Unmounted volume in Elyssa but not in Darnya

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
pjhartt
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:01 pm

Unmounted volume in Elyssa but not in Darnya

Postby pjhartt » Fri Aug 08, 2008 6:24 pm

I have just updated to mint Elyssa and was using Darnya.

In Darnya my windows volume was always mounted at startup. In Elyssa I always have to mount it manually.

How can I get this to mount automatically at startup?

Regards
Peter

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19593
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Unmounted volume in Elyssa but not in Darnya

Postby Husse » Sat Aug 09, 2008 5:08 pm

This was a drawback in Elyssa - only partitions used by the system gets automounted
This means you have to mess with fstab

Code: Select all

gksu gedit /etc/fstab

add a line like

Code: Select all

/dev/sda1       /media/sda1     ntfs    defaults,umask=007,gid=46 0       1

Now

Code: Select all

sudo mkdir  /media/sda1

Change sda1 to whatever you have
Now you can mount it

Code: Select all

sudo mount -t ntfs /dev/sda1  /media/sda1   

Again change sda1 to whatever you have
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it


Return to “Installation & Boot”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests