Dual boot on preconfigured raid

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
badams_ios
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 7:55 pm

Dual boot on preconfigured raid

Post by badams_ios »

I have Windoze 10 on an intel raid 0. I want to dual boot mint 17.3 but mint doesn't even see the drive at all, much less the partition I created for it.

How to? I SERIOUSLY don't want to reinstall Windoze.
Clewless

Lenovo ThinkServer
Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-4130 CPU @ 3.40GHz
20 GB RAM
3 TB WD Black, hardware raid 5 - /home
Nvidia GeForce GT 220
32" TV
In the Man Cave :)


Mint Mate 17.1

Media Center, image and video editing

ivan-the-idiot
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2016 9:59 am

Re: Dual boot on preconfigured raid

Post by ivan-the-idiot »

If you set up the RAID in bios on your mother board or similar it should probably present to Linux as Just a Hard Drive

Do you see the drives that make up the array individually or no drives at all.

badams_ios
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 7:55 pm

Re: Dual boot on preconfigured raid

Post by badams_ios »

No drives at all. I have the drive(s) partitioned. Windows is running on one, and I want to install Mint on the other. Windows see the drive just fine. Mint doesn't see anything.
Clewless

Lenovo ThinkServer
Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-4130 CPU @ 3.40GHz
20 GB RAM
3 TB WD Black, hardware raid 5 - /home
Nvidia GeForce GT 220
32" TV
In the Man Cave :)


Mint Mate 17.1

Media Center, image and video editing

Laurent85
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6303
Joined: Tue May 26, 2015 10:11 am

Re: Dual boot on preconfigured raid

Post by Laurent85 »

badams_ios wrote:I have the drive(s) partitioned. Windows is running on one, and I want to install Mint on the other.
Two drives, one running Windows, this does not sound like a raid 0 array. Did you check the Bios / Firmware Sata mode settings ? Did you disable Raid and select AHCI mode ?

From the Live media open a terminal then post the command results:
"-l" is "-L" lowercase

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz
sudo parted -l
sudo gdisk -l /dev/sda 
sudo gdisk -l /dev/sdb
Install the boot info script, run the script then provide the resulting link:

Code: Select all

apt install boot-info-script
sudo bootinfoscript --stdout | pastebin
Image

badams_ios
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 7:55 pm

Re: Dual boot on preconfigured raid

Post by badams_ios »

Sorry I haven't gotten back. I'll do that soon.

I'm not getting notifications of replies but I do have it checked:(
Clewless

Lenovo ThinkServer
Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-4130 CPU @ 3.40GHz
20 GB RAM
3 TB WD Black, hardware raid 5 - /home
Nvidia GeForce GT 220
32" TV
In the Man Cave :)


Mint Mate 17.1

Media Center, image and video editing

Post Reply

Return to “Installation & Boot”