Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
sprdave
Level 1
Level 1

Windows 10 not detected, Mint 17.2

Post by sprdave »

Im pretty new to this, I installed Mint on a 5 year old desktop with Vista a little while ago and got through.

Im now trying to install on my newish HP laptop (750GB HD, 4GB ram). I first upgraded Windows 8.1 to Windows 10 and installed the cumulative update. I shrunk the partition in Windows to create 200GB of free space for Mint. I installed Mint 17.2 iso on a USB drive. Disabled Secureboot in BIOS (pic). Restarted using f9 brought up boot menu to boot from USB (pic). Booted okay and ran installer, but it says no detected operating systems (pic). So try "Something else" and brings up partitions.

What do I do with this to get it to install along Windows??

Im thinking 20GB for Mint and 4GB swap, rest for files (I know probably overkill but the drive is way more than I need)
Attachments
not detected.jpg
boot menu.jpg
BIOS.jpg
sprdave
Level 1
Level 1

Re: Windows 10 not detected, Mint 17.2

Post by sprdave »

Partitions after selecting "something else":
Attachments
partitions.jpg
Ruthless
Level 1
Level 1

Post by Ruthless »

Hi,

I'm having the same issue, hopefully someone will post the answer soon.

My setup is as follows both hard drives are as follows:
Mobo: MSI X99A Gaming 7 (latest bios)
Both HDD below are GPT
1 x PCIe 512GB - Windows 10
1 x SSD 250GB - unallocated ready for LM17.2

Did you manage to resolve your issues sprdave?
cogier
Level 3
Level 3

Post by cogier »