XFCE minimum install HD?

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
ACS
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 7:54 pm

XFCE minimum install HD?

Post by ACS » Tue Aug 26, 2008 8:04 pm

I'm planning to use a Compact Flash card as a boot 'drive' on a computer. While the conventional HD for the files & such is 250GB, I'd like to be able to use the 2GB card Ive got for the OS/programs--they're expensive...! Would 2GB be inadequate for Mint XFCE 5.0?

Thanks,
Adam

User avatar
Acid_1
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 796
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 11:12 pm
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada

Re: XFCE minimum install HD?

Post by Acid_1 » Wed Aug 27, 2008 2:47 am

Not sure. I had Ubuntu 7.10 work fine on my 8gb. Though it took 4-ish gb. I recommend arch for this, or Puppy, DSL, or any other buisness card distro/minimal distro.

User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2421
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: XFCE minimum install HD?

Post by merlwiz79 » Wed Aug 27, 2008 4:59 am

I think it's 2.3 or more GB.
There is going to be a fluxbox and a minimal type distro, which I think will be a 350 MB Live CD.
Image

Borsook
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 127
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 5:48 am

Re: XFCE minimum install HD?

Post by Borsook » Sun Aug 31, 2008 4:04 pm

As we speak I have up and running A Xubuntu install on a 2gb disk, after adding all the programmes I need I have 400 mb left for user files. Not much, true, but it is usable.

eustice

Re: XFCE minimum install HD?

Post by eustice » Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:22 pm

Hi I want to run Mint from a Compact Flash using a IDE to CF adaptor.
My motivation if to have complete control of writes to the disk via the write protect switch. (i.e. only unlock this when I am updating or installing aps)

Anyone know if this will work? (sorry if this is obvious... quite a newb)
When booting from a LIveCD obviously there is no ability to write to the boot medium and this works fine.
Would the same be true if booting / running system from a write protected CF?

User avatar
Acid_1
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 796
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 11:12 pm
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada

Re: XFCE minimum install HD?

Post by Acid_1 » Tue Apr 07, 2009 3:39 am

Correct me if I'm wrong, but I do believe that when using the LiveCD it writes a temporary file to the HDD. By turning on write protection on your disk, I don't think that's a good idea. It'd be the same as trying to run anything while everything is set for root privileges. Um. Why would you need to control disk writes?

User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2421
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: XFCE minimum install HD?

Post by merlwiz79 » Tue Apr 07, 2009 3:28 pm

Live cd only write to the swap partition if your pc has one.
If it doesn't it'll only use your RAM.
Image

User avatar
Acid_1
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 796
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 11:12 pm
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada

Re: XFCE minimum install HD?

Post by Acid_1 » Wed Apr 08, 2009 2:14 am

merlwiz79 wrote:Live cd only write to the swap partition if your pc has one.
If it doesn't it'll only use your RAM.
I always wondered how that worked. So if you have less than 512MB of ram and it's your first time, you need to kill processes! YAY!

Post Reply

Return to “Installation & Boot”