Boot problem

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
JulianC

Boot problem

Post by JulianC »

I originially posted this newbie questions, but I thought this thread might be more specific. Sry for Xpost:

I'm fairly new to linux mint (I had Ubuntu on an old laptop many years ago, and didn't do much with it) but I had a fairly new low end lap top that I wanted to try Mint on.

Anyway, I went to the website, downloaded the iso and burned it to a disc, and popped it into the laptop.

First off, it wouldn't automatically boot the liveDVD when I restarted the laptop with the disc in. No problem, I just had it do that helper thing that forces it to boot the boot from the dvd (It's an option if you just explore the disc while in windows and double click the installer.

I rebooted, got into Mint and selected install. Everything seemed normal, I selected the option to delete windows and keep mint as my only os (this isn't my main computer so I wasn't worried) and finished the install.

Now, the problem: whenever I start my laptop, without the disc inside, it's just a dark blank screen. no mint screen, nothing. I can press escape for boot options, I tried running fsck, but nothing helps. fsck didn't seem to run properly or do anything.

However, If I boot with the dvd inside, It starts normally. I sign into my accout, everything is normal, I can even eject and remove the dvd and continue to work from linux, so it's not running it from the dvd. I am thoroughly befuddled by this problem. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
xenopeek
Level 25
Level 25

Re: Boot problem

Post by xenopeek »