[sOLVED] Avast installed but where is it

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
dnmint
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 393
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 5:00 pm
Location: Hyderabad, India ( mostly travelling)

[sOLVED] Avast installed but where is it

Postby dnmint » Fri Sep 12, 2008 3:08 am

I downloaded & installed it. In Synaptic it shows as 'installed', But I am not able to locate to run it.
Help please
Last edited by dnmint on Wed Sep 24, 2008 9:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ImageDNMint

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19595
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Avast installed but where is it

Postby Husse » Fri Sep 12, 2008 7:04 am

Alt + F2 > avastgui
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

User avatar
Katzedecimal
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 328
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 7:20 pm
Location: The Great White North
Contact:

Re: Avast installed but where is it

Postby Katzedecimal » Fri Sep 12, 2008 12:56 pm

How-To Forge has an excellent tutorial on installing Avast onto Ubuntu and its daughter-distros here:

http://www.howtoforge.com/virus-protection-with-avast-on-ubuntu-gutsy-gibbon

When you reach the stage of adding the GUI launcher to the main menu, simply right-click on the MintMenu start button (Elyssa), and select Edit Menu. I added my Avast to Administration.

Hope this helps :mrgreen:
"Dance without sleeping, I'll dance without fear
Dance without senses, no message I hear
Dance without feeling, I'll dance 'til I'm numb
Dance 'til I think I can overcome" -- Melissa Etheridge

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19595
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Avast installed but where is it

Postby Husse » Fri Sep 12, 2008 6:19 pm

I added my Avast to Administration.

Ah - so did I :)
Did not notice that guide - thanks
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

User avatar
dnmint
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 393
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 5:00 pm
Location: Hyderabad, India ( mostly travelling)

Re: Avast installed but where is it

Postby dnmint » Sat Sep 20, 2008 1:28 am

When you reach the stage of adding the GUI launcher to the main menu, simply right-click on the MintMenu start button (Elyssa), and select Edit Menu. I added my Avast to Administration.

I have done installation. I right clicked on Elyssa selected Edit Menu. Did not know how to thereafter.
Can you please help in adding Gui to Adminstration & to quicklaunch toolbar ( next to Firefox etc
Thanks
ImageDNMint

User avatar
pluraldave
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 708
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2008 8:05 am

Re: Avast installed but where is it

Postby pluraldave » Sun Sep 21, 2008 7:13 pm

To add Avast! to the Mint Menu:

1. Right click on the Mint menu and choose edit menu. This will open a window with three "columns": "Menus", "Items" and some buttons.

2. In the "Menus" column choose the subheading you want Avast! under and click it so that it it highlighted. (You specified Administration, it's the one at the bottom).

3. In the "buttons" column press the "New Item" button. This will spawn a new window named "Launcher properties".

4. In the Launcher Properties window set the fields as follows:
    Type: Application
    Name: Avast! Antivirus
    Command: avastgui
    Comment: (Anything you like, not necessary)

5. To set the logo click the little "spring" image at the left of the "Launcher Properties" window and enter the following into the address bar of the icon browser:
    /usr/lib/avast4workstation/share/avast/icons/avast-appicon.png

6. Close the icon browser, launcher properties and mint menu windows.

7. Right click the mint menu and choose "Reload Plugins"

To add Avast to the quicklaunch toolbar
(I'm assuming you mean the area to the right of the mint menu icon as it would be in Windows.)

1. Right click on any free space on the bottom panel/taskbar and choose "Add to panel".

2.Select "Application Launcher..." and hit the "Forward" button

3. Click the small triangle next to the Mintmenu subheading (Administration) that you placed Avast! under to open the list of applications in that subheading.

4. Select Avast from the list and hit the "Add" button. The Avast icon will appear on the panel/taskbar.

5. Right click the avast icon and hit "move". Drag the avast icon to where you want it and click to place.


Apologies to those who would like a terminal command answer.


Return to “Installation & Boot”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests