Linux Mint stays the same "test" version after installation and won't boot without a USB stick

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
elsolse_8
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint stays the same "test" version after installation and won't boot without a USB stick

Post by elsolse_8 » Tue Apr 24, 2018 2:05 pm

Greetings to all! I'm very new to Linux so please bear with me. I have searched the forums but haven't found a problem / resolution that seems to fit my exact circumstances. I would greatly appreciate it if anyone could give me some direction.

I downloaded Linux Mint 18.3 with Cinnamon and created a bootable USB drive.

I booted from the USB drive and double clicked 'Install Linux Mint' on the Desktop.

During installation I chose to install Linux Mint alongside with Windows 10 on my laptop.

Installation completed and I was prompted to restart my computer.

I restarted, leaving my USB drive plugged in, and here the problems flood in.

First, my laptop just went straight to Windows 10 without a boot menu;

So I restarted the laptop and then tried to press f12 to enter Linux Mint 18.3 and the Desktop came up just as before.

I shutdown my laptop, unplugged my USB drive, then started my laptop and again it just went straight to Windows 10.

I plugged my USB drive back in and restarted the computer and still no boot menu so I had to enter Linux Mint by pressing f12 just like the installation process. And I tried this many times, every time Linux Mint comes up but it's always the 'test' version... any files I create are deleted when I restart my computer.

Any idea how I can get my installation of Linux Mint to boot up properly without the need for the USB drive and the ISO image?

Thanks

elsolse

JoeFootball
Level 6
Level 6

Re: Linux Mint stays the same "test" version after installation and won't boot without a USB stick

Post by JoeFootball » Tue Apr 24, 2018 3:08 pm