Installer doesn't list partitions under device

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
zetapulse
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 8:16 am

Installer doesn't list partitions under device

Post by zetapulse » Sat Nov 25, 2017 9:17 am

Hello, I'm having a hell of a ride trying to give up windows for linux, but if this is the road to an OS that "just works" with all the functionality a technically-minded person like myself needs, then it'll be worth it.
So I had Win7 on a PC I left off for a vacation. When I got back it just didn't start, so I finally gave up & started migrating to Linux Mint 18.2 Cinnamon 64-bit. There was already an arduous trek from there to where I am now back at square one, so I'll skip that.

START: Currently I have an HDD (sda) that has multiple partitions (several from my previous attempt at removing the Win partition & installing Mint, and one huge partition containing personal data). I can access the files on the huge partition, but not the Win partition, & they show up like so:
mint@mint ~ $ sudo fdisk -l
Disk /dev/loop0: 1.6 GiB, 1676083200 bytes, 3273600 sectors
Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disklabel type: dos
Disk identifier: 0x08a2574b

Device Boot Start End Sectors Size Id Type
/dev/loop0p1 * 0 3273599 3273600 1.6G 0 Empty
/dev/loop0p2 3204672 3209535 4864 2.4M ef EFI (FAT-12/16/32)


Disk /dev/loop1: 1.5 GiB, 1618886656 bytes, 3161888 sectors
Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes


Failed to read extended partition table (offset=110002176): Input/output error
Disk /dev/sda: 1.8 TiB, 2000398934016 bytes, 3907029168 sectors
Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 4096 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 4096 bytes / 4096 bytes
Disklabel type: dos
Disk identifier: 0x1ed12fed

Code: Select all

Device     Boot     Start        End    Sectors  Size Id Type
/dev/sda1  *         2046  629147647  629145602  300G  5 Extended
/dev/sda3       629147648 3907026943 3277879296  1.5T  7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
/dev/sda5            2048   60000094   59998047 28.6G 83 Linux
/dev/sda6        60002304  108001279   47998976 22.9G 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda7       108003328  110002175    1998848  976M 83 Linux
Partition 1 does not start on physical sector boundary.
Partition table entries are not in disk order.
My original plan was (following a guide) to create a root part (sda5), swap part (sda6), home part (sda7) & a 300GB "data" part (sda1) to retain files on in the event of a system failure.
However these partitions do not show up in the installer (partitions under other HDD's do), only the device does. I'd move the data to other drives temporarily & wipe the whole device if it comes to that (haven't the room right now) but I'd much rather leap this hurdle than circumvent it. END

I've worked my google-fu to the bone, I'm at a bad place in my life & can really use a guiding hand. Granted I've thought that if I can't get this running myself, I might as well quit computers all together, but the fact is, I would indeed rather quit computers than go back to the abusive relationship that is windows.

Thank you for looking.

User avatar
ClixTrix
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 747
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 11:40 am
Location: Columbus, Ohio, USA

Re: Installer doesn't list partitions under device

Post by ClixTrix » Sat Nov 25, 2017 10:38 am

Have you checked the drives SMART info for problems? If you boot from LiveCD/Flash, look for the Disks utility in Menu - Accessories.

Also, if you use Disks or GParted, could you take a screen capture and post back the shot. I'm not 100% certain on how the partitions are layed-out. Since the drive is setup with DOS partition table, it allows for 3 Primary and 1 Extended partition. I'm curious about ordering and what's in each. It looks like the Extended Partition is the 1st Partition and has an alignment problem, and I'm thinking that on a DOS partitioned drive...that is a possible problem. Did you use GParted to move partitions before the Mint install.

I'm a little suspicious of what caused the sudden Win7 failure. Have you made any effort to backup your data?

If this were my rebuild for self or customer, I'd move all the data off the drive, run surface tests for problems, reinitialize the drive with GPT (if your BIOS supports) and build from there. GPT doesn't have the legacy DOS limitations. If your motherboard supports EFI, that makes it an even better approach.

If you run the following command from Terminal and post back the results, it can also help me and others give suggestions:

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz
Linux Mint 18.3 x64 Cinnamon Kernel 4.15.0-33-generic
Gigabyte GA-AB350M-D3H (F20) / Ryzen 5 1600 / Micron Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400 2x8GB / XFX HD5450-1GB
NVMe-SSD Samsung 960 EVO 250GB / SATA-HDD WD1600BEKT 160GB / SATA-SSD Toshiba OCZ VX500 512GB

zetapulse
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 8:16 am

Re: Installer doesn't list partitions under device

Post by zetapulse » Sat Nov 25, 2017 11:54 am

Thanks for your aid Clix.
  • SMART info: checked today, no problems detected. This HDD is my latest too (maybe a year old).
  • Disks:
    Screenshot from 2017-11-26 02-10-41.png
    It's a mess, I know, it's triggering me bad too.
  • GParted: seemingly endlessly repeating Libparted Errors, Error fsyncing/closing /dev/sda: Input/output error (sometimes specifying sda or its specific parts).
  • Did you use GParted to move partitions before the Mint install? I did not, I was trying to manage them via the installer like one would when setting up a winOS.
  • Win7 failure: I've had this PC for nearly 4 years now, I'm one to avoid formatting at all costs & aimed for maximum uptime for my PC, sometimes going months without a reboot. That might have something to do with it.
  • backup your data? Not at the moment. If I resort to anything that will definitely wipe it, I'll get another HDD & maybe abandon the current one altogether.
  • reinitialize the drive with GPT: I see, I would do this too, in fact I'd like to get all my devices running ext4 (I couldn't even get the installer to work before until I set them to ext3). Again, this is a potential end solution I may resort to.
  • run the following command:

    Code: Select all

    mint@mint ~ $ inxi -Fxz
    System:    Host: mint Kernel: 4.8.0-53-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
               Desktop: Cinnamon 3.4.3 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3)
               Distro: Linux Mint 18.2 Sonya
    Machine:   System: Gigabyte product: N/A
               Mobo: Gigabyte model: Z77X-UD5H v: x.x
               Bios: American Megatrends v: F7 date: 05/11/2012
    CPU:       Quad core Intel Core i5-3570K (-MCP-) cache: 6144 KB
               flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 27224
               clock speeds: max: 3800 MHz 1: 1695 MHz 2: 1617 MHz 3: 1703 MHz
               4: 1695 MHz
    Graphics:  Card-1: Intel Xeon E3-1200 v2/3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller
               bus-ID: 00:02.0
               Card-2: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Tahiti PRO [Radeon HD 7950/8950 OEM / R9 280]
               bus-ID: 08:00.0
               Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: ati,radeon,intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
               Resolution: 2560x1600@59.86hz
               GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on AMD TAHITI (DRM 2.46.0 / 4.8.0-53-generic, LLVM 3.8.0)
               GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 12.0.6 Direct Rendering: Yes
    Audio:     Card-1 Intel 7 Series/C210 Series Family High Definition Audio Controller
               driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
               Card-2 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Tahiti XT HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 7970 Series]
               driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 08:00.1
               Card-3 Logitech Webcam C250 driver: USB Audio usb-ID: 003-004
               Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.8.0-53-generic
    Network:   Card-1: Intel 82579V Gigabit Network Connection
               driver: e1000e v: 3.2.6-k port: f040 bus-ID: 00:19.0
               IF: eno1 state: down mac: <filter>
               Card-2: Realtek RTL8192CE PCIe Wireless Network Adapter
               driver: rtl8192ce port: d000 bus-ID: 03:00.0
               IF: wlp3s0 state: up mac: <filter>
               Card-3: Qualcomm Atheros AR8151 v2.0 Gigabit Ethernet
               driver: atl1c v: 1.0.1.1-NAPI port: b000 bus-ID: 06:00.0
               IF: enp6s0 state: down mac: <filter>
               Card-4: Microsoft Xbox 360 Wireless Adapter usb-ID: 001-004
               IF: null-if-id state: N/A mac: N/A
    Drives:    HDD Total Size: 9009.8GB (0.3% used)
               ID-1: /dev/sda model: ST2000DM001 size: 2000.4GB temp: 0C
               ID-2: /dev/sdb model: WDC_WD10EARS size: 1000.2GB temp: 34C
               ID-3: /dev/sdc model: WDC_WD20EZRX size: 2000.4GB temp: 36C
               ID-4: /dev/sdd model: WDC_WD20EZRX size: 2000.4GB temp: 33C
               ID-5: /dev/sde model: WDC_WD20EZRZ size: 2000.4GB temp: 34C
               ID-6: USB /dev/sdf model: Cruzer_Edge size: 8.0GB temp: 0C
               ID-1: swap-1 size: 24.58GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda6
    RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
    Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 29.8C mobo: 27.8C gpu: 49.0
               Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
    Info:      Processes: 248 Uptime: 3:05 Memory: 2008.2/7877.2MB
               Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
               Client: Shell (bash 4.3.481) inxi: 2.2.35 
    
I must sleep now to maintain my sanity; I will return.

User avatar
ClixTrix
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 747
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 11:40 am
Location: Columbus, Ohio, USA

Re: Installer doesn't list partitions under device

Post by ClixTrix » Sat Nov 25, 2017 12:32 pm

Given the problems and symptoms, I think my prior suggestion of BACKUP and start over is a good approach. That's a fairly modern MB that supports EFI BIOS and Boot. With old DOS, you're locking yourself into Extended Partition need. EFI and GPT would be a lot cleaner approach. I'm thinking some of the conflict might be from booting/installing in EFI mode instead of legacy DOS for that drive.

1. BACKUP
2. Run a surface inspect/test to make sure the drive is good (is showing 1 bad sector)
3. Delete all the Partitions with GParted
4. Reinitialized the Drive with GParted as GPT (not DOS)
5. ReBoot wtih the LiveCD/Flash in EFI mode
5. Use Mint with Customized Partitioning during install to setup and create your desired Volume placement

Mint will setup the EFI System Partition for you, if you don't create one. Usually, best as 1st partition. With GPT you can have as many partitions as you want/need.
Linux Mint 18.3 x64 Cinnamon Kernel 4.15.0-33-generic
Gigabyte GA-AB350M-D3H (F20) / Ryzen 5 1600 / Micron Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400 2x8GB / XFX HD5450-1GB
NVMe-SSD Samsung 960 EVO 250GB / SATA-HDD WD1600BEKT 160GB / SATA-SSD Toshiba OCZ VX500 512GB

User avatar
michael louwe
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2644
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2016 11:18 pm

Re: Installer doesn't list partitions under device

Post by michael louwe » Sat Nov 25, 2017 3:45 pm

@ zetapulse, .......
zetapulse wrote:.
.
I see that you have many 2.0TB internal hard-drives connected to your high-end 2012 UEFI computer. In such a multi-drives configuration, the manual "Something else" Linux Mint install method must be used and ensure that the other drives are not touched by the LM Installer. Some users prefer to unplug the other drive/s before installing LM, so as not to accidentally mess up the other drive/s with the LM Installer.

Legacy BIOS mode install = usually use ms-dos disks, 32bit or 64bit OS and do not use Secure Boot. ms-dos disks are limited to 4 Primary partitions and 2TB in size.
UEFI mode install = must use GPT disks, 64bit OS and Secure Boot(which may be disabled). GPT disks are not limited as above.

Win 7 usually use Legacy BIOS mode install and ms-dos disks/drives. So, your previous Win 7 setup should have all your drives in ms-dos mode. In such a case, you should not change the ms-dos disk which you intend to install LM to UEFI/GPT mode. Otherwise, the other ms-os disks/drives will not be accessible by LM 18.x that is installed in UEFI/GPT mode.

Please refer to ... [ viewtopic.php?f=42&t=122276 ] (manual partitioning Tutorial for Legacy BIOS/ms-dos disks)
... Check that Fast Boot and Secure Boot is disabled and CSM/Legacy BIOS is enabled in BIOS setup. The / or Root or System partition should be about 50GB. The Home partition is meant for data storage and its size can be set as desired. Ensure that the "Device for boot loader installation" is that internal hard-drive where LM will be installed = usually it's /sda.

zetapulse
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 8:16 am

Re: Installer doesn't list partitions under device

Post by zetapulse » Sun Nov 26, 2017 2:43 am

Thank yous for your assistance. From what I've learned, I'm planning to
  1. obtain a new HDD
  2. backup data from old HDD to new
  3. surface test old HDD
  4. init old hdd... I'm getting mixed messages here.
Michael, you said I can't access MBR (DOS) drives from a GPT-initialized LM installation? In that case I'll init it as MBR & then follow the guide you've linked me to. I'm wondering if there's a practical way to migrate all my drives to GPT, but my priority right now is to get a working computer set up.
Unless anyone has a correction for my plan of action, I'll report back once it's done, hopefully successfully.

User avatar
michael louwe
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2644
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2016 11:18 pm

Re: Installer doesn't list partitions under device

Post by michael louwe » Sun Nov 26, 2017 4:55 am

@ zetapulse, .......
zetapulse wrote: I'm wondering if there's a practical way to migrate all my drives to GPT
.
Yes, there is. Run the Live LM 18.x/17.x USB/DVD and launch the built-in GParted program. To change the ms-dos disk to GPT, >the disk, eg /sda >Create a new partition table >GPT >Apply. All data will be wiped clean from the disk = need to back-up the data first if needed.

Mute Ant
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4918
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 7:45 pm

Re: Installer doesn't list partitions under device

Post by Mute Ant » Sun Nov 26, 2017 6:51 pm

If you run the gdisk command on a drive it will assume you want to use GPT and migrate the old MBR, replacing it with a protective disk-filler MBR partition entry. The data in the partitions isn't altered when this happens. Then save the new GPT and it's a GPT drive.
Data stored in an encrypted volume will only be accessible with the original password. Without this key, all the data will remain scrambled beyond hope of recovery.

zetapulse
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 8:16 am

Re: Installer doesn't list partitions under device

Post by zetapulse » Mon Dec 04, 2017 3:10 am

Status report: I'm running Mint on the new HDD I got after following the guide Michael linked me. That's a load off my shoulders. I can access all my other drives via gui except for the old system drive. I'm now trying to recover the data on the data partition of said drive. My secondary objective is to migrate the remaining drives to GPT.
I'm pretty sure the culprit is that I used tried to use Disks to delete all partitions except the data one (as per previous screenshot) in an attempt to eliminate the possibility it'd boot. I think I succeeded with the first partition then it gave similar fsyncing errors. It looks like this now:
Screenshot from 2017-12-04 18-08-24.png
I am ashamed.
michael louwe wrote:@ zetapulse, .......
Yes, there is...
I managed to cancel enough error messages to get to GParted, & it's showing my old drive as unallocated. I attempted data rescue via GParted but it instantly returned with no data recovered.
Mute Ant wrote:If you run the gdisk command on a drive it will assume you want to use GPT and migrate the old MBR, replacing it with a protective disk-filler MBR partition entry. The data in the partitions isn't altered when this happens. Then save the new GPT and it's a GPT drive.
This would be ideal but I got the following:

Code: Select all

zetapulse@Molly ~ $ sudo gdisk sdf
GPT fdisk (gdisk) version 1.0.1

Problem opening sdf for reading! Error is 2.
The specified file does not exist!
zetapulse@Molly ~ $ sudo gdisk sdf1
GPT fdisk (gdisk) version 1.0.1

Problem opening sdf1 for reading! Error is 2.
The specified file does not exist!
This happens whether I can access the drive via gui or not.

User avatar
michael louwe
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2644
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2016 11:18 pm

Re: Installer doesn't list partitions under device

Post by michael louwe » Mon Dec 04, 2017 4:27 am

@ zetapulse, .......
zetapulse wrote:.
.
If the Win 7 system was encrypted with Bitlocker or was in RAID mode, its files will likely not be accessible by Linux.

Mute Ant
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4918
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 7:45 pm

Re: Installer doesn't list partitions under device

Post by Mute Ant » Mon Dec 04, 2017 9:59 pm

Well you can change to the /dev/ directory first...
cd /dev ; sudo gdisk sdf
...or you can do it from anywhere with a full path as the argument...
sudo gdisk /dev/sdf
Data stored in an encrypted volume will only be accessible with the original password. Without this key, all the data will remain scrambled beyond hope of recovery.

zetapulse
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 8:16 am

Re: Installer doesn't list partitions under device

Post by zetapulse » Wed Dec 06, 2017 2:46 am

michael louwe wrote:.
Thankfully they weren't, so I'm hopeful that I can recover them eventually.
Mute Ant wrote:Well you can change to the /dev/ directory first...
Ouch, I didn't realize that, thanks. I don't really get how Linux's directory structure works yet, so I'm going to look into that.

Thank you all for your help. I guess the solution in this case was just starting over on a new HDD, which doesn't feel like solving much, but that's alright for now.

Post Reply

Return to “Installation & Boot”