How to mount my NTFS partitions automatically?

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
mig_akira
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 12:56 am

How to mount my NTFS partitions automatically?

Postby mig_akira » Thu Aug 07, 2008 10:40 pm

Hi everyone!

I have 2 NTFS partitions, and they are mounted perfectly when I click on them through the My Computer icon. The problem is that before that, they remain unmounted. And my emule folder is in one of those partitions. So every time I start emule, I have to first click on the partitions to mount them, or else emule will use the default folder.

So I would like to make them mount at every boot!

Thanks!
Linux Mint 5.0 RC1 (Gnome)
Dell Vostro 1400 | Core 2 Duo T8300 @ 2.4GHz | 2.5 GB Ram | nVidia GeForce 8400M GS | 120GB HD | DVD-RW |

kirsch92
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 5:01 am

Re: How to mount my NTFS partitions automatically?

Postby kirsch92 » Fri Aug 08, 2008 4:13 am

Follow reply by Husse to this post: http://linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=50&t=14198

Change the sda1 to match your partition(s)

I believe you would need a line entry for each partition.
Shuttle SK43G XPC
Sapphire ATI x1550 AGP
or my shiny, new, cheap Compaq 762NR laptop

User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3476
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: How to mount my NTFS partitions automatically?

Postby merlwiz79 » Fri Aug 08, 2008 6:09 am

This would be easier.
Install ntfs-config:

Code: Select all

apt install ntfs-config
Then launch NTFS Configuration Tool found in the menu under Administration.
Now add a mount point by naming it.
Example: /dev/sdb1 could be named sdb1 and then you will see it change to /media/sdb1
Check the add box next to the ones you want to add.
Then Click apply and then OK.

Note: DON'T DO THIS FOR USB HARD DRIVES.
Image

mig_akira
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 12:56 am

Re: How to mount my NTFS partitions automatically?

Postby mig_akira » Fri Aug 08, 2008 4:05 pm

Thanks guys, i tried both ways and both worked perfectly!

Thanks a lot!
Linux Mint 5.0 RC1 (Gnome)
Dell Vostro 1400 | Core 2 Duo T8300 @ 2.4GHz | 2.5 GB Ram | nVidia GeForce 8400M GS | 120GB HD | DVD-RW |


Return to “Installation & Boot”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BlackhawkOne, hinto and 13 guests