how to make iso form the currently installed version

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
rajumukherjee
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 136
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2014 11:15 am
Location: varanasi, india

how to make iso form the currently installed version

Post by rajumukherjee »

In case i need the copy for the future use how can i make an iso out of the current version ,
which I have upgraded from last to a usb or cd - anybody
User avatar
Pierre
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 10829
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Re: how to make iso form the currently installed version

Post by Pierre »

that could be done with remastersys, but that project is now discontinued :(

an alternative to create an archive, instead.
- use luckybackup, or similar to create the archive, on an ext hdd, & to restore again from the ext hdd.

Note: another way, would be to use the Free version of Macrium Relect:
http://www.macrium.com/reflectfree.aspx/

- create the windows based cd, which will allow both copy to / from an ISO of your HDD.
Image
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.
User avatar
Derek_S
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1278
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2013 5:36 pm
Location: Long Island, N.Y.

Re: how to make iso form the currently installed version

Post by Derek_S »

Hello to ramjumherjee and Pierre - I pretty certain that Macrium Reflect (the free version) supports only FAT32 and NTFS filesystems, meaning it's only capable of imaging or cloning Windows system partitions. You should try using Clonezilla instead. I've never used it myself, but based on what I've read it supports both Windows and Linux filesystems. Here is the link: http://clonezilla.org/

Please note: This will only create a backup image of the installed system. It will not create an installation image.
"Truth is becoming rarer and rarer as time passes. It is only a matter of time before it will cease to exist."
User avatar
jimallyn
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8955
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 7:34 pm
Location: Wenatchee, WA USA

Re: how to make iso form the currently installed version

Post by jimallyn »

Remastersys is still available, although it hasn't received any updates in a long time, and I've been told that it will work with Mint 17. Never tried it myself, though.
Image

“If the government were coming for your TVs and cars, then you'd be upset. But, as it is, they're only coming for your sons.” - Daniel Berrigan
rajumukherjee
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 136
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2014 11:15 am
Location: varanasi, india

Re: how to make iso form the currently installed version

Post by rajumukherjee »

Derek_S wrote:Hello to ramjumherjee and Pierre - I pretty certain that Macrium Reflect (the free version) supports only FAT32 and NTFS filesystems, meaning it's only capable of imaging or cloning Windows system partitions. You should try using Clonezilla instead. I've never used it myself, but based on what I've read it supports both Windows and Linux filesystems. Here is the link: http://clonezilla.org/

Please note: This will only create a backup image of the installed system. It will not create an installation image.
Choose the mode for ocs-sr
*****************************************************.
Clonezilla image dir: /home/partimag
*****************************************************.
Shutting down the Logical Volume Manager
No volume groups found
Finished Shutting down the Logical Volume Manager
perl: warning: Setting locale failed.
perl: warning: Please check that your locale settings:
LANGUAGE = (unset),
LC_ALL = (unset),
LC_PAPER = ""en_IN.UTF-8"",
LC_ADDRESS = ""en_IN.UTF-8"",
LC_MONETARY = ""en_IN.UTF-8"",
LC_NUMERIC = ""en_IN.UTF-8"",
LC_TELEPHONE = ""en_IN.UTF-8"",
LC_IDENTIFICATION = ""en_IN.UTF-8"",
LC_MEASUREMENT = ""en_IN.UTF-8"",
LC_TIME = ""en_US.UTF-8"",
LC_NAME = ""en_IN.UTF-8"",
LANG = "en_US.UTF-8"
are supported and installed on your system.
perl: warning: Falling back to the standard locale ("C").
Excluding busy partition or disk...
perl: warning: Setting locale failed.
perl: warning: Please check that your locale settings:
LANGUAGE = (unset),
LC_ALL = (unset),
LC_PAPER = ""en_IN.UTF-8"",
LC_ADDRESS = ""en_IN.UTF-8"",
LC_MONETARY = ""en_IN.UTF-8"",
LC_NUMERIC = ""en_IN.UTF-8"",
LC_TELEPHONE = ""en_IN.UTF-8"",
LC_IDENTIFICATION = ""en_IN.UTF-8"",
LC_MEASUREMENT = ""en_IN.UTF-8"",
LC_TIME = ""en_US.UTF-8"",
LC_NAME = ""en_IN.UTF-8"",
LANG = "en_US.UTF-8"
are supported and installed on your system.
perl: warning: Falling back to the standard locale ("C").
Error! No existing disk(s) or no unmounted disk(s) are found! To use Clonezilla to save or clone a disk, the source disk must exist or be unmounted! If you are sure the disk exists in this machine, maybe the kernel is too old?
Press "Enter" to exit...
Mark Phelps
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1856
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2013 4:39 pm

Re: how to make iso form the currently installed version

Post by Mark Phelps »

meaning it's only capable of imaging or cloning Windows system partitions.
That's a logical presumption, but as a test, I experimented with cloning a set of Linux distros from one disk to another using Macrium Reflect -- and the operation went perfectly!

Surprising that a Windows-based imaging/restore app actually clones Linux filesystem partitions -- but it does.
User avatar
Pierre
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 10829
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Re: how to make iso form the currently installed version

Post by Pierre »

actually have had more success with using LuckBackUp as a restore facility,
than with most other methods,
- with the exception of the old win_xp backup.

the OP wanted to make an ISO to restore from, and Macrium does that.
- LuckBackUp with it's archive, does the same thing, when restored from some backup location. ..

the restore technique is the same though - boot from a live_disc & run the restore software.
Image
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.
User avatar
kukamuumuka
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6697
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 4:51 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: how to make iso form the currently installed version

Post by kukamuumuka »

Remastersys works if you have not too much files and programs.
The file
Post Reply

Return to “Installation & Boot”