Installation advice - running windows within Mint.

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
elsmandino
Level 1
Level 1

Installation advice - running windows within Mint.

Post by elsmandino »

Hi,

I am a Linux beginner and am just about to consider installing Mint for the first time.

I have a formatted 1TB Hard Drive for installation and I am running with 12GB of RAM and a Athlon II 240e CPU.

What I want to do, once I have installed Mint, is then to install Windows 7 within it so I can run it virtually using VMWare Player.

The problem is partitioning etc - as a long time user of Windows I am not particularly familiar with the way they are used in Linux.

I have just been watching a video on Mint and it warns that unlike Ubuntu, Mint cannot automatically update itself, thus you have to keep a separate root and home partition.

This is what I think I need to do before installation (based upon what I have read on Linux generally).

1. Create a 30GB partition for /, where I can install Mint.
2. Create a 10GB swap file partition - my RAM Size plus a couple of Gigs.
3. Create the rest as a single partition as my home, but rather than format as ext4, format it as NTFS so when I install Windows virtually, it can share this area.

Is this correct?

Sorry - if any of this does not make sense. I am learning Linux from scratch but eager to persevere.

Thanks
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
jonas108

Re: Installation advice - running windows within Mint.

Post by jonas108 »

Hey,