Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
mrniceguy
Level 4
Level 4

Downloading Mint 18.1 on Windows PC

Post by mrniceguy » Thu Jun 01, 2017 2:58 pm

Probably a stupid question... I got a new PC which I'm going to install Mint 18.1 on. I'm not good at this. The last time I installed Linux 16 on another computer it erased the portable HD I had attached to it. I didn't know it was going to do that. Now, I've downloaded Mint 18.1 onto my Windows PC. At the top of the page there's a Download icon. I click on that, and it starts 'Creating linuxmint 18.1 7z in Downloads'. Is that what I want it to do? I'm afraid it's going to erase my Windows HD. I want it to go onto the DVD I have in the drive, not into Downloads.

MintBean
Level 9
Level 9

Re: Downloading Mint 18.1 on Windows PC

Post by MintBean » Thu Jun 01, 2017 3:05 pm

All the official links point to a .ISO file. Nothing to do with 7z. That message sounds as if you have asked 7zip to compress the ISO, which is not part of the process.

mrniceguy
Level 4
Level 4

Post by mrniceguy » Thu Jun 01, 2017 3:13 pm

All I did was click on one of the mirror sites, and wait for it to download. It downloaded into the Downloads folder.

jimallyn
Level 18
Level 18

Post by jimallyn » Thu Jun 01, 2017 3:14 pm

You need to download the .iso file from the Mint Downloads page, then burn the .iso image to a DVD or a USB stick, then boot from that. I am wondering where you are seeing this 7z stuff? There is no need to use 7zip to download or install Linux Mint.

“If the government were coming for your TVs and cars, then you'd be upset. But, as it is, they're only coming for your sons.” - Daniel Berrigan

mrniceguy
Level 4
Level 4

Post by mrniceguy » Thu Jun 01, 2017 3:20 pm

This is the page I got it from: https://www.linuxmint.com/edition.php?id=226. Is that the wrong place to get the download from?

Cosmo.
Level 23
Level 23