Ati Mobility Radeon HD5470 driver problem

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
0nur

Ati Mobility Radeon HD5470 driver problem

Post by 0nur »

Hello guys,

I'm really excited about upgrading to Linux (Mint or Ubuntu) but i have unsolved problem which make me think. First of all i should say i'm searching about this problem for 2 day on net.

I first install my Ubuntu near 2 years ago to my Acer Aspire one and quiet satiffied as a secondary os. But nowadays i want to upgrade my main laptop (Haier T5M1) to Linux distro. 3 days ago i tried to install Ubuntu because i had an experience on that (may be not deep but better than none :) ) I installed it without any problem and start to download several softs. like Gimp & Inkscape, btw i'm an graphic designer.

There wasn't any problem until i wanted to try HTML5 game on it. My laptop was really hot, system shut itself automaticly and did not open for 2-3 minutes. Then i reboot it as win7 and made a search about overheating problem. Main reason -as my research, is GPU power management of pre-installed ati drivers are not good enough and cause those kinf of problems. So they suggest to get driver from ati's web site and install it.

Thats what i did, take the latest stable 64bit driver of my ati mobility radeon HD5x catalyst package and installed. It says "system needs a full reboot (what is the difference between full reboot and reboot) on installing tutorials. Then i reboot it and... Voila, very charming purplish blank screen appeared. It said "Xos bla bla.." common error about the video card driver as i research on web again.

They recommend to re install the old drivers which i failed to do..