[SOLVED]: Problems with booting - AMD firmware issue.

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Treehaggis
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 5:58 pm

[SOLVED]: Problems with booting - AMD firmware issue.

Post by Treehaggis » Wed Dec 06, 2017 6:09 pm

Hi .. I'm posting here because it seems to be a connected issue .. however I am happy to move it elsewhere if necessary.

Just bought a brand new laptop.
I scrubbed Doze10 and put the latest Ubuntu LTS on ... worked fine for a bit the froze up.
Had to power down to reboot.
However then it wouldn't reboot but sat at the screens shown below.
This happened several times even after complete re-installs ... So I swapped to Linux Mint.
I have to say at first glance I'm really impressed by it and probably am a new convert .
However the same problem keeps re-occurring ...
New install .. works fine until maybe I'm opening a graphic or something in FBook then it freezes up.
power-down .. but then no reboot .. with the following displays.


SCREEN OUTPUT1:
Image
SCREEN OUTPUT2:
Image


So my two questions are
1. Is there anyway to get from screen output2 back into a running system, without having to power down.
2. Is there a permanent fix for this?

If not ..sadly ..its back to Doze10!

Please understand if you are going to answer ... I'm a lay-user, like a normal car driver .. I have no interest nor knowledge of whats under the bonnet (hood) ..
I want to get in turn the key and drive ...
so please answer in very a simple, explicit and detailed way.. if necessary with examples ... otherwise it will just go over my head. Thanks.



BELOW IS MY SPEC:

Code: Select all

System:    Host: Lapppy Kernel: 4.10.0-38-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
           Desktop: Cinnamon 3.6.6 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3) dm: lightdm Distro: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia
Machine:   System: LENOVO (portable) product: 80TD v: Lenovo V110-15AST
           Mobo: LENOVO model: Lenovo V110-15AST v: SDK0J40700 WIN
           Bios: Lenovo v: 1PCN60WW date: 07/03/2017
           Chassis: type: 10 v: Lenovo V110-15AST
CPU:       Dual core AMD A9-9410 RADEON R5 5 COMPUTE CORES 2C+3G (-MCP-) cache: 2048 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm) bmips: 11577
           clock speeds: min/max: 1400/2900 MHz 1: 2600 MHz 2: 2600 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Device 98e4 bus-ID: 00:01.0 chip-ID: 1002:98e4
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: ati,amdgpu (unloaded: fbdev,vesa,radeon)
           Resolution: 1366x768@60.00hz
           GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on AMD STONEY (DRM 3.9.0 / 4.10.0-38-generic, LLVM 4.0.0)
           GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 17.0.7 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Device 157a
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:09.2 chip-ID: 1022:157a
           Card-2 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Device 15b3
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:01.1 chip-ID: 1002:15b3
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.10.0-38-generic
Network:   Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: 1000 bus-ID: 01:00.0 chip-ID: 10ec:8168
           IF: enp1s0 state: down mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Qualcomm Atheros Device 0042 driver: ath10k_pci bus-ID: 02:00.0 chip-ID: 168c:0042
           IF: wlp2s0 state: up speed: N/A duplex: N/A mac: <filter>
           Card-3: Atheros usb-ID: 001-003 chip-ID: 0cf3:e500
           IF: null-if-id state: N/A speed: N/A duplex: N/A mac: N/A
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 1000.2GB (1.3% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: TOSHIBA_MQ01ABD1 size: 1000.2GB serial: 67BLS3X5S
Partition: ID-1: / size: 910G used: 5.6G (1%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 7.78GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda5
RAID:      System: supported: N/A
           No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
           Unused Devices: none
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 51.0C mobo: 37.0C gpu: 0.0
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Repos:     Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/official-package-repositories.list
           deb http: //packages.linuxmint.com sylvia main upstream import backport #id:linuxmint_main
           deb http: //archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu xenial main restricted universe multiverse
           deb http: //archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu xenial-updates main restricted universe multiverse
           deb http: //archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu xenial-backports main restricted universe multiverse
           deb http: //security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ xenial-security main restricted universe multiverse
           deb http: //archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ xenial partner
Info:      Processes: 195 Uptime: 43 min Memory: 1005.6/7280.4MB
           Init: systemd v: 229 runlevel: 5 default: 2 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
Client: Unknown python2.7 client inxi: 2.2.35
Last edited by Treehaggis on Fri Dec 08, 2017 8:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
karlchen
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9311
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 7:21 am
Location: Germany

Re: Solve boot problems with AMD graphics card

Post by karlchen » Wed Dec 06, 2017 6:19 pm

<moderator on>
Split from this thread, Solve boot problems with AMD and NVIDIA graphics cards, and turned into a dedicated thread
</moderator off>
Image
Linux Mint 18.1 64-bit Cinnamon Desktop, Total Commander 9.21a 64-bit
Ubuntu 18.04.1 32-bit Mate Desktop, Total Commander 9.21a 32-bit
Windows? - 1 window in every room

User avatar
thx-1138
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1138
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 12:15 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: Solve boot problems with AMD graphics card

Post by thx-1138 » Thu Dec 07, 2017 2:27 am

...Treehaggis, check / read here:
https://superuser.com/questions/1052023 ... le/1061225
+
https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2254677

Updating your BIOS firmware to the latest version first is highly recommended as well...

Edit: Just checked Lenovo's site, there is a newer firmware available, but there doesn't appear to be anything related in the changelog.

Can you execute the following in a terminal?

Code: Select all

lspci | grep "SMBus \ | IOMMU"

Treehaggis
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 5:58 pm

Re: Solve boot problems with AMD graphics card

Post by Treehaggis » Thu Dec 07, 2017 12:15 pm

Can you execute the following in a terminal?

Code: Select all

lspci | grep "SMBus \ | IOMMU"
If you mean copy and paste

Code: Select all

lspci | grep "SMBus \ | IOMMU"
into terminal and press Enter . Yes , but nothing happens.

User avatar
thx-1138
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1138
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 12:15 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: Solve boot problems with AMD graphics card

Post by thx-1138 » Thu Dec 07, 2017 2:11 pm

Yeap, that's 100% correct - but nothing got returned back?
That's weird - try lspci -nn maybe?
We need to find those addresses as shown / explained above, to then add them as boot parameters...

If lspci -nn still doesn't return anything, we will have to go through a few steps as described over at the superuser / ubuntuforums...i'll try to explain / make it as simple as i can:

1) Simplest method: Log into BIOS, and try disabling IOMMU altogether from within the configuration settings.
It should be something among those lines...and 99% this will 'solve' the random 'freeze' problems...

2) Alternatively to tweaking the BIOS, but always depending on whether using intel or amd, you can pass certain parameters to the bootloader (called grub under linux), to disable IOMMU from loading:
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/IOMMU_SWIO ... figuration
==============================
Now, how to change / pass extra boot parameters (there are other ways as well to do that, but let's keep it simple for now) - this is useful for any possible future reference:
1) Browse to /etc/default/grub, and right-click/open that file as administrator.
2) There is a line there that says:
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash"
Change it to:
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="extra-parameter-here quiet splash"
Save the file, and exit.
3) Open a terminal, and run:

Code: Select all

sudo update-grub
==============================

However, the bug is that your BIOS' firmware is 'just' missing IVRS table that IOMMU needs...so what the guy / guys in the links above did, instead of completely disabling IOMMU, is that they dug out those 'addresses', and afterwords passed them on as grub parameters. One of them, instead of digging such, says that he/she instead solved it by changing:
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="amd_iommu=fullflush iommu=pt quiet splash"
(then sudo update-grub obviously...).

PS: You might want to edit the thread's title to attract more attention (as this is a firmware bug, not graphics card related)...

deepakdeshp
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3770
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:00 am

Re: Solve boot problems with AMD graphics card

Post by deepakdeshp » Thu Dec 07, 2017 2:29 pm

IMO firmware bug would affect windows too.
Please run me test in grub to test memory and SMART to test your HDD.
Does Mint run well off a USB installer drive?
If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help, and keeps the forum clean.
I am using Mint 19 Cinnamon 64 bit with AMD A8/7410 processor . Memory 8GB

Treehaggis
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 5:58 pm

Re: Solve boot problems with AMD graphics card

Post by Treehaggis » Thu Dec 07, 2017 4:43 pm

Hi all
Thanks for the comments and advice. Working my way through them.

Firstly my BIOS menu has no reference to the IOMMU .. so unable to use a simple switch.
So I’ve opted for what looks like the easiest solution which is to edit the GRUB file as per the advice and example given.

Code: Select all

GRUB_DEFAULT=0
GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT=0
GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT_QUIET=true
GRUB_TIMEOUT=10
GRUB_DISTRIBUTOR=`lsb_release -i -s 2> /dev/null || echo Debian`
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="amd_iommu=fullflush iommu=pt quiet splash"
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX=""
and used 'sudo update-grub ' from the Terminal.
Rebooted and checked that the edit has remained , which it has ... so now we'll see tic toc tic toc ...

What I'll do Is post back here if it fails again or in a couple of days if its freeze free. Fingers crossed.
Salute

Treehaggis
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 5:58 pm

Re: Solve boot problems with AMD graphics card

Post by Treehaggis » Thu Dec 07, 2017 4:47 pm

thx-1138 wrote:Yeap, that's 100% correct - but nothing got returned back?
That's weird - try lspci -nn maybe?
Result of lspci -nn :

rockhaggis@Lappy ~ $ lspci -nn
00:00.0 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Device [1022:1576]
00:00.2 IOMMU [0806]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Device [1022:1577]
00:01.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Device [1002:98e4] (rev c1)
00:01.1 Audio device [0403]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Device [1002:15b3]
00:02.0 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Device [1022:157b]
00:02.3 PCI bridge [0604]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Device [1022:157c]
00:02.4 PCI bridge [0604]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Device [1022:157c]
00:03.0 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Device [1022:157b]
00:08.0 Encryption controller [1080]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Device [1022:1578]
00:09.0 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Device [1022:157d]
00:09.2 Audio device [0403]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Device [1022:157a]
00:10.0 USB controller [0c03]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH USB XHCI Controller [1022:7914] (rev 20)
00:11.0 SATA controller [0106]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH SATA Controller [AHCI mode] [1022:7901] (rev 4b)
00:12.0 USB controller [0c03]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH USB EHCI Controller [1022:7908] (rev 49)
00:14.0 SMBus [0c05]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH SMBus Controller [1022:790b] (rev 4b)
00:14.3 ISA bridge [0601]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH LPC Bridge [1022:790e] (rev 11)
00:18.0 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Device [1022:15b0]
00:18.1 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Device [1022:15b1]
00:18.2 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Device [1022:15b2]
00:18.3 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Device [1022:15b3]
00:18.4 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Device [1022:15b4]
00:18.5 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Device [1022:15b5]
01:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller [10ec:8168] (rev 15)
02:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Qualcomm Atheros Device [168c:0042] (rev 31)

User avatar
thx-1138
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1138
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 12:15 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: Solve boot problems with AMD graphics card

Post by thx-1138 » Thu Dec 07, 2017 5:20 pm

Excellent! Thanks for the lspci -nn output: based on the values returned there (00:00.2 IOMMU & 00:14.0 SMBus),
and the indexes displayed in your original print screen (IOAPIC[4] and IOAPIC[5]), if the problem still persists with amd_iommu=fullflush iommu=pt that the guy recommended, then try reconfiguring grub by setting it to either:
ivrs_ioapic[4]=00:14.0 ivrs_ioapic[5]=00:00.2
or
ivrs_ioapic[4]=00:00.2 ivrs_ioapic[5]=00:14.0
One of the 2 will have to do the trick / properly map them...

Treehaggis
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 5:58 pm

[SOLVED]: Problems with booting - AMD firmware issue.

Post by Treehaggis » Fri Dec 08, 2017 8:28 pm

Well two days of hard testing and stressing using many apps and functions.

System is running smooth, stable and fast.!!

Very impressed with Mint!

So the solution for me was to edit the GRUB as shown above.

One happy chappy..

Thanks all for you inputs.

oldgaffer
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 9:33 am

Re: [SOLVED]: Problems with booting - AMD firmware issue.

Post by oldgaffer » Tue Dec 12, 2017 10:25 am

HI All total newbe here. I have the same problem with my Lenovo ideapad 320. I have done the instructions as suggested by Treehaggis » Thu Dec 07, 2017 8:43 pm. It did help a little but the computer still freezes, just takes a bit longer.
The suggestion by thx-1138 » Thu Dec 07, 2017 9:20 pm says properly map them. How? do I have to sudo update-grub as well?

The touchpad does not work as well, but one problem at a time.

Assume I'm a complete idiot.
Thanks

User avatar
thx-1138
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1138
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 12:15 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: [SOLVED]: Problems with booting - AMD firmware issue.

Post by thx-1138 » Tue Dec 12, 2017 10:52 am

HI All total newbe here. I have the same problem with my Lenovo ideapad 320.
oldgaffer, you say you have Lenovo ideapad 320, while above we were dealing with a Lenovo V110-15AST:
so chances are it might be a wholly different problem & a different solution that's required to be found...

Start a separate thread so that people around can possibly guide you...

Post Reply

Return to “Installation & Boot”