuz-5.10.0-18-amd64 isofrom=/dev/disk/by-uuid/eb1498be-3ba8-473a-a597-8f9f34d0ba48/debian-live-11.5.0-amd64-cinnamon.iso boot=live components quiet splash --
initrd (loop)/live/initrd.img-5.10.0-18-amd64
}
I have not been so successful with linuxmint-21-cinnamon-64bit.iso. Here is the script I am using...

Code: Select all

 menuentry "Cinnamon" {
loopback loop (hd0,5)/linuxmint-21-cinnamon-64bit.iso
linux (loop)/casper/vmlinuz isofrom=/dev/disk/by-uuid/eb1498be-3ba8-473a-a597-8f9f34d0ba48/linuxmint-21-cinnamon-64bit.iso boot=live components quiet splash --
initrd (loop)/casper/initrd.lz
}
Both script are in 40_custom and both ISOs are stored in /. When I run Mint it runs up to the mint splash screen and then freezes or otherwise goes no further. I eliminated the quiet splash-- and tried to save the terminal output to file but that did not work...I think because I was no longer in the operating system I booted the ISO from.

How can I get the printout and what is causing the freezeup?
Thanks.
User avatar
MiZoG
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 599
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 8:30 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: Trying to boot mint off HD with grub 2

Post by MiZoG »

Mount the LM iso and find the options inside the /boot/grub/grub.cfg
sofasurfer
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2021 6:02 pm

Re: Trying to boot mint off HD with grub 2

Post by sofasurfer »

Do you want me to post my /boot/grub/grub.cfg file?
Linux Mint iso is in my / directory. I do not understand how to mount it. Are you saying I need to move it to its own directory and then mount it or mount it where it is? How will this change my grub.cfg file?
User avatar
zcot
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2116
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 6:08 pm

Re: Trying to boot mint off HD with grub 2

Post by zcot »

try boot=casper instead of boot=live.

this is what I've used before, actually haven't tried it with mint 21 though. I had used set isofile='/path/to.iso' earlier in the block:

Code: Select all

linux (loop)/casper/vmlinuz boot=casper iso-scan/filename=${isofile} quiet splash
but the casper reference is of known importance.
User avatar
MiZoG
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 599
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 8:30 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: Trying to boot mint off HD with grub 2

Post by MiZoG »

If you have a working system you can mount the iso file into your desktop by right-clicking on it. No worries, it will be read-only. "Menuentries" inserted in the boot/grub/grub.cfg of the Linux Mint 21 will give you the idea about the options you need to include in your script.

Well, first entry in LMDE5's grub.cfg lying somewhere in my disks:

Code: Select all

menuentry "Start LMDE 5 Cinnamon 64-bit" --class linuxmint {
    set gfxpayload=keep
    linux   /live/vmlinuz boot=live live-config live-media-path=/live quiet splash --
    initrd  /live/initrd.lz
compare to Q4OS (non-live boot media btw)

Code: Select all

menuentry --hotkey=c 'Q4OS - Classic install' {
    set background_color=black
    linux    /install.amd/vmlinuz "${loopback}" preseed/file=/cdrom/simple-cdd/default.preseed vga=normal quiet 
    initrd   /install.amd/initrd.gz
and to vanilla Debian live 11.5 kde (entry for boot into a live session)

Code: Select all

menuentry "Debian GNU/Linux Live (kernel 5.10.0-18-amd64)" {
  linux  /live/vmlinuz-5.10.0-18-amd64 boot=live components splash quiet "${loopback}"
  initrd /live/initrd.img-5.10.0-18-amd64
Post Reply

Return to “Installation & Boot”