Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
royphotog
Level 2
Level 2

Uninstalling a distro on a dual boot machine

Post by royphotog »

I have been running Mint Cinnamon for a few months on an old laptop and like it, but wanted to see if Xfce would run a little faster. After playing around with it I see it is a little faster, but no great speed increase and I like the Cinnamon interface better. My question is, now that i have a partition on my drive for Xfce, is there a war to recover that space? Can I delete Xfce easily?
Reorx
Level 12
Level 12

Re: Uninstalling a distro on a dual boot machine

Post by Reorx »

When you boot your system, what is on the first line of the GRUB menu?

Also, are any of these installations encrypted?
Full time Linux Mint user since 2011 - Currently running mostly LM19C and a little LM20C.

Image Image Image
royphotog
Level 2
Level 2

Post by royphotog »

the first line is the Xfce install and no encryption.
Reorx
Level 12
Level 12

Post by Reorx »

GRUB is in 2 parts on your HD. The first part is in the MBR of the HD. The second part is in /boot of the last distro you installed - XFCE. If you delete the partition that XFCE is on, you will break GRUB and render your HD unbootable. So you have to (effectively) move the second part of GRUB to the Cinnamon installation. The way that this is done (assuming the installations are on SDA) is as follows:

1) Boot the Cinnamon installation.
2) Open a terminal and execute these 2 commands >>>

Code: Select all

sudo grub-install /dev/sda

Code: Select all

sudo update-grub
3) Then close the terminal and shut down the machine.