[SOLVED] Windows appear in grub, doesn't load

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Nodoka
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2022 8:58 am

[SOLVED] Windows appear in grub, doesn't load

Post by Nodoka »

Hi, after update Mint, WIndows load without show the grub.
I use a live USB with boot repair and now i have good grub, mint load, but windows, doesn't load. When you press windows option, grub restart the countdown, and nothing else.
Image

fdisk -l show this:

Code: Select all

Dispositivo  Comienzo     Final  Sectores Tamaño Tipo
/dev/sda1        2048    616447    614400   300M Entorno de recuperación de Wind
/dev/sda2      616448    819199    202752    99M Sistema EFI
/dev/sda3      819200   1081343    262144   128M Reservado para Microsoft
/dev/sda4     1081344 410681343 409600000 195,3G Datos básicos de Microsoft
/dev/sda5   410681344 937700875 527019532 251,3G Sistema de ficheros de Linux
Thanks in advance for the help.
Last edited by Nodoka on Fri Nov 25, 2022 1:21 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Jo-con-Ël
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2016
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2021 12:41 pm
Location: donde habita el olvido

Re: Windows appear in grub, doesn't load

Post by Jo-con-Ël »

Boot Linux Mint installed and run sudo update-grub and try it again.
Then post back following codes result, i.e. copy and paste one line each time and press Enter, then use </> Code option on forum's editor to post back result (see here if you don't know how to):

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxxxzr
LC_ALL=C sudo update-grub
mokutil --sb-state
sudo blkid
sudo efibootmgr -v
Arrieritos semos y en el camino nos encontraremos.
Nodoka
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2022 8:58 am

Re: Windows appear in grub, doesn't load

Post by Nodoka »

This is the result of sudo update-grub. I restart the computer, the problem still there.

Code: Select all

Sourcing file `/etc/default/grub'
Sourcing file `/etc/default/grub.d/50_linuxmint.cfg'
Sourcing file `/etc/default/grub.d/init-select.cfg'
Generating grub configuration file ...
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-5.15.0-53-generic
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-5.15.0-53-generic
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-5.15.0-50-generic
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-5.15.0-50-generic
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-5.15.0-48-generic
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-5.15.0-48-generic
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-5.15.0-41-generic
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-5.15.0-41-generic
Warning: os-prober will be executed to detect other bootable partitions.
Its output will be used to detect bootable binaries on them and create new boot entries.
Found Windows Boot Manager on /dev/sda2@/EFI/Microsoft/Boot/bootmgfw.efi
Adding boot menu entry for UEFI Firmware Settings ...
done
twerq
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2020 10:55 am

Re: Windows appear in grub, doesn't load

Post by twerq »

Nodoka wrote:
Thu Nov 24, 2022 9:03 am
I use a live USB
You should boot with Mint live usb, rebuild grub menu and reinstall grub to linux filesystem. So after live system is ready, execute this in terminal:

Code: Select all

sudo grub-install --root-directory=/boot /dev/sda5
motoryzen
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1930
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2019 12:25 am

Re: Windows appear in grub, doesn't load

Post by motoryzen »

You should boot with Mint live usb, rebuild grub menu and reinstall grub to linux filesystem
It's forks in the road situations like this as to another reason why I always recommend AGAINST..dual booting windows and linux from the same physical storage drive. Separate drives = happier lives.

Don't misunderstand me though. twerq is probably on a bulleye's here. I recall AndyMH, or someone else here giving similar advice to someone in a dual booting temp dead -end before years ago
Primary rig:
asrock x570 taichi
ryzen 5900x
128GB of kingston fury at 3600mhz 1.44 volts 20-20-20 ( I forgot the rest) 1T timings
corsair mp600 pro xt NVME ssd 4TB
8GB rx580 sapphire nitro+ video card
Viewsonic Elite UHD 32" 144hz monitor
Nodoka
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2022 8:58 am

Re: Windows appear in grub, doesn't load

Post by Nodoka »

twerq thanks for your advice, it's says:
Installing for x86_64-efi platform.
grub-install: error:cannot find EFI directory.

motoryzen, i don't have the option in this case.. i only can put 1 ssd in my notebook.. so that option is not available.. Thanks anyways...
bendipa
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 358
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2020 8:02 pm
Location: NW London. UK

Re: Windows appear in grub, doesn't load

Post by bendipa »

Need to see output for lsblk -o name,uuid | grep sda2 and cat /boot/grub/grub.cfg | grep Windows -A10.
Computer: Dell Vostro 470
Systems: Linux Mint 21 Xfce (Vanessa), Manjaro 22.0 Xfce (Sikaris), Windows 10 (21H2) Pro.
User avatar
Doruletz
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 313
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2010 1:00 am
Location: USA

Re: Windows appear in grub, doesn't load

Post by Doruletz »

Nodoka wrote:
Thu Nov 24, 2022 9:43 pm
twerq thanks for your advice, it's says:
Installing for x86_64-efi platform.
grub-install: error:cannot find EFI directory.

motoryzen, i don't have the option in this case.. i only can put 1 ssd in my notebook.. so that option is not available.. Thanks anyways...
There is an option when you install Linux Mint...
During the manual install (Something Else option), make sure the Linux bootloader is placed on the EFI partition, not on the root of the drive.
Example: on /dev/sda3, NOT on on /dev/sda
Or for an M.2 drive, on /dev/nvme0n1p3, not on /dev/nvme0n1

NOTE: Partition numbering scheme may be different in your case, you might have the EFI partition on /dev/sda4 or /dev sda5, so just look it up before you install...
What do I think about Window$??? Just take a look at my AVATAR...
motoryzen
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1930
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2019 12:25 am

Re: Windows appear in grub, doesn't load

Post by motoryzen »

motoryzen, i don't have the option in this case.. i only can put 1 ssd in my notebook.. so that option is not available.. Thanks anyways.
My old dell inspiron from 2015 with the broadwell cpu also only has the option of one 2.5 drive option...." internally".. doesn't mean you can't have an externally connected option and it doesn't mean you have to leave the same 2.5 inch drive inside that laptop either. It's not like it's soldered on ( it's not a mac).

Regardless, that's all I'll say about that, all good vibes meant ..just stating facts.
Primary rig:
asrock x570 taichi
ryzen 5900x
128GB of kingston fury at 3600mhz 1.44 volts 20-20-20 ( I forgot the rest) 1T timings
corsair mp600 pro xt NVME ssd 4TB
8GB rx580 sapphire nitro+ video card
Viewsonic Elite UHD 32" 144hz monitor
User avatar
Jo-con-Ël
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2016
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2021 12:41 pm
Location: donde habita el olvido

Re: Windows appear in grub, doesn't load

Post by Jo-con-Ël »

I'm still waiting for rest codes lines result I've requested on my first post. You only provided one of them and those result are needed to avoid speculations or questions I need to answer on this post.
.
In the meantime there is no need to reinstall Mint nor boot Linux Live to reinstall grub. You can boot Linux Mint installed, update-grub result shows no problem with GRUB and UEFI Windows loader is detected.

I guess problem would be on computer settings (maybe Secure Boot, Fast boot,...but can't give you more details w/o inxi report) or on Windows side (if fdisk result is complete I miss at least one BIOS Recovery partition in case Windows was pre-installed):
EFI partition is accesible but are you able to mount Windows partition sda4 w/o problems (on Menu>Accessories>Disks, selecting sda4 and click on Play icon downside).

Did you try booting Windows from computer boot menu, not GRUB menu (it would be clear on efibootmgr result)? See here or your user manual if you don't know how.

If you already did it and can boot Windows in such way how do you close Windows session (restarting/shutting down/..)? Did you disable hibernation and fast start-up on Windows?

How many ubuntu options are present on computer boot menu after BR repairing (also it will be shown clearly on efibootmgr)? In case there are two ubuntu options did you try booting both?
Arrieritos semos y en el camino nos encontraremos.
Nodoka
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2022 8:58 am

Re: Windows appear in grub, doesn't load

Post by Nodoka »

bendipa wrote:
Thu Nov 24, 2022 10:28 pm
Need to see output for lsblk -o name,uuid | grep sda2 and cat /boot/grub/grub.cfg | grep Windows -A10.

Code: Select all

lsblk -o name,uuid | grep sda2
├─sda2 04BD-FD0C

Code: Select all

 cat /boot/grub/grub.cfg | grep Windows -A10
menuentry 'Windows Boot Manager (on /dev/sda2)' --class windows --class os $menuentry_id_option 'osprober-efi-04BD-FD0C' {
	insmod part_gpt
	insmod fat
	set root='hd0,gpt2'
	if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,gpt2 --hint-efi=hd0,gpt2 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,gpt2  04BD-FD0C
	else
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 04BD-FD0C
	fi
	chainloader /EFI/Microsoft/Boot/bootmgfw.efi
}
Nodoka
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2022 8:58 am

Re: Windows appear in grub, doesn't load

Post by Nodoka »

Jo-con-Ël wrote:
Fri Nov 25, 2022 4:43 am
I'm still waiting for rest codes lines result I've requested on my first post. You only provided one of them and those result are needed to avoid speculations or questions I need to answer on this post.
Sorry, i understand your lines in code like an example for the type of post, that why i didn't post the results. :cry:

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxxxzr
System:
  Kernel: 5.15.0-53-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 11.2.0
    Desktop: Cinnamon 5.4.12 tk: GTK 3.24.33 wm: Mutter vt: 7
    dm: LightDM 1.30.0 Distro: Linux Mint 21 Vanessa base: Ubuntu 22.04 jammy
Machine:
  Type: Laptop System: TOSHIBA product: Satellite-L845 v: PSKF6P-00WAR1
    serial: <superuser required>
  Mobo: Type2 - Board Vendor Name1 model: Type2 - Board Product Name1
    v: Type2 - Board Version serial: <superuser required> UEFI: Insyde v: 6.50
    date: 12/27/2012
Battery:
  ID-1: BAT1 charge: 20.2 Wh (50.1%) condition: 40.3/47.5 Wh (84.7%)
    volts: 10.7 min: 10.8 model: LGC PA5024U-1BRS type: Li-ion serial: N/A
    status: Discharging cycles: 253
CPU:
  Info: dual core model: Intel Core i5-3210M bits: 64 type: MT MCP
    smt: enabled arch: Ivy Bridge rev: 9 cache: L1: 128 KiB L2: 512 KiB
    L3: 3 MiB
  Speed (MHz): avg: 1197 high: 1198 min/max: 1200/2500 cores: 1: 1197
    2: 1198 3: 1197 4: 1197 bogomips: 19953
  Flags: avx ht lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx
Graphics:
  Device-1: Intel 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics vendor: Toshiba
    driver: i915 v: kernel ports: active: LVDS-1 empty: DP-1,HDMI-A-1,VGA-1
    bus-ID: 00:02.0 chip-ID: 8086:0166 class-ID: 0300
  Device-2: Chicony TOSHIBA Web Camera - HD type: USB driver: uvcvideo
    bus-ID: 1-1.4:3 chip-ID: 04f2:b307 class-ID: 0e02 serial: <filter>
  Display: x11 server: X.Org v: 1.21.1.3 driver: X: loaded: modesetting
    unloaded: fbdev,vesa gpu: i915 display-ID: :0 screens: 1
  Screen-1: 0 s-res: 1366x768 s-dpi: 96 s-size: 361x203mm (14.2x8.0")
    s-diag: 414mm (16.3")
  Monitor-1: LVDS-1 model: Seiko Epson res: 1366x768 hz: 60 dpi: 112
    size: 309x174mm (12.2x6.9") diag: 355mm (14") modes: 1366x768
  OpenGL: renderer: Mesa Intel HD Graphics 4000 (IVB GT2)
    v: 4.2 Mesa 22.0.5 compat-v: 3.1 direct render: Yes
Audio:
  Device-1: Intel 7 Series/C216 Family High Definition Audio vendor: Toshiba
    driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus-ID: 00:1b.0 chip-ID: 8086:1e20
    class-ID: 0403
  Sound Server-1: ALSA v: k5.15.0-53-generic running: yes
  Sound Server-2: PulseAudio v: 15.99.1 running: yes
  Sound Server-3: PipeWire v: 0.3.48 running: yes
Network:
  Device-1: Qualcomm Atheros AR9485 Wireless Network Adapter vendor: Askey
    driver: ath9k v: kernel pcie: speed: 2.5 GT/s lanes: 1 bus-ID: 02:00.0
    chip-ID: 168c:0032 class-ID: 0280
  IF: wlp2s0 state: up mac: <filter>
  Device-2: Qualcomm Atheros AR8152 v2.0 Fast Ethernet vendor: Toshiba
    driver: atl1c v: kernel pcie: speed: 2.5 GT/s lanes: 1 port: 2000
    bus-ID: 03:00.0 chip-ID: 1969:2062 class-ID: 0200
  IF: enp3s0 state: down mac: <filter>
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 447.13 GiB used: 15.09 GiB (3.4%)
  ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Kingston model: SA400S37480G size: 447.13 GiB
    speed: 6.0 Gb/s type: SSD serial: <filter> rev: T1.3 scheme: GPT
Partition:
  ID-1: / size: 246.3 GiB used: 15.05 GiB (6.1%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda5
  ID-2: /boot/efi size: 95 MiB used: 34.8 MiB (36.6%) fs: vfat
    dev: /dev/sda2
Swap:
  ID-1: swap-1 type: file size: 2 GiB used: 0 KiB (0.0%) priority: -2
    file: /swapfile
Sensors:
  System Temperatures: cpu: 47.0 C mobo: N/A
  Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A
Repos:
  Packages: note: see --pkg apt: 2241
  No active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/google-chrome.list
    1: deb [arch=amd64] https://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/deb/ stable main
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/official-package-repositories.list
    1: deb https://mirror1.cl.netactuate.com/linuxmint/packages vanessa main upstream import backport
    2: deb http://ubuntu.unc.edu.ar/ubuntu jammy main restricted universe multiverse
    3: deb http://ubuntu.unc.edu.ar/ubuntu jammy-updates main restricted universe multiverse
    4: deb http://ubuntu.unc.edu.ar/ubuntu jammy-backports main restricted universe multiverse
    5: deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ jammy-security main restricted universe multiverse
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/trebelnik-stefina-grub-customizer-jammy.list
    1: deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/trebelnik-stefina/grub-customizer/ubuntu jammy main
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/yannubuntu-boot-repair-jammy.list
    1: deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/yannubuntu/boot-repair/ubuntu jammy main
Info:
  Processes: 242 Uptime: 5m wakeups: 1 Memory: 3.73 GiB
  used: 2.28 GiB (61.0%) Init: systemd v: 249 runlevel: 5 Compilers:
  gcc: 11.3.0 alt: 11 Shell: Bash v: 5.1.16 running-in: gnome-terminal
  inxi: 3.3.13

Code: Select all

Sourcing file `/etc/default/grub'
Sourcing file `/etc/default/grub.d/50_linuxmint.cfg'
Sourcing file `/etc/default/grub.d/init-select.cfg'
Generating grub configuration file ...
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-5.15.0-53-generic
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-5.15.0-53-generic
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-5.15.0-50-generic
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-5.15.0-50-generic
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-5.15.0-48-generic
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-5.15.0-48-generic
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-5.15.0-41-generic
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-5.15.0-41-generic
Warning: os-prober will be executed to detect other bootable partitions.
Its output will be used to detect bootable binaries on them and create new boot entries.
Found Windows Boot Manager on /dev/sda2@/EFI/Microsoft/Boot/bootmgfw.efi
Adding boot menu entry for UEFI Firmware Settings ...
done

Code: Select all

mokutil --sb-state
SecureBoot disabled
Platform is in Setup Mode

Code: Select all

sudo blkid
/dev/sda4: BLOCK_SIZE="512" UUID="D82AC02C2AC00988" TYPE="ntfs" PARTLABEL="Basic data partition" PARTUUID="19997238-5a59-4174-93a4-1821afa8b7f4"
/dev/sda2: UUID="04BD-FD0C" BLOCK_SIZE="512" TYPE="vfat" PARTLABEL="EFI system partition" PARTUUID="6464ea90-3bdc-43e2-a6a4-9cd6c4da7e8b"
/dev/sda5: UUID="57954559-18c8-4d85-9f7e-080e2e14a04f" BLOCK_SIZE="4096" TYPE="ext4" PARTUUID="ecb73326-df31-43de-ab98-d13c620122f3"
/dev/sda1: LABEL="RecuperaciM-CM-3n" BLOCK_SIZE="512" UUID="1222BD3B22BD249F" TYPE="ntfs" PARTLABEL="Basic data partition" PARTUUID="a233fb97-3361-4535-81f0-958ab0e6ff7e"
/dev/sda3: PARTLABEL="Microsoft reserved partition" PARTUUID="5259e231-4ef1-4bba-91f7-a7cd0431dde5"

Code: Select all

sudo efibootmgr -v
BootCurrent: 0000
Timeout: 0 seconds
BootOrder: 0000,0001,2003,2001,2002
Boot0000* Windows Boot Manager	HD(2,GPT,6464ea90-3bdc-43e2-a6a4-9cd6c4da7e8b,0x96800,0x31800)/File(\EFI\Microsoft\Boot\bootmgfw.efi)RC
Boot0001* Ubuntu	HD(2,GPT,6464ea90-3bdc-43e2-a6a4-9cd6c4da7e8b,0x96800,0x31800)/File(\EFI\ubuntu\grubx64.efi)RC
Boot0002* EFI Network 0 for IPv4 (08-9E-01-4F-AC-59) 	PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1c,0x3)/Pci(0x0,0x0)/MAC(089e014fac59,0)/IPv4(0.0.0.00.0.0.0,0,0)RC
Boot0003* EFI Network 0 for IPv6 (08-9E-01-4F-AC-59) 	PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1c,0x3)/Pci(0x0,0x0)/MAC(089e014fac59,0)/IPv6([::]:<->[::]:,0,0)RC
Boot2001* EFI USB Device	RC
Boot2002* EFI DVD/CDROM	RC
Boot2003* EFI Network	RC
Sorry for the late and my misunderstanding.

The answer for the other post: I attach screenshot for disk screen..
Captura de pantalla de 2022-11-25 10-57-42.png
Did you try booting Windows from computer boot menu, not GRUB menu (it would be clear on efibootmgr result)? See here or your user manual if you don't know how.
I didn't know this menu, but i press f12, and say windows boot menu and ubuntu, try both, both options load Mint.

I think the other questions are answered with what was asked in the first post that I had not understood.
I hope now if I have been able to answer everything..
Thank you very much in advance for the help.
bendipa
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 358
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2020 8:02 pm
Location: NW London. UK

Re: Windows appear in grub, doesn't load

Post by bendipa »

Nodoka wrote:
Fri Nov 25, 2022 10:03 am

I didn't know this menu, but i press f12, and say windows boot menu and ubuntu, try both, both options load Mint.

I think the other questions are answered with what was asked in the first post that I had not understood.
I hope now if I have been able to answer everything..
Thank you very much in advance for the help.
Thanks for posting all that up.

I can't immediately see anything amiss with your grub file or anything else that you posted up. However, if you are saying you chose the UEFI Windows boot option, and that boots you to Mint, not only is that very odd, but strongly suggests that there is something wrong with your ESP (EFI System Partition) files, so strictly speaking it's not a Linux issue. Certainly if you are booting to the file bootmgfw.efi as it shows you would be doing from grub, or would be doing from UEFI's Windows option, that should load Windows, not Linux. So really we need to look at your ESP. You don't need to post anything else yet.

From Mint, mount sda2 - sudo mount /dev/sda2 /mnt. Then you need to list the efi folders - sudo ls /mnt/EFI. Only these folders should be listed Microsoft, Boot and ubuntu. Is that the what you see?
Computer: Dell Vostro 470
Systems: Linux Mint 21 Xfce (Vanessa), Manjaro 22.0 Xfce (Sikaris), Windows 10 (21H2) Pro.
Nodoka
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2022 8:58 am

Re: Windows appear in grub, doesn't load

Post by Nodoka »

From Mint, mount sda2 - sudo mount /dev/sda2 /mnt.
Done this first
Then you need to list the efi folders - sudo ls /mnt/EFI.

Code: Select all

sudo ls /mnt/EFI
Boot  Microsoft  ubuntu
That only says.. no windows :shock:
so?
Thanks for the help in advance
User avatar
Jo-con-Ël
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2016
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2021 12:41 pm
Location: donde habita el olvido

Re: Windows appear in grub, doesn't load

Post by Jo-con-Ël »

So you can not boot Windows neither from computer boot menu, but that Windows Boot Manager option on efibootmgr looks right and it is also default UEFI boot option.

Code: Select all

sudo efibootmgr -v
BootCurrent: 0000
Timeout: 0 seconds
BootOrder: 0000,0001,2003,2001,2002
Boot0000* Windows Boot Manager	HD(2,GPT,6464ea90-3bdc-43e2-a6a4-9cd6c4da7e8b,0x96800,0x31800)/File(\EFI\Microsoft\Boot\bootmgfw.efi)RC
Boot0001* Ubuntu	HD(2,GPT,6464ea90-3bdc-43e2-a6a4-9cd6c4da7e8b,0x96800,0x31800)/File(\EFI\ubuntu\grubx64.efi)RC
I wonder if you have modified that bootmgfw.efi somehow...In any case you didn't say which Windows edition is it.

As you have access to Windows partition (sda4), you can compare bootmgfw.efi (also bootmgr.efi if you want) on /boot/efi/EFI/Microsoft/boot with the original one on that sda4 partition /Windows/Boot/EFI folder in my case (Windws 8.1) or, directly, replace it (them) if needed.

You can do it from file browser as root or from terminal. In last case be sure sd4 is unmounted running sudo umount /dev/sda4) then copy and paste one ine each time on terminal and press Enter. Do not forget any line.

Code: Select all

sudo mkdir /mnt/WIND
sudo mount /dev/sda4 /mnt/WIND
ls -la /mnt/WIND/Windows/Boot/EFI/
sudo ls -ls /boot/efi/EFI/Microsoft/Boot/

Post back last codes results if they are different then

Code: Select all

sudo cp /mnt/WIND/Windows/Boot/EFI/bootmgfw.efi /boot/efi/EFI/Microsoft/Boot/bootmgfw.efi
sudo umount /mnt/WIND
sudo rmdir /mnt/WIND
Then reboot.

Notice default boot entry (first in boot order) is Windows so you may need to change boot order on computer setup to place ubuntu first or use boot menu key on restarting.

If it does not solve the problem you will need to repair Windows boot booting your Windows Installation media (supposing it was not preinstalled you already will have one).
(Edited)
Last edited by Jo-con-Ël on Fri Nov 25, 2022 12:15 pm, edited 4 times in total.
Arrieritos semos y en el camino nos encontraremos.
Nodoka
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2022 8:58 am

Re: Windows appear in grub, doesn't load

Post by Nodoka »

As you have access to Windows partition (sda4), you can compare bootmgfw.efi (also bootmgr.efi if you want) on /boot/efi/EFI/Microsoft/boot with the original one on that sda4 partition /Windows/Boot/EFI folder in my case (Windws 8.1) or, directly, replace it (them) if needed.
Captura de pantalla de 2022-11-25 13-01-23.png
Captura de pantalla de 2022-11-25 13-00-42.png
After that:

Code: Select all

sudo umount /dev/sda4
sudo mkdir /mnt/WIND
sudo mount /dev/sda4 /mnt/WIND
ls -la /mnt/WIND/Windows/Boot/EFI/

Code: Select all

ls -la /mnt/WIND/Windows/Boot/EFI/
total 4696
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root    8192 sep 24 15:10 .
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root       0 ago 22  2013 ..
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root       0 ago 22  2013 bg-BG
-rwxrwxrwx 2 root root 1643312 jun 28 02:50 bootmgfw.efi
-rwxrwxrwx 2 root root 1639704 jun 28 02:50 bootmgr.efi
-rwxrwxrwx 3 root root    4933 jul 12 16:34 boot.stl
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root       0 ago 22  2013 cs-CZ
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root       0 ago 22  2013 da-DK
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root       0 ago 22  2013 de-DE
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root       0 ago 22  2013 el-GR
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root       0 ago 22  2013 en-GB
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root       0 ago 22  2013 en-US
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root       0 ago 22  2013 es-ES
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root       0 ago 22  2013 et-EE
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root       0 ago 22  2013 fi-FI
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root       0 ago 22  2013 fr-FR
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root       0 ago 22  2013 hr-HR
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root       0 ago 22  2013 hu-HU
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root       0 ago 22  2013 it-IT
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root       0 ago 22  2013 ja-JP
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root       0 ago 22  2013 ko-KR
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root       0 ago 22  2013 lt-LT
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root       0 ago 22  2013 lv-LV
-rwxrwxrwx 2 root root 1500504 nov 20  2014 memtest.efi
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root       0 ago 22  2013 nb-NO
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root       0 ago 22  2013 nl-NL
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root       0 ago 22  2013 pl-PL
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root       0 ago 22  2013 pt-BR
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root       0 ago 22  2013 pt-PT
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root       0 nov 21  2014 qps-ploc
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root       0 ago 22  2013 ro-RO
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root       0 ago 22  2013 ru-RU
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root       0 ago 22  2013 sk-SK
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root       0 ago 22  2013 sl-SI
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root       0 ago 22  2013 sr-Latn-CS
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root       0 ago 22  2013 sr-Latn-RS
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root       0 ago 22  2013 sv-SE
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root       0 ago 22  2013 tr-TR
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root       0 ago 22  2013 uk-UA
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root       0 ago 22  2013 zh-CN
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root       0 ago 22  2013 zh-HK
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root       0 ago 22  2013 zh-TW

Code: Select all

sudo ls -ls /boot/efi/EFI/Microsoft/Boot/[/c]
ls: no se puede acceder a '/boot/efi/EFI/Microsoft/Boot/[/c]': No existe el archivo o el directorio
Translate: ls: cannot access '/boot/efi/EFI/Microsoft/Boot/[/c]': No such file or directory

I think i need to repair Windows boot booting Windows Intallation media or reinstall windows..
User avatar
Jo-con-Ël
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2016
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2021 12:41 pm
Location: donde habita el olvido

Re: Windows appear in grub, doesn't load

Post by Jo-con-Ël »

Sorry i have left garbage inside Code display. Now edited :oops:

PD: Looking inside /boot/efi/EFI/Microsoft/Boot as per image, that bkpbootmgfw.efi file would mean something/someone has modified Windows efi files.
Last edited by Jo-con-Ël on Fri Nov 25, 2022 12:47 pm, edited 4 times in total.
Arrieritos semos y en el camino nos encontraremos.
bendipa
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 358
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2020 8:02 pm
Location: NW London. UK

Re: Windows appear in grub, doesn't load

Post by bendipa »

Nodoka wrote:
Fri Nov 25, 2022 11:31 am
From Mint, mount sda2 - sudo mount /dev/sda2 /mnt.
Done this first
Then you need to list the efi folders - sudo ls /mnt/EFI.

Code: Select all

sudo ls /mnt/EFI
Boot  Microsoft  ubuntu
That only says.. no windows :shock:
so?
Thanks for the help in advance
Who/what says 'no Windows'. You've proven you have the necessary 3 basic ESP folders. Microsoft is the booting one for Windows (surprise, surprise).

Next, ls /mnt/EFI/Boot. What are the listed files?

Also ls /mnt/EFI/Microsoft/Boot|grep -i 'boot\|bcd'. Are files - bootmgfw.efi, bootmgr.efi and BCD all present?
Last edited by bendipa on Fri Nov 25, 2022 1:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Computer: Dell Vostro 470
Systems: Linux Mint 21 Xfce (Vanessa), Manjaro 22.0 Xfce (Sikaris), Windows 10 (21H2) Pro.
Nodoka
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2022 8:58 am

Re: Windows appear in grub, doesn't load

Post by Nodoka »

Progress !! I did this, then Reboot and windows!... :D
CODE: SELECT ALL

sudo mkdir /mnt/WIND
sudo mount /dev/sda4 /mnt/WIND
ls -la /mnt/WIND/Windows/Boot/EFI/
sudo ls -ls /boot/efi/EFI/Microsoft/Boot/

Post back last codes results if they are different then
CODE: SELECT ALL

sudo cp /mnt/WIND/Windows/Boot/EFI/bootmgfw.efi /boot/efi/EFI/Microsoft/Boot/bootmgfw.efi
sudo umount /mnt/WIND
sudo rmdir /mnt/WIND
After reboot windows show up, no grub in the middle, i manage load mint with the f12 and boot menu... in the f12 i can load both !! wow!
That nice.. Is it possible to get grub back, my 10 seconds and everything back to normal?
Thanks in advance for the help!!!
User avatar
Jo-con-Ël
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2016
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2021 12:41 pm
Location: donde habita el olvido

Re: Windows appear in grub, doesn't load

Post by Jo-con-Ël »

So solved it. :D

I'm not sure what you mean. If talking about get GRUB menu by default on booting I told you will need to change boot order on computer setup in order to place ubuntu first on UEFI boot options (maybe on UEFI BBS hard disk priority).

If there is no way to do it from inside firmware settings interface (AKA BIOS setup), before hijacking Windows loader (it is a last resource and it will explain changes you have made on Windows efi files) you can try from inside Windows by example with EasyUEFI or command line with bcdedit...

In other case (i saw you have installed GRUB Customizer repository) you will need to open another thread and explain a little bit more.
Last edited by Jo-con-Ël on Fri Nov 25, 2022 1:22 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Arrieritos semos y en el camino nos encontraremos.
Post Reply

Return to “Installation & Boot”