Page 1 of 1

XFCE minimum install HD?

Posted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 8:04 pm
by ACS
I'm planning to use a Compact Flash card as a boot 'drive' on a computer. While the conventional HD for the files & such is 250GB, I'd like to be able to use the 2GB card Ive got for the OS/programs--they're expensive...! Would 2GB be inadequate for Mint XFCE 5.0?

Thanks,
Adam

Re: XFCE minimum install HD?

Posted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 2:47 am
by Acid_1
Not sure. I had Ubuntu 7.10 work fine on my 8gb. Though it took 4-ish gb. I recommend arch for this, or Puppy, DSL, or any other buisness card distro/minimal distro.

Re: XFCE minimum install HD?

Posted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 4:59 am
by merlwiz79
I think it's 2.3 or more GB.
There is going to be a fluxbox and a minimal type distro, which I think will be a 350 MB Live CD.

Re: XFCE minimum install HD?

Posted: Sun Aug 31, 2008 4:04 pm
by Borsook
As we speak I have up and running A Xubuntu install on a 2gb disk, after adding all the programmes I need I have 400 mb left for user files. Not much, true, but it is usable.

Re: XFCE minimum install HD?

Posted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:22 pm
by eustice
Hi I want to run Mint from a Compact Flash using a IDE to CF adaptor.
My motivation if to have complete control of writes to the disk via the write protect switch. (i.e. only unlock this when I am updating or installing aps)

Anyone know if this will work? (sorry if this is obvious... quite a newb)
When booting from a LIveCD obviously there is no ability to write to the boot medium and this works fine.
Would the same be true if booting / running system from a write protected CF?

Re: XFCE minimum install HD?

Posted: Tue Apr 07, 2009 3:39 am
by Acid_1
Correct me if I'm wrong, but I do believe that when using the LiveCD it writes a temporary file to the HDD. By turning on write protection on your disk, I don't think that's a good idea. It'd be the same as trying to run anything while everything is set for root privileges. Um. Why would you need to control disk writes?

Re: XFCE minimum install HD?

Posted: Tue Apr 07, 2009 3:28 pm
by merlwiz79
Live cd only write to the swap partition if your pc has one.
If it doesn't it'll only use your RAM.

Re: XFCE minimum install HD?

Posted: Wed Apr 08, 2009 2:14 am
by Acid_1
merlwiz79 wrote:Live cd only write to the swap partition if your pc has one.
If it doesn't it'll only use your RAM.
I always wondered how that worked. So if you have less than 512MB of ram and it's your first time, you need to kill processes! YAY!