Boot up problem

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
MintWithaHole
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 9:32 am

Boot up problem

Postby MintWithaHole » Mon Jun 19, 2017 3:15 pm

One of the things that surprised me about Linux MINT was the amount of time it took to boot up. I have recently installed an SSD drive in my PC and am using that to boo operating systems from. Mint currently takes about 4-5 minutes to boot. Having disabled the splash screen, I have noticed the following error comes up at least twice, each time the PC pauses for maybe 40-50 seconds.

Does anyone know what this error means please?

User avatar
austin.texas
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11050
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:57 pm
Location: at /home

Re: Boot up problem

Postby austin.texas » Mon Jun 19, 2017 3:21 pm

What is the error message?
Mint 18.1 Cinnamon, Quad core AMD A8-3870 with Radeon HD Graphics 6550D, 8GB DDR3, Ralink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
Microsoft-free environment since 1996

Linux Linx 2017

MintWithaHole
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 9:32 am

Re: Boot up problem

Postby MintWithaHole » Mon Jun 19, 2017 4:19 pm

Sorry, I did add an image but it has failed to appear. trying again...
Attachments
mint-boot-error3.jpg

User avatar
austin.texas
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11050
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:57 pm
Location: at /home

Re: Boot up problem

Postby austin.texas » Mon Jun 19, 2017 5:20 pm

It is likely that you have a hardware problem.
Check all your SATA cable connections, and different SATA cables, if possible.
Run the memory check from the Grub menu. Let that run for a long time for the best results.
Mint 18.1 Cinnamon, Quad core AMD A8-3870 with Radeon HD Graphics 6550D, 8GB DDR3, Ralink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
Microsoft-free environment since 1996

Linux Linx 2017

MintWithaHole
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 9:32 am

Re: Boot up problem

Postby MintWithaHole » Tue Jun 20, 2017 5:03 am

This morning I was able to obtain an IP address and connect to the network so I can post this directly. Its in the output from DMESG, and contains a bit more info:

[ 127.136992] ata5.00: failed command: READ FPDMA QUEUED
[ 127.137699] ata5.00: cmd 60/08:e8:60:28:cc/00:00:29:00:00/40 tag 29 ncq 4096 in
res 40/00:fe:00:00:00/00:00:00:00:00/40 Emask 0x4 (timeout)
[ 127.139125] ata5.00: status: { DRDY }
[ 127.139829] ata5.00: failed command: READ FPDMA QUEUED
[ 127.140538] ata5.00: cmd 60/08:f0:68:28:cc/00:00:29:00:00/40 tag 30 ncq 4096 in
res 40/00:00:00:00:00/00:00:00:00:00/00 Emask 0x4 (timeout)
[ 127.141959] ata5.00: status: { DRDY }
[ 127.142673] ata5: hard resetting link
[ 127.634204] ata5: SATA link up 6.0 Gbps (SStatus 133 SControl 300)
[ 127.634560] ata5.00: supports DRM functions and may not be fully accessible
[ 127.635759] ata5.00: supports DRM functions and may not be fully accessible
[ 127.636623] ata5.00: configured for UDMA/133
[ 127.636657] ata5.00: device reported invalid CHS sector 0
[ 127.636659] ata5.00: device reported invalid CHS sector 0
[ 127.636661] ata5.00: device reported invalid CHS sector 0
.
.
.
[ 127.636663] ata5.00: device reported invalid CHS sector 0
[ 127.636665] ata5.00: device reported invalid CHS sector 0
[ 127.636689] sd 4:0:0:0: [sda] tag#0 FAILED Result: hostbyte=DID_OK driverbyte=DRIVER_SENSE
[ 127.636693] sd 4:0:0:0: [sda] tag#0 Sense Key : Illegal Request [current] [descriptor]
[ 127.636697] sd 4:0:0:0: [sda] tag#0 Add. Sense: Unaligned write command
[ 127.636701] sd 4:0:0:0: [sda] tag#0 CDB: Read(10) 28 00 29 cc 28 70 00 00 08 00
[ 127.636704] blk_update_request: I/O error, dev sda, sector 701245552
[ 127.637130] sd 4:0:0:0: [sda] tag#1 FAILED Result: hostbyte=DID_OK driverbyte=DRIVER_SENSE
[ 127.637134] sd 4:0:0:0: [sda] tag#1 Sense Key : Illegal Request [current] [descriptor]
[ 127.637137] sd 4:0:0:0: [sda] tag#1 Add. Sense: Unaligned write command
[ 127.637140] sd 4:0:0:0: [sda] tag#1 CDB: Read(10) 28 00 29 cc 28 78 00 00 08 00
[ 127.637142] blk_update_request: I/O error, dev sda, sector 701245560
.
.
.
[ 199.047474] ata5.00: failed command: WRITE FPDMA QUEUED
[ 199.047479] ata5.00: cmd 61/08:88:c8:2b:cc/00:00:29:00:00/40 tag 17 ncq 4096 out
res 40/00:00:00:00:00/00:00:00:00:00/00 Emask 0x4 (timeout)
[ 199.047481] ata5.00: status: { DRDY }
[ 199.047485] ata5: hard resetting link
[ 199.539362] ata5: SATA link up 6.0 Gbps (SStatus 133 SControl 300)
[ 199.539644] ata5.00: supports DRM functions and may not be fully accessible
[ 199.540898] ata5.00: supports DRM functions and may not be fully accessible
[ 199.541761] ata5.00: configured for UDMA/133
[ 199.541765] ata5.00: device reported invalid CHS sector 0
[ 199.541768] ata5.00: device reported invalid CHS sector 0
[ 199.541770] ata5.00: device reported invalid CHS sector 0
[ 199.541772] ata5.00: device reported invalid CHS sector 0
[ 199.541774] ata5.00: device reported invalid CHS sector 0
[ 199.541776] ata5.00: device reported invalid CHS sector 0
[ 199.541778] ata5.00: device reported invalid CHS sector 0
[ 199.541785] ata5: EH complete
[ 199.542117] ata5.00: Enabling discard_zeroes_data


It finishes at this point. I have removed much of the superfluous repetition. This is a bit worrying since the device 'sda', specifically /dev/sda5 is on my new Crucial SSD drive. I don't know whether this makes a difference. In the meantime, I'm off to do the memory test from the GRUB menu and maybe order some replacement SATA cables. Thanks.

EDIT: I have just tried booting from Kali Linux live CD and then mounted /dev/sda5. I checked dmesg and there did not seem to be a problem with ata5:

root@kali:/media/root/USB# dmesg |grep ata5
[ 1.649776] ata5: SATA max UDMA/133 abar m512@0xf7100000 port 0xf7100100 irq 37
[ 2.127121] ata5: SATA link up 6.0 Gbps (SStatus 133 SControl 300)
[ 2.127498] ata5.00: supports DRM functions and may not be fully accessible
[ 2.128317] ata5.00: ATA-10: Crucial_CT525MX300SSD1, M0CR040, max UDMA/133
[ 2.128398] ata5.00: 1025610768 sectors, multi 16: LBA48 NCQ (depth 31/32), AA
[ 2.129206] ata5.00: supports DRM functions and may not be fully accessible
[ 2.130527] ata5.00: configured for UDMA/133
[ 2.517550] ata5.00: Enabling discard_zeroes_data
[ 2.517813] ata5.00: Enabling discard_zeroes_data
[ 2.518878] ata5.00: Enabling discard_zeroes_data


So now I am not so sure the problem is my hardware? Equally, Kali does not seem to have a problem with my mounting my NTFS volumes, neither /dev/sda1 and /dev/sda2 on the SSD, nor /dev/sdb3 which is on the hard drive. MINT does and refuses to mount them claiming they are corrupted. Windows would normally prompt for a chkdisk on boot-up if that were the case but it does not. This might possibly be a separate issue but I mention it here in case it is somehow related.

MintWithaHole
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 9:32 am

Re: Boot up problem

Postby MintWithaHole » Tue Jun 20, 2017 7:55 am

I have completed the memory tests as suggested and everything passed OK. I had to reduce the size of the image and greyscale it in order to make it small enough to upload. 100kb is very limiting!
Attachments
memtests.jpg


Return to “Installation & Boot”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests