Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
loonyphoenix
Level 1
Level 1

LiveUSB Persistent

Post by loonyphoenix »

Hello everybody, I'm new here, and I'm relatively new to Linux overall, so please be lenient if I sound stupid. :)

I've tried a lot of methods to create a persistent LiveUSB of Linux Mint 7 Main, but all of them failed in one way or another.

The methods I tried included:
The Portable Linux USB live Linux creator, which failed at the first stage with an error;
This guide to do everything manually; the result was a system which seemed to almost load, but stopped with a commad-line interface with something like initram-fs written at the promt;
Ubuntu's usb-creator, but it apparently only works on pure Ubuntu distributions, because, though it did create a bootable liveusb drive from the Linux Mint 7 image, it failed to make it persistent.

So, anybody has any tips on how to make it work?

Also, what would happen if I just installed Linux Mint on the USB drive? Would it be safe for my current system? For the USB stick? Would it work on other computers, or only on the one I installed it on? If yes, would it be faster or slower than the traditional LiveUSB? And if not, would I be able to make a full install portable, i.e., detect drivers at start-up and use them and such? Preferrably with the option to use installed proprietory drivers? That would be my dream come true, a fully-functional system which I would be able to carry around in my pocket :)

Thanks in advance,
LoonyPhoenix

loonyphoenix
Level 1
Level 1

Re: LiveUSB Persistent

Post by loonyphoenix »

PS: I'll try this solution, as well. It just might work!

jorx
Level 1
Level 1

Post by jorx »

It looks promising- but I get a

Disk Error
Press any key to restart

loonyphoenix
Level 1
Level 1

Post by loonyphoenix »