[SOLVED] Installer skipping a step

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
CJG182
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2018 5:34 am

[SOLVED] Installer skipping a step

Post by CJG182 » Tue Feb 06, 2018 5:39 am

Hey everyone,

sorry for the rookie question. I'm giving linux a go for the first time, hoping to dual boot.
I've got it on a bootable USB and can access a live version fine. The issue is in the installer it's missing a step.
It goes:
1) Welcome (Language select)
2) Wireless
3) Preparing to install Linux Mint (third party software)
4) Installation type (looking for a partition? This table is blank.)

I believe from some research that between 3 & 4 it should be asking what type of install it will be (clean, alongside/dual, etc)?

Where abouts has this gone wrong?
Thanks!
Last edited by CJG182 on Thu Feb 08, 2018 4:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
michael louwe
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1728
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2016 11:18 pm

Re: Installer skipping a step

Post by michael louwe » Tue Feb 06, 2018 7:18 am

@ CJG182, .......
CJG182 wrote:...
.
Did you disable Fast Startup in Win 8.x/10, ie >Control Panel >Power options.?

You need to also disable Secure Boot, Fast Boot and CSM(or Legacy BIOS) in UEFI-BIOS setup.

User avatar
Pierre
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6138
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Re: Installer skipping a step

Post by Pierre » Tue Feb 06, 2018 8:02 am

that could be right - - it's not asking what type of install it will be (clean, alongside/dual, etc)
as the installer isn't seeing the actual HDD itself.

so do check what michael louwe said to do,
and while you are there, use the Windows Disk Management:
http://www.howto-connect.com/windows-10 ... anagement/
to create some vacant space, split from the C: drive, if you can.

then boot the LinuxMint Installer again, and use the 'something else ' option,
to point to that vacant space, and then set some partitions using the Installer,
or use Gparted via the Live Environment, to create those partitions,
and then use Next, to continue with the Installation.
Image
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.

CJG182
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2018 5:34 am

Re: Installer skipping a step

Post by CJG182 » Tue Feb 06, 2018 6:31 pm

Pierre wrote:that could be right - - it's not asking what type of install it will be (clean, alongside/dual, etc)
as the installer isn't seeing the actual HDD itself.

so do check what michael louwe said to do,
and while you are there, use the Windows Disk Management:
http://www.howto-connect.com/windows-10 ... anagement/
to create some vacant space, split from the C: drive, if you can.

then boot the LinuxMint Installer again, and use the 'something else ' option,
to point to that vacant space, and then set some partitions using the Installer,
or use Gparted via the Live Environment, to create those partitions,
and then use Next, to continue with the Installation.
So I've disabled Fast Startup in both the control panel and the BIOS menus.
Also in the BIOS menus I've got:
Secure Boot [Disabled]
Boot Mode [UEFI]
USB Boot [Enabled]

I ran through some processes to free up disk space and have a bit over 20GB (seems small) but it should still recognise that, right?
I've just tried again with the same results.

DAMIEN1307
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 362
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 8:13 pm

Re: Installer skipping a step

Post by DAMIEN1307 » Tue Feb 06, 2018 6:46 pm

forgive me if im incorrect here but shouldnt boot mode be reset from UEFI to legacy mode?...DAMIEN

User avatar
Pierre
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6138
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Re: Installer skipping a step

Post by Pierre » Tue Feb 06, 2018 9:31 pm

that's probably right - - boot mode should be Boot Mode Legacy and not Boot Mode [UEFI]
Image
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.

CJG182
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2018 5:34 am

Re: Installer skipping a step

Post by CJG182 » Tue Feb 06, 2018 9:57 pm

Boot mode changed to Boot Mode Legacy and the result is the same - not drive found except for the USB.

User avatar
michael louwe
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1728
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2016 11:18 pm

Re: Installer skipping a step

Post by michael louwe » Wed Feb 07, 2018 1:14 am

@ CJG182, .......
CJG182 wrote:...
.
What is the brand, model and specifications of your computer.? Or post the Terminal output of inxi -Fxz and sudo parted -l

User avatar
Pierre
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6138
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Re: Installer skipping a step

Post by Pierre » Wed Feb 07, 2018 1:15 am

does the BIOS show the HDD :?: as in,, it does recognize the drive :?:
Image
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.

CJG182
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2018 5:34 am

Re: Installer skipping a step

Post by CJG182 » Wed Feb 07, 2018 8:09 pm

michael louwe wrote:
Wed Feb 07, 2018 1:14 am
@ CJG182, .......
CJG182 wrote:...
.
What is the brand, model and specifications of your computer.? Or post the Terminal output of inxi -Fxz and sudo parted -l
mint@mint ~ $ inxi -Fxz
System: Host: mint Kernel: 4.10.0-38-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
Desktop: Cinnamon 3.6.6 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3)
Distro: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia
Machine: System: LENOVO product: 80VF v: Lenovo YOGA 910-13IKB
Mobo: LENOVO model: Agera v: SDK0J40709 WIN
Bios: LENOVO v: 2JCN39WW date: 05/31/2017
CPU: Dual core Intel Core i5-7200U (-HT-MCP-) cache: 3072 KB
flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 10848
clock speeds: max: 3100 MHz 1: 600 MHz 2: 658 MHz 3: 599 MHz
4: 600 MHz
Graphics: Card: Intel Device 5916 bus-ID: 00:02.0
Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
Resolution: 1920x1080@60.05hz
GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel HD Graphics 620 (Kabylake GT2)
GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 17.0.7 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio: Card Intel Device 9d71 driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1f.3
Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.10.0-38-generic
Network: Card-1: Qualcomm Atheros QCA6174 802.11ac Wireless Network Adapter
driver: ath10k_pci bus-ID: 01:00.0
IF: wlp1s0 state: up mac: <filter>
Card-2: Atheros usb-ID: 001-005
IF: null-if-id state: N/A speed: N/A duplex: N/A mac: N/A
Drives: HDD Total Size: 15.9GB (11.9% used)
ID-1: USB /dev/sda model: Flash_Disk size: 15.9GB temp: 0C
RAID: No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors: System Temperatures: cpu: 40.5C mobo: 29.8C
Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info: Processes: 221 Uptime: 3 min Memory: 821.1/7724.0MB
Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
Client: Shell (bash 4.3.481) inxi: 2.2.35


mint@mint ~ $ sudo parted -l
Model: Generic Flash Disk (scsi)
Disk /dev/sda: 15.9GB
Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
Partition Table: msdos
Disk Flags:

Number Start End Size Type File system Flags
1 1049kB 15.9GB 15.9GB primary fat32 boot, lba

User avatar
michael louwe
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1728
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2016 11:18 pm

Re: Installer skipping a step

Post by michael louwe » Thu Feb 08, 2018 1:26 am

@ CJG182, .......
CJG182 wrote:.Lenovo YOGA 910-13IKB..
.
Your high-end laptop very likely has Win 10 preinstalled in RAID disk mode using the proprietary Intel RST driver = Linux cannot detect the hard-disk/drive or be installed. ... https://triplescomputers.com/blog/uncat ... operation/ (SOLUTION: Switch Windows 10 from RAID/IDE to AHCI operation)
https://www.dell.com/community/Sputnik/ ... -p/4683278

https://forums.lenovo.com/t5/Linux-Disc ... -p/3339206 (Yoga 900-13ISK2 - BIOS update for setting RAID mode for missing hard drive on linux install)
https://forums.lenovo.com/t5/Lenovo-Yog ... -p/3466850 (Yoga 900 and Ideapad 710S: Linux Only BIOS)

When the Lenovo Yoga 900-13ISK was first put on sale at end 2016, Win 10 was preinstalled in RAID disk mode and the UEFI-BIOS setting for the hard-disk was stuck at RAID disk mode, ie could not be changed to AHCI/SATA disk mode = Linux could not be installed at all. After some public outcry, Lenovo issued a BIOS firmware update to allow the AHCI option in Feb 2017. Later Lenovo models have the AHCI option.

The 1st link above allows you to install LM alongside the preinstalled Win 10 in AHCI mode, without the need to reinstall Win 10 in AHCI mode. Otherwise, LM will be installed in AHCI mode while Win 10 remains preinstalled in RAID mode = have to go into UEFI-BIOS setup to boot either OS, ie by selecting AHCI or RAID disk mode.

CJG182
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2018 5:34 am

Re: Installer skipping a step

Post by CJG182 » Thu Feb 08, 2018 4:20 am

michael louwe wrote:
Thu Feb 08, 2018 1:26 am
@ CJG182, .......
CJG182 wrote:.Lenovo YOGA 910-13IKB..
.
Your high-end laptop very likely has Win 10 preinstalled in RAID disk mode using the proprietary Intel RST driver = Linux cannot detect the hard-disk/drive or be installed. ... https://triplescomputers.com/blog/uncat ... operation/ (SOLUTION: Switch Windows 10 from RAID/IDE to AHCI operation)
https://www.dell.com/community/Sputnik/ ... -p/4683278

https://forums.lenovo.com/t5/Linux-Disc ... -p/3339206 (Yoga 900-13ISK2 - BIOS update for setting RAID mode for missing hard drive on linux install)
https://forums.lenovo.com/t5/Lenovo-Yog ... -p/3466850 (Yoga 900 and Ideapad 710S: Linux Only BIOS)

When the Lenovo Yoga 900-13ISK was first put on sale at end 2016, Win 10 was preinstalled in RAID disk mode and the UEFI-BIOS setting for the hard-disk was stuck at RAID disk mode, ie could not be changed to AHCI/SATA disk mode = Linux could not be installed at all. After some public outcry, Lenovo issued a BIOS firmware update to allow the AHCI option in Feb 2017. Later Lenovo models have the AHCI option.

The 1st link above allows you to install LM alongside the preinstalled Win 10 in AHCI mode, without the need to reinstall Win 10 in AHCI mode. Otherwise, LM will be installed in AHCI mode while Win 10 remains preinstalled in RAID mode = have to go into UEFI-BIOS setup to boot either OS, ie by selecting AHCI or RAID disk mode.
Thank you very much! That has done the trick.

Post Reply

Return to “Installation & Boot”