install problem - jump to login screen

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Skeith
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 7:16 pm

install problem - jump to login screen

Postby Skeith » Tue May 19, 2009 7:39 pm

hi, i'm skeith
i am new on linux
i have tried ubuntu and pclos
now i want to try linux mint
however when i try to install it - at step 2 (choosing the time zone)
suddenly i was taken to the login screen.
what's wrong with it?
FYI
I choose the compatibility mode when booting
i am installing on a Sun VirtualBox with 256MB RAM and 8GB HDD
and using alcohol 120% to mount the ISO

vbox-linuxmint.JPG
the login screen
vbox-linuxmint.JPG (125.61 KiB) Viewed 515 times

User avatar
grimdestripador
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1057
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 2:26 am

Re: install problem - jump to login screen

Postby grimdestripador » Wed May 20, 2009 1:03 am

Seems like everything is done correctly.
Tell me, upon boot, have you ran md5sum on your /dev/cdrom or on the ISO itself.
Why do you mount with alcohol 120% when Virtual Box has the ability to mount CD roms straight from the ISO.
KDE might need a bit more than 256 megs ram, expecially since no SWAP is defined.

Skeith
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 7:16 pm

Re: install problem - jump to login screen

Postby Skeith » Wed May 20, 2009 1:53 am

grimdestripador wrote:Seems like everything is done correctly.
Tell me, upon boot, have you ran md5sum on your /dev/cdrom or on the ISO itself.
Why do you mount with alcohol 120% when Virtual Box has the ability to mount CD roms straight from the ISO.
KDE might need a bit more than 256 megs ram, expecially since no SWAP is defined.



uh oh
i did not do the md5sum - how do i do it?
i choose alcohol because whenever i try to use the virtualbox mounting ability
with the ISO file on hardisk, the display become weird - look like the display zoomed so that you can see pixels
but if i mount the ISO that is located on the DVD - it's a PC magazine DVD - the problem is the same like my earlier post
but with slower performance, since i only got basic dvd-rom

well my laptop RAM is 1024MB
on stand by over 250 are used
if i increase the RAM amount for Virtualbox, i will get a warning that virtual box cannot continue due to low memory

i'd love to replace my winXP with linux
but i'm still finding which linux fit my needs

User avatar
grimdestripador
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1057
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 2:26 am

Re: install problem - jump to login screen

Postby grimdestripador » Fri May 22, 2009 12:52 am

I'd go with the warning ignoring the warning, and setting it to 512 megs, and just make sure not to run benchmarks or 50 tabs of firefox sessions


Return to “Installation & Boot”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: deepakdeshp and 5 guests