Can't run Mint 13 from USB [SOLVED]

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
RockDawg

Can't run Mint 13 from USB [SOLVED]

Post by RockDawg »

I am pretty new to all things Linux, but I think I'm doing everything right. I downloaded linuxmint-13-cinnamon-dvd-64bit.iso from the LInux Mint site and put it on my USB flash drive from a Win7 environment. I've done this a couple different ways trying to get it to work. I have used both unetbootin and Win32 disk imager and I have tried both on two different USB drives a 2GB and a 4GB (both SanDisk).

When I try unetbootin and then boot from the USB drive, I get the unetbootin menu and select start Linux Mint and the screen blinks for brief moment and then it just sits there with the cursor blinking in the bottom left corner.

When I try Win32 disk imager, I get the message saying "Booting Linux Mint in 10 seconds". After the count down, I get a grey screen with a blinking cursor in the top left hand corner and nothing more happens.

These results are the same on either thumb drive. I've checked the MD5 on the file I downloaded and it checks out OK. Why the heck cvan;t I get Linux Mint to run from my USB flash drive? I am wanting to install it ina dual boot with my existing Win7 install.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
bennachie
Level 2
Level 2

Re: Can't run Mint 13 from USB

Post by bennachie »

Mint 13 comes as hybrid ISOs, which means that you can just apply a direct "bit-by-bit" copy mechanism (using "dd" in the terminal is the normal route) if you have a working Linux system. Like you, I found that the usually very reliable unetbootin didn't work properly in this case.

A typical command would be: