Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
messy
Level 1
Level 1

[solved]EFI Failure | Dual Boot Install

Postby messy » Mon Apr 23, 2012 10:15 am

Hi,

I have a Windows 7 Installation on my Sub-Notebook (lenovo S205). I want install Linux Mint as second OS (64Bit, USB-Install). I have tried it but without success (Live-CD-Install). A error prompt during the install process:
The 'grub-efi' package failed to install into /target/. Without the GRUB boot loader, the installed system will not boot.

Anyone can help me? You need more information? Please ask me, I'm a newbie.

Regards
messy
Last edited by messy on Wed Apr 25, 2012 1:45 am, edited 1 time in total.

srs5694
Level 6
Level 6

Re: EFI Failure | Dual Boot Install

Postby srs5694 » Mon Apr 23, 2012 12:39 pm

It sounds like you've got an EFI-based computer, but it's conceivable the installer got confused and tried to install the wrong package. To be sure, check your Windows boot mode, as described here.

If you're booting Windows in EFI mode, you should almost certainly try to boot Linux in EFI mode, too. Several EFI boot managers and boot loaders exist; see this page I've written for details. Unfortunately, the GRUB 2 that Mint uses by default is easily the worst of these boot loaders, in my experience -- it's finicky and gets things wrong far too often. So you've got two main options, but the second has several variants. You might luck out with any of them and get it working quickly, or you might struggle with any of them:

• You can try to fix GRUB 2 as delivered by Mint. To do this, you'll need to look for the files it's installed in /boot/grub and /boot/efi/EFI/linuxmint (or conceivably some other subdirectory of /boot/efi/EFI), examine your EFI's boot loader list with the "efibootmgr" utility, examine the grub.cfg file (probably stored in /boot/grub), and troubleshoot in general.