Installing Mint 18.3 on separate internal hard drive

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Flying Walrus

Installing Mint 18.3 on separate internal hard drive

Post by Flying Walrus »

First of all I'm new to linux, so i may not know something basic. But basically what I have is a computer with an ssd with windows installed, a 2Tb hard drive with files for windows/general programs, and a 500Gb hard drive that was empty and wanted to install Mint on. My goal is to have windows on the ssd and 2Tb hard drive and it boot by default, but when i wanted to use Mint i would go to the bios and change the boot order to boot linux instead of windows. This is so i dont have to go through a boot chooser every time I boot as i wont use Mint that often. I expected this to work similarly to having Mint installed on an external hard drive or USB as i have read about people doing frequently.