No dual boot choice Win7/ Mint 17.2

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Level 2

No dual boot choice Win7/ Mint 17.2

Post by ort »

I am a newbie to Linux. Have tried a couple of times over the years to get a copy of Linux up and running and have failed miserably. I see on the forums that everyone is having problems with win 8 (doesnt surprise me. I have 2 copies of that POS that I will give away). My problem is with Win 7 64 bit. I burned a copy of Mint 17.2 64 bit and got it to load onto my machine. I then installed it to my ssd next to Win 7. I selected the option to install beside Win 7 / dual boot. I hit install and an option screen popped up offering to allow me to adjust the partition on my ssd with a slider affair. I slid it slightly to the right which gave Widows a few more extra gigs to 176 gb. This left 51 gb for the Mint install. I hit continue and it said that the changes would be written to the disk and I hit continue again and it wrote the changes then installed Mint. It then said Mint installation was a success and told me to restart. I took the DVD out of the drive and re-booted. A message came up saying one of my disks needed to be checked (didnt say which one) and then it proceeded to check the disk. When it was done it booted into Windows. I re-booted again and it will not offer to boot into Mint. It just boots into Windows as if Mint had never been installed. Any Ideas? :D
Cobber
Level 3
Level 3

Re: No dual boot choice Win7/ Mint 17.2

Post by Cobber »

Hi Ort,

Welcome to the forum.

I'm sure someone with knowledge (not me) will help you soon.

If Mint is still on your drive, it should probably only be a matter of putting Grub in the right place so the BIOS or Bootloader can see it. That is normally what goes wrong during installation, the computer doesn't know where Grub ended up.
PC: Dual HDD: Mint 18.2 64-Bit KDE / Windows7 Professional