Running Mint from a USB SOLVED

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Robint

Running Mint from a USB SOLVED

Post by Robint »

Hi Guys, I didnt want to hijack Benaknouns thread cos he is using an SSD and the installation problems are getting convoluted

Is there a simple way to run Linux from a USB (including its common apps) on a windows pc. I dont mean as a boot drive installing linux on a pc (just yet)

Hope this isnt a dumb question cos I am a Linux newbie but my recent eperience with the appaling Win 10 has made me sit up and listen, there is a world without M$

I understand that the PRC runs all its machines on its version of Linux - smart move. IMHO it would only take them a heartbeat to beef up their system and make it moe user friendly then distribute it freely (like Lenovo) for this to take the world and trash M$, what do you think?

I am seriously thinking off picking up a used Lenovo laptop with Linux already installed - cheap enough to get started on the learning curve :lol:
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
michael louwe

Re: Running Mint from a USB

Post by michael louwe »

@ RobinT, .......

Please refer to this link on how to create a Live Ubuntu/Linux Mint USB Flash-drive with Persistent storage, .......
https://www.howtogeek.com/howto/14912/c ... ash-drive/
br1anstorm
Level 5
Level 5

Post by br1anstorm »

As has already been noted, It is relatively easy to run a "Live session" of Mint - or other Linux distros - from a USB stick.