This may be a show stopper....

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
richyrich
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9054
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: This may be a show stopper....

Post by richyrich »

I wish you could post this on ATI's site, in fact, I wish that everyone who has been blatantly shunned by ATI, call, email, etc. etc. until AMD/ATI have to take notice!

I've been watching the mint & *buntu forums, and you are not alone . . :cry:

my sympathies to you all . . you don't know what you are missing in Mint 7 :D

regards, Richard, and good luck, who knows, maybe they WILL take notice . . .
Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18677
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: This may be a show stopper....

Post by Husse »

Yes ATI has made a very bad decision to support only the newest cards with the Catalyst driver and leave the rest to some legacy driver
I have to bring this sad news a lot now
And note that this is not only for Linux but for Windows too
Sales too low?
If they think this will get people to buy a new card I think they are mistaken
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
User avatar
markcynt
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1115
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 10:53 am
Location: Lakeland Florida

Re: This may be a show stopper....

Post by markcynt »

Husse wrote:Yes ATI has made a very bad decision to support only the newest cards with the Catalyst driver and leave the rest to some legacy driver
I have to bring this sad news a lot now
And note that this is not only for Linux but for Windows too
Sales too low?
If they think this will get people to buy a new card I think they are mistaken
I've never had an ATI chip but with all of the stuff like this I've been reading on this forum and another that I visit, ATI won't be permitted anywhere near my machine.
Image
P5N-E SLI, Core2Duo E6850 3GHZ X 2
2 GB DDR2 800MHZ
EVGA 8800GTS 320MB
2x320GB Hitachi
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
User avatar
markcynt
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1115
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 10:53 am
Location: Lakeland Florida

Re: This may be a show stopper....

Post by markcynt »

I've never had an ATI chip but with all of the stuff like this I've been reading on this forum and another that I visit, ATI won't be permitted anywhere near my machine.
On the flip side of this, most of what I read about nVidia and their Linux support is positive, sometimes glowing.
Image
P5N-E SLI, Core2Duo E6850 3GHZ X 2
2 GB DDR2 800MHZ
EVGA 8800GTS 320MB
2x320GB Hitachi
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
kei84
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 8:54 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: This may be a show stopper....

Post by kei84 »

Hyperdrive,

I have a Sharp notebook with ATI Xpress 1100, which I believe is the same as yours.

Did you try to make a fresh install of Gloria instead of upgrading from Felicia? Cause I did a fresh install of Gloria and its workings really great. In fact, it`s working even better than Felicia.
emorrp1
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2158
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 8:58 pm

Re: This may be a show stopper....

Post by emorrp1 »

Well, I'm using the open-source driver for my X1600 (the R500 series) in Gloria, and for the first time dual-screen works! The original rant should be directed directly at ATI, they do support X.org 7.4, but only for the newer cards, which is ridiculous. Also, a messed up X is another very likely outcome of a not recommended "upgrade" path, It's **always** better to fresh install wherever possible. I noticed in your other thread, you ended up re-installing anyway, you could probably have fresh installed gloria and had no problems with the opensource driver, but as always, there's nothing to force you to upgrade. If you're happy with felicia, it'll be supported until this time next year, at which point the next LTS will have been released, and there'll have been another year of driver development since ATI released the full hardware specs, so it should be a much more stable system.
If you have a question that has been answered and solved, then please edit your original post and put a [SOLVED] at the end of your subject header
Hint - use a google search including the search term site:forums.linuxmint.com
kei84
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 8:54 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: This may be a show stopper....

Post by kei84 »

Hey hypedrive,

lspci shows ATI Technologies Inc RS480 in my notebook.

I was using Felicia and made a fresh install of Gloria here. I never liked to make direct upgrade.
Everything was detected by default: ATI, wireless, sound,...
I didn`t have to touch anything. I suggest you do try a fresh install too cause it doesn`t make much sense that Gloria works in my machine and not in yours.

The only issue I have is with Brasero. I can burn CD/DVD but I can`t copy them. I think its a bug of Brasero with Gloria.
I had a trouble with sound in Skype as well but I solved it by installing skype-static. Now webcam and mic works fine in Skype.

I`m curious with your case. Please, let me know if you try a fresh install.
kei84
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 8:54 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: This may be a show stopper....

Post by kei84 »

Hyperdrive,

as I said I didn`t have to touch anything. Everything worked by defaut. I use the opensource video driver. I didn`t have to install anything.

I`m using compiz with cube effect and everything just fine. The sound is fine too.

Most part of the day I let it suspended and have no problem.

As I said I have no complains about Gloria.

I`m really curious now. I believe a fresh install will solve all the problems for you.
kei84
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 8:54 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: This may be a show stopper....

Post by kei84 »

I saw those links that you posted Hyperdrive.

I can`t tell you if this lag is present in my system because I don`t use my notebook for gaming. For this I use my PS3.

But it seems that many people are having issue with 3d gaming performance.

The only reason I upgraded to Felicia was because of some problems with Inkscape, GIMP and SCIM imput I was having.

If Felicia is working fine in your system, I don`t see why you should upgrade. We all know that Linux can be sentimental and work fine in a system and have some annoying bugs in another.

If you make an upgrade, please let me know.
emorrp1
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2158
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 8:58 pm

Re: This may be a show stopper....

Post by emorrp1 »

note that the first of the "confirmations" is really old, the opensource driver has come a long way since AMD released the hardware specs for better development. Granted it still has a long way to go, but now that AMD have dropped support for these cards, I suspect they'll be high up on the priority, so I expect much better drivers for mint 8.
If you have a question that has been answered and solved, then please edit your original post and put a [SOLVED] at the end of your subject header
Hint - use a google search including the search term site:forums.linuxmint.com
emorrp1
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2158
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 8:58 pm

Re: This may be a show stopper....

Post by emorrp1 »

Given all the work being done on boot time optimisation, it seems a bit old-fashioned to hibernate. My laptop (ext4 gloria) boots to login in 19 seconds (add maybe 5 seconds to usable desktop), and I believe canonical are targetting sub-10 seconds for karmic. When it's that fast, you may as well just shut down properly in my opinion, I can't really see any reason to hibernate (Except of course if your system takes longer to boot).
If you have a question that has been answered and solved, then please edit your original post and put a [SOLVED] at the end of your subject header
Hint - use a google search including the search term site:forums.linuxmint.com
kei84
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 8:54 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: This may be a show stopper....

Post by kei84 »

I keep my notebook suspended/hybernating most part of the day.

I only shutdown when I`m not gonna use it for hours like in the end of the day. I let on my desk at work and when I have to do something else I just suspend it.

Hyperdrive, I`try the game you suggested to solve my curiosity. I`ll try this weekend and then I`ll post the results here.
User avatar
Fred
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3337
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 11:59 am
Location: NC USA

Re: This may be a show stopper....

Post by Fred »

hyperdrive,

I can agree that hibernate can be useful, but it really does loose most of its' advantages if the boot time decreases. My Debian sid notebook will boot to the desktop faster than I can resume it from hibernate. Not by much, but still faster.

You can also set your desktop options to boot to the same state it was in when it was shut down , applications, web sites and all. As far as data integrity, you can set your power saving program to auto shutdown at a given percent of battery remaining just as easy as you can set it to hibernate.

I suspect hibernate will become obsolete in the next year or so as almost instant-on set-ups become the norm. Hibernate will then offer no advantages, that I can see.

Fred
Insanity: Doing the same thing over and over and each time expecting a different result.

Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on the menu. Liberty is an armed lamb protesting the electoral outcome. A Republic negates the need for an armed protest.
User avatar
Zwopper
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3078
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:20 pm
Location: Deep in the Swedish woods
Contact:

Re: This may be a show stopper....

Post by Zwopper »

Fred,
I use hibernate when I'm working on big image projects
and have trouble making up my mind on which edits are valid and which are not.
Any edits I've made to a file is still there, AND most importantly for me,
all the edits I've made can still be reverted by the good ol' Ctrl Z,
if I change my mind about some of the edits I've made.
Image
My artwork at deviantART | My Band - Electric Alchemea
CREA DIEM!

Lenovo U330P | i5 | 16GB | 128GB - SSD | Elemantary OS 0.4
User avatar
Zwopper
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3078
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:20 pm
Location: Deep in the Swedish woods
Contact:

Re: This may be a show stopper....

Post by Zwopper »

hyperdrive wrote: That was basically the point I was trying to make, Zwopper... but you articulated it better, thank you. :)
Thank YOU! :)
Image
My artwork at deviantART | My Band - Electric Alchemea
CREA DIEM!

Lenovo U330P | i5 | 16GB | 128GB - SSD | Elemantary OS 0.4
kei84
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 8:54 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: This may be a show stopper....

Post by kei84 »

Hyperdrive,

I installed OpenArena and played with it to see how my opensource 3D graphic driver would behave.

I played for a couple of hours (I`m not a real fan of fps game).

The performance was really good. I didn`t had any lags or problem at all. After reading post at the links you posted I was expecting bad things but it wasn`t what I saw.

Maybe you could try a fresh install of Gloria. At least in my system I have no complains.

3D graphic driver, Games (at least OpenArena you suggested and gnome games), Wireless, Sound, Suspend/Hybernate, Mic, everything is working great.
Post Reply

Return to “Installation & Boot”