Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
braziers
Level 1
Level 1

Installing Mint 18.1 on Ubuntu 10.04

Post by braziers »

Hi all,

I am an administrator for a non-profit which operates on Ubuntu and Linux machines. I used to use Linux all the time, before 2007, then I switched to mac. Just letting you know, I'm not a 100% noob but it has been quite a long time.

We have a Dell Optiplex GX260 (Bios A00) running Ubuntu 10.04 (32 bit). The machine itself is in decent order, so even though it doesn't have a DVD drive I would like to refurbish it, operating system-wise, to the best of my ability (and we're not made of money).

I've been trying to install Linux Mint 18.1 Cinnamon on this machine since the weekend, which is quite a jump from Ubuntu 10.04, but I keep running into problems. Even upgrading the Bios from A00 to A09 has thus far failed, and without doing so I cannot use a bootable USB. I made a bootable CD but that failed, and a bootable floppy which - too - failed. It's possible, however, that not having used Unix systems in so long that I made a mistake.

Of course I tried installing Wine to run the exe inside Ubuntu but 10.04 hasn't been supported in so long, and I need to have nautilus to install it even from the source code - and nautilus isn't supported via the Software Centre in Ubuntu 10.04... it goes on.

I had problems with the Update Manager too, which was failing to pull from archive repositories, and all the #s in the world (in the sources list) couldn't solve it.

I think I need to go back to the beginning, with someone more knowledgeable and confident than I who is prepared to take me through the steps? Then I will make proper notes and upload errors as I come across them. I've honestly forgotten all the steps I have taken over the past few days it has been quite a headache!

Any wonderful, willing takers? Help me to install Mint on a Ubuntu 10.04 machine? There has to be a way, surely!

Thank you ;-P

- Braziers