HowTo: Dual Boot Windows 8.1 + Mint + UEFI Only (CSM Off)

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
loligater
Level 1
Level 1

HowTo: Dual Boot Windows 8.1 + Mint + UEFI Only (CSM Off)

Post by loligater » Fri Jan 31, 2014 2:57 pm

EDIT: This should also work for Mint 17. The guide is intended for bootloader configuration.

Before I start, I would like to state that I am not posting this to debate anything regarding using UEFI only, what the benefits of Secure Boot are, or any other back-end logistical modules like that. Additionally, I accept no responsibility if this borks your BIOS, Drives, runs over your dog, or anything else. :wink: I am creating this thread because my experience was difficult (partially because I am still relatively new to Linux, only 2 years) as I could not locate a lot of guidance online. Hopefully my experience can help someone else.This is written to cater to a fresh install of both OSes. If you are modifying an existing install, this can also be helpful.

Table of Contents
  • Goal
  • Agenda
  • My Desktop Config
  • Procedure
  • Dealing with Post Installation Problems
  • Q/A
Goal: To run Windows and Linux Mint on separate disks without using Legacy Bios. Additionally, making this happen on grub loader and chain loading into the Windows Bootloader. You can adapt this to work on one disk by simply installing grub into an EFI Partition (details later) after you install Windows. You can also use Boot-Repair to assist you.

Agenda:
  • Setting up your bootable Flashes
  • Setting up your BIOS/Video Card(s)
  • Install Windows 8/8.1
  • Install Linux Mint 16
  • Dealing with Post Installation Problems
My Desktop Config:
System Components:
  • Motherboard: Z77X-D3H
  • CPU: i7-3770
  • RAM: 8GB DDR3
Video Cards:
  • Triple Monitors
  • Intel 3000 Series
  • Nvidia EVGA GTX 670
  • Nvidia EVGA GTX 285
Storage:
  • 2x SSD (with the two operating systems)
  • 3x HDD