Mint 18.2 installer crashing - Intel I7

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
wittend
Level 1
Level 1

Mint 18.2 installer crashing - Intel I7

Post by wittend »

I have been fighting with installing a fresh copy of Mint for about a week. First I tried installing over an existing copy of 18.1 in a Mini-ITX I7 that I have been using for a couple of years. I had recently been having difficulties with software on this machine, and perhaps (only perhaps) some data errors using USB 2.0 under heavy load.

First I tried to use a USB-3.0 memory stick with an ISO flashed onto it. It would boot, but during the install I would get the message that the installer had crashed. I used FTP, rather than torrent. After trying this several times, finally (yes, belatedly...) I checked the MD5 hash. It did not match. Re-downloading gave the same (exact same!) result. Bad Hash. Aha!

So I used torrent. This time the MD5 did check. I re-flashed the stick (several iterations by now). And booted from it. Started install - same result!

Always at about the same point, just when install gets serious about copying things, after I've entered my timezone, usually while I am entering my username and machine name. This seems about the time the background copy process kicks in. Almost always an IO error, sometimes just errors copying basic utilities - ssh, other stuff. Always ends up with a pretty serious looking fail.

So, bad memory stick? Tried another one. Tried using USB 3.0, USB 2.0. Tried downloading and creating media from an old but reliable (in its way) Windows I7 box. I burned a DVD (remember those?). I diddled every BIOS setting I could think of. Always the same result, even from the DVD. The DVD drive was usb-attached. All my many others have died. Nothing worked.