1st HDD not recognized

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
denster
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:53 pm

1st HDD not recognized

Postby denster » Mon Mar 23, 2009 9:50 pm

I am really struggling with this one. I have always had multi drive multi partitions set up in my PC.
I realize this is probably asking for trouble -but I enjoy a good challenge and I am not one to give up easy --This is how I learn -no pain -no gain.

I Have 5 SATA drives:

1: GRUB @ MBR (using menu.lst from MINT) / Vista (not sure if I wanted to admit this or not but for the sake of honesty and help I must)
2: Server 2008 / Ext. Partition {swap, UE 2.0, Sabayon, Mepis, Suse, MINT)
3: RAID 0 -These 2 drives
4: RAID 0 - in RAID 0
5: 1TB drive

I can't get MINT to see and mount my 1st drive.
Mint has actually seen it before and mounted but something happened --I have tried everything I know to do and just when I think I have it figured out and reboot -I am foiled again @#$%!
Last edited by denster on Mon Mar 23, 2009 10:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3476
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: 1st HDD not recognized

Postby merlwiz79 » Mon Mar 23, 2009 10:34 pm

It maybe a problem with windows not unmounting the partition correctly.
Have you tried ntfs-config to mount the drive?
Also post /etc/fstab and blkid output.
Image

denster
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:53 pm

Re: 1st HDD not recognized

Postby denster » Mon Mar 23, 2009 10:40 pm

was not aware of ntfs-config will try it now.

Here is my fstab... it is a bit of a mess, I have modified it trying to force it. Also commented out the UUID's and replaced with /dev descriptors.

I made a copy of the original so I do have it to put back...

Also I had to add rootdelay=90 to my boot line, or else it just gets lost at boot and lands me at busybox, exiting here does not resume boot...


# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
# /dev/sdb10
## UUID=6ed99587-6938-42af-b86c-043a9f5a8884
/dev/sdb10 / ext3 relatime,errors=remount-ro 0 1
# /dev/sdb5
## UUID=e661a07b-89ed-4f85-9352-b8515c8cdff1
/dev/sdb5 none swap sw 0 0
/dev/scd0 /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 user,noauto,exec,utf8 0 0
/dev/cdrom /media/cdrom udf,iso9660 user,noauto,exec,utf8 0 0
### ADDED

## Pluggable devices are handled by uDev, they are not in fstab
## /dev/sdb8 / ext3 defaults,noatime 1 1
## /dev/sdb5 swap swap sw,pri=1 0 0
## proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
## devpts /dev/pts devpts mode=0622 0 0
## Dynamic entries below
/dev/sda1 /media/sda1 ntfs-3g noauto,users,gid=users,dmask=002,fmask=113,relatime 0 0
/dev/sdb1 /media/sdb1 ntfs-3g noauto,users,gid=users,dmask=002,fmask=113,relatime 0 0
/dev/sdb6 /media/sdb6 ext3 noauto,users,exec,relatime 0 0
/dev/sdb7 /media/sdb7 ext3 noauto,users,exec,relatime 0 0
/dev/sdb8 /media/sdb8 ext3 noauto,users,exec,relatime 0 0
/dev/sdb9 /media/sdb9 ext3 noauto,users,exec,relatime 0 0
## /dev/sdb10 /mnt/sdb10 ext3 noauto,users,exec,relatime 0 0
/dev/sde1 /media/sde1 ntfs-3g noauto,users,gid=users,dmask=002,fmask=113,relatime 0 0
/dev/mapper/nvidia_addafdcc1 /media/raid ntfs-3g noauto,users,gid=users,dmask=002,fmask=113,relatime 0 0
## /dev/sdd /mnt/sdd nvidia_raid_member noauto,users,exec,relatime 0 0

## /dev/scd1 /media/cdrom udf,iso9660 noauto,users,exec,ro 0 0

denster
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:53 pm

Re: 1st HDD not recognized

Postby denster » Mon Mar 23, 2009 10:58 pm

installed ntfs-config and it found my TB drive. Then I rebooted... now I have no mouse or keyboard at console login. However it did recognize ctrl-alt-del.
Tried to reboot in recovery mode still no mouse, no keyboard sheesh louise.
--well... I could try a re-install -I have nothing to lose and a fast machine... but somewhat reluctant because I don't think my problem is going to go away, so it might be better to stick it out and face the demons...

denster
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:53 pm

Re: 1st HDD not recognized

Postby denster » Tue Mar 24, 2009 8:19 pm

CMOS data got borked - which was very odd -I have never had to reset it before. It was driving me nuts. I had no keyboard at mouse even from the live cd! That is when I knew it had to be something with the way Mint was seeing my hardware.It was working fine in the other operating systems...

In the grand scheme of things, I have decided that perhaps an easy way to resolve this whole drive issue, is to just let Mint be drive 1. I am reinstalling now and hope that it will resolve the confusion.

Ha Ha don't I wish...


Return to “Installation & Boot”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: naven, Sockpuppet950372, tpalermo30 and 12 guests