XFCE minimum install HD?

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
ACS
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 7:54 pm

XFCE minimum install HD?

Postby ACS » Tue Aug 26, 2008 8:04 pm

I'm planning to use a Compact Flash card as a boot 'drive' on a computer. While the conventional HD for the files & such is 250GB, I'd like to be able to use the 2GB card Ive got for the OS/programs--they're expensive...! Would 2GB be inadequate for Mint XFCE 5.0?

Thanks,
Adam

User avatar
Acid_1
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 797
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 11:12 pm
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Contact:

Re: XFCE minimum install HD?

Postby Acid_1 » Wed Aug 27, 2008 2:47 am

Not sure. I had Ubuntu 7.10 work fine on my 8gb. Though it took 4-ish gb. I recommend arch for this, or Puppy, DSL, or any other buisness card distro/minimal distro.
Website: Forkwhilefork

User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3476
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: XFCE minimum install HD?

Postby merlwiz79 » Wed Aug 27, 2008 4:59 am

I think it's 2.3 or more GB.
There is going to be a fluxbox and a minimal type distro, which I think will be a 350 MB Live CD.
Image

Borsook
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 127
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 5:48 am

Re: XFCE minimum install HD?

Postby Borsook » Sun Aug 31, 2008 4:04 pm

As we speak I have up and running A Xubuntu install on a 2gb disk, after adding all the programmes I need I have 400 mb left for user files. Not much, true, but it is usable.

eustice

Re: XFCE minimum install HD?

Postby eustice » Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:22 pm

Hi I want to run Mint from a Compact Flash using a IDE to CF adaptor.
My motivation if to have complete control of writes to the disk via the write protect switch. (i.e. only unlock this when I am updating or installing aps)

Anyone know if this will work? (sorry if this is obvious... quite a newb)
When booting from a LIveCD obviously there is no ability to write to the boot medium and this works fine.
Would the same be true if booting / running system from a write protected CF?

User avatar
Acid_1
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 797
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 11:12 pm
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Contact:

Re: XFCE minimum install HD?

Postby Acid_1 » Tue Apr 07, 2009 3:39 am

Correct me if I'm wrong, but I do believe that when using the LiveCD it writes a temporary file to the HDD. By turning on write protection on your disk, I don't think that's a good idea. It'd be the same as trying to run anything while everything is set for root privileges. Um. Why would you need to control disk writes?
Website: Forkwhilefork

User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3476
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: XFCE minimum install HD?

Postby merlwiz79 » Tue Apr 07, 2009 3:28 pm

Live cd only write to the swap partition if your pc has one.
If it doesn't it'll only use your RAM.
Image

User avatar
Acid_1
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 797
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 11:12 pm
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Contact:

Re: XFCE minimum install HD?

Postby Acid_1 » Wed Apr 08, 2009 2:14 am

merlwiz79 wrote:Live cd only write to the swap partition if your pc has one.
If it doesn't it'll only use your RAM.


I always wondered how that worked. So if you have less than 512MB of ram and it's your first time, you need to kill processes! YAY!
Website: Forkwhilefork


Return to “Installation & Boot”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests