[working]how do I install to probook 640?

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
yonnie
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 12:18 am

[working]how do I install to probook 640?

Post by yonnie » Tue May 22, 2018 3:51 pm

I bought a reconditioned HP Probook 640, sure looks nice. It boots very easy to Cinnamon 18.3, the installation goes pretty fast. It starts with a warning about legacy bios or uefi and recommended uefi. I chose uefi. When it came time to reboot, the computer requests I install a bootable OS. I've gone into the bios and have changed many options with the legacy bios uefi with cms and uefi without cms, and am getting nowhere. I have reinstalled the 18.3 with changing the options in bios each time. Nothing works.

Has anyone gone through this before?
Last edited by yonnie on Sun May 27, 2018 11:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
We are children of children and do as we are shown.
-James Curran

User avatar
MintBean
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2966
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 6:54 am
Location: Blighty

Re: how do I install to probook 640?

Post by MintBean » Tue May 22, 2018 4:18 pm

I would try UEFI without CMS. Disable secure boot if it's an option.

User avatar
yonnie
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 12:18 am

Re: how do I install to probook 640?

Post by yonnie » Tue May 22, 2018 6:51 pm

I keep getting no bootable image found, notebook will be shutdown
We are children of children and do as we are shown.
-James Curran

User avatar
yonnie
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 12:18 am

Re: how do I install to probook 640?

Post by yonnie » Tue May 22, 2018 6:59 pm

Checked on the above as suggested, re-installed after it didn't boot. still get the same message.

on the hard drive there is an sda2 size 512mb with an efi folder. It is empty, should it be? there is also a grub folder, it has a folder named x86_64-efi with content in it.

Could this be a messed-up live usb problem?
We are children of children and do as we are shown.
-James Curran

User avatar
yonnie
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 12:18 am

Re: how do I install to probook 640?

Post by yonnie » Tue May 22, 2018 11:56 pm

Keeping the settings in bios the same, I remade the usb stick. Same problem with booting after doing a full re-install. So then i tried a different usb stick using a fedora distro. Full install, worked after booting! So then I downloaded the current xfce version. It won't boot either.

Something is wrong with the installer on cinnamon and xfce, 18.3
We are children of children and do as we are shown.
-James Curran

User avatar
yonnie
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 12:18 am

Re: how do I install to probook 640?

Post by yonnie » Sun May 27, 2018 11:11 pm

No joy with the uefi using the 64bit 18.3 any of them. After many hours of re-install trying different combinations I got the grub and legacy bios to work with an 18.3 xfce. Looks nice
We are children of children and do as we are shown.
-James Curran

Post Reply

Return to “Installation & Boot”