GPT partition on LM

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
pegasis
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 12:56 pm

Re: GPT partition on LM

Post by pegasis » Fri Dec 22, 2017 9:28 am

I have tired a fresh install

The USB was recognized as uefi, and I set up 4 partitions using gparted: Uefu, swap, root, and home

uefi partition was flagged to boot, and esp

both times i tried this the Uefi partition would not mount.

The installer keep installing LM, but I was no hd activity, seems to be stuck trying to create/format sd4 (home)?

pegasis
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 12:56 pm

Re: GPT partition on LM

Post by pegasis » Fri Dec 22, 2017 10:54 am

i set sda1 as uefi partition

set it as boot, and esp in gparted,
reserved for bios in installer,
flagged as bios_grub

created 4 partitions in gparted: uefi, swap, /root, /home

install seemed to take; unsure is it booted legacy or uefi? how can I tell

I will try to copy partition from master HD using gparted next

pegasis
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 12:56 pm

Re: GPT partition on LM

Post by pegasis » Fri Dec 22, 2017 5:25 pm

the copy of the existing partitions from the master HD took, and I updated Fstab to the new UUID

so 4 partitions: UEFI, swap, /root, /home



UEFI is boot, and esp, with boot_grup flag

everything seems to work so far, and was easier and quicker than copying info/moving files over

thanks

pegasis
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 12:56 pm

Re: GPT partition on LM

Post by pegasis » Sat Dec 23, 2017 7:48 pm

I have one question

I cloned the GPT/UOD HD, and the cloned HD won't boot

any guesses?

lostfarmer
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 197
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 11:59 pm
Location: Idaho

Re: GPT partition on LM

Post by lostfarmer » Sat Dec 23, 2017 10:58 pm

I think the original was MBR/csm boot was it not ? IF so you can use https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Boot-Repair ,to do the job. I think it is installed in Mint . You will need to boot into a live Mint or the installed one on old hdd. Right now you will not have the boot files in the ESP partition. I think there is also a how-to in the Mint how-to section on using boot-repair. The boot-repair program will install grub-efi and do the needed items for booting in efi mode.

I have not used the program in a long time.

pegasis
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 12:56 pm

Re: GPT partition on LM

Post by pegasis » Sun Dec 24, 2017 9:17 am

I wish I knew more

linux is a black box to me

thanks

pegasis
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 12:56 pm

Re: GPT partition on LM

Post by pegasis » Mon Dec 25, 2017 1:32 pm

the uefi partition that was copied from the master HD did not have the flags set for boot, and esp

I installed linux and looked like grup2 was installed on the uefi partition, and the drive booted

note sure what grub does, how it works, or what esp flag is/does

pegasis
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 12:56 pm

Re: GPT partition on LM

Post by pegasis » Sun Jan 07, 2018 11:33 am

I installed LM new on slave drive and it booted.
ESP and bios grub flags set, installed on partition1

I copied root and home partitions over from master drive; partition 3, and part 4

partition 2 is swap

now slave drive won't boot; drive media not recognized as boot????

how can I find our what is wrong?

what is going on?

lostfarmer
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 197
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 11:59 pm
Location: Idaho

Re: GPT partition on LM

Post by lostfarmer » Sun Jan 07, 2018 2:10 pm

boot into a live mint and run in terminal (boot the usb/cd the same way you did for the new install)

Code: Select all

sudo parted --list
post output and tell me what hdd and partitions contain.

Code: Select all

sudo efibootmgr -v
post output, if it just gives an error , say so.
I installed LM new on slave drive and it booted.
between then and now, is a hdd added or removed ? did you make any changes in bios/efi firmware boot order ?

Code: Select all

I copied root and home partitions over from master drive; partition 3, and part 4
need to know exactly how it was done, commands used.

If you decide to run any other commands that make changes, tell us what they are.

pegasis
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 12:56 pm

Re: GPT partition on LM

Post by pegasis » Mon Jan 08, 2018 11:20 am

sudo parted --list

Model: ATA ST5000DM003-2FH1 (scsi)
Disk /dev/sda: 5001GB
Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/4096B
Partition Table: gpt
Disk Flags:

Number Start End Size File system Name Flags
1 1049kB 263MB 262MB fat32 boot, esp
2 263MB 33.8GB 33.6GB linux-swap(v1)
3 33.8GB 93.8GB 60.0GB ext4
4 93.8GB 5001GB 4907GB ext4


Model: PNY USB 3.0 FD (scsi)
Disk /dev/sdb: 32.0GB
Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
Partition Table: msdos
Disk Flags:

Number Start End Size Type File system Flags
1 1049kB 32.0GB 32.0GB primary fat32 boot, lba


sudo efibootmgr -v

BootCurrent: 0005
Timeout: 1 seconds
BootOrder: 0002,0003,0004,0005,0000,0001
Boot0000* Windows Boot Manager VenHw(99e275e7-75a0-4b37-a2e6-c5385e6c00cb)WINDOWS.........x...B.C.D.O.B.J.E.C.T.=.{.9.d.e.a.8.6.2.c.-.5.c.d.d.-.4.e.7.0.-.a.c.c.1.-.f.3.2.b.3.4.4.d.4.7.9.5.}...r................
Boot0001* Windows Boot Manager VenHw(99e275e7-75a0-4b37-a2e6-c5385e6c00cb)
Boot0002* CD/DVD Drive BBS(CDROM,,0x0)..GO..NO........o.H.L.-.D.T.-.S.T. .B.D.-.R.E. . .B.H.1.2.L.S.3.8....................A...........................>..Gd-.;.A..MQ..L.9.K.B.K.O.9.4.D.3.5. .0. . . . . . . . ........BO
Boot0003* Hard Drive BBS(HD,,0x0)..GO..NO........o.S.T.5.0.0.0.D.M.0.0.3.-.2.F.H.1.8.L....................A...........................>..Gd-.;.A..MQ..L. . . . . . . . . . . . .G.W.0.7.R.1.K.P........BO..NO........U.P.N.Y. .U.S.B. .3...0. .F.D. .1...0.0....................A.......................(..Gd-.;.A..MQ..L.6.8.6.9.3.3.3.6.1........BO
Boot0004* ubuntu HD(1,GPT,655c7876-761c-42ed-9436-b1f05a30c470,0x800,0x7d000)/File(\EFI\UBUNTU\SHIMX64.EFI)..BO
Boot0005* UEFI: PNY USB 3.0 FD 1.00, Partition 1 PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x14,0x0)/USB(23,0)/HD(1,MBR,0x103,0x800,0x3b9a000)..BO

part 1 is boot
part 2 is swap
part 3 is root
part 4 is home

slave drive had LM installed and in booted,
it was removed, master drive was put in and bios was manually set to select master drive, master HD booted.

slave was put into external HD dock, and part 3, 4 from master HD were copied to slave HD with gparted

master HD was shut down, and removed, and slave was installed and attempted to boot.
when attempted to select slave HD in bios, after that the bios went black.

also attempted and tested master HD, and a windows drive to boot to,
bios would not post.

installed master HD and took to frys to investigate.
they powered it up, and master HD posted.
took POS computer home and installed slave HD, selecting it manually in bios, and it said insert bootable media??
did not recognize the slave HD

the slave drive again had fresh install on LM 2 weeks earlier and it booted, after I copied 2 partitions from master HD
with gparted it would not boot.

can I just clone master to slave? will that work?
slave is just a backup HD for the master (data clone)

lostfarmer
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 197
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 11:59 pm
Location: Idaho

Re: GPT partition on LM

Post by lostfarmer » Mon Jan 08, 2018 1:32 pm

DO not try to boot the original/copy if both hdds are in the system, I think the hdd's will have partitions with the same UUID.

There are many ways and options on best ways to do things. I am going to give some commands that should permit you to boot into the copy of LM before fixing the efi boot options. I am doing it this way so you should be able to test out the copy before making it hard to boot into the original LM on the other HDD.

You efibootmgr -v output

Code: Select all

Boot0004* ubuntu HD(1,GPT,655c7876-761c-42ed-9436-b1f05a30c470,0x800,0x7d000)/File(\EFI\UBUNTU\SHIMX64.EFI)..BO
is not the correct entire for the LM on the copied hdd, likely for the original. we will leave it alone for now till you can boot into the copied LM.

So boot the live cd the same way as before, when you get to the grub menu:
1) press c (grub command prompt)
2) (type at prompt) configfile (hd0,gpt3)/boot/grub/grub.cfg press enter- press F10 --should now show the grub menu from the copied LM.


Note: when you select to boot LM after the above commands it will give some errors for wrong UUID for swap and efi partitons, select ignore (i think).
Note; I am assuming that using gparted does not modify the copied partitions UUID and the original hdd is not installed.

If the copy boots and all is good, will need to edit /etc/fstab for correct mounting of swap and efi partitions and run grub-install.

lostfarmer
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 197
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 11:59 pm
Location: Idaho

Re: GPT partition on LM

Post by lostfarmer » Mon Jan 08, 2018 1:44 pm

slave is just a backup HD for the master (data clone)
some reason just noticed the above. you are wanting to have a clone of the whole OS or just data ? I my self do not clone the OS , just make a backups of important data.

pegasis
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 12:56 pm

Re: GPT partition on LM

Post by pegasis » Mon Jan 08, 2018 1:47 pm

whole disk

it is backup of master

pegasis
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 12:56 pm

Re: GPT partition on LM

Post by pegasis » Mon Jan 08, 2018 7:57 pm

I have clones the slave from the master now.

The master boots, and the slave has the same result: insert boot media

I am at a loss why slave will not boot

pegasis
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 12:56 pm

Re: GPT partition on LM

Post by pegasis » Fri Jan 12, 2018 1:20 pm

why is one HD working and the other one not??

how can I troubleshoot and fix this

lostfarmer
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 197
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 11:59 pm
Location: Idaho

Re: GPT partition on LM

Post by lostfarmer » Fri Jan 12, 2018 7:39 pm

Mon Jan 08, 2018 1:32 pm
did you read and try the commands to boot from a live usb/cd grub menu ?

pegasis
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 12:56 pm

Re: GPT partition on LM

Post by pegasis » Sat Apr 21, 2018 8:03 am

it is NOT letting me get to grub menu?

how?

I get a boot screen and then in loads LM from the USB
never get option for going to grub menu?

User avatar
Moem
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7027
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: GPT partition on LM

Post by Moem » Sat Apr 21, 2018 8:12 am

For many machines, pressing and holding SHIFT during the boot process will get them to GRUB. For a minority, the procedure consists of repeatedly pressing Escape.
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

pegasis
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 12:56 pm

Re: GPT partition on LM

Post by pegasis » Wed Apr 25, 2018 8:56 am

I can not seem to get to the grub menu/command

can you get there from the terminal

pegasis
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 12:56 pm

Re: GPT partition on LM

Post by pegasis » Thu Apr 26, 2018 6:45 am

is there a command to use to see the boot/grub, gpt partition?

see if it has been corrupted

Post Reply

Return to “Installation & Boot”