Hardware AND install combination question

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
b_hayles

Hardware AND install combination question

Post by b_hayles »

Total newbie here...Be gentle!

I just installed Mint Cinnamon 18.3 five days ago and so far am happy, but...

I put the cart before the horse. Let me explain:

I have an older system (built Nov 2011) that has what WAS top shelf hardware, but its getting old. Motherboard is an ASUS Sabretooth 990FX. cpu is an AMD FX6100. I have 2x 8GB DDR3 RAM. I cheaped out on the video card(s) and put 2 NVIDIA GeForce 620'a in the box. I have two 1TB hard drives with almost 2000 days on them. I know its older but I'm planning to rebuild in the next 30-60 days with new cpu (AMD FX 8350 ) and 2x WD Black 2TB HDDs. New video card(s) will have to wait. RAM will probably stay the same.

I should have done the upgrade first, but I didn't, and now I'm wondering about getting my surrent OSs to the new system. I have a dual boot system with Win7 on C: and about half of D: and Mint on a 250GB partition of D:.

I have the capability to do a full bare metal backup of my entire Windows system, OS, Programs, and data via Cloudberry Labs Backup Pro. The problem is space. I don't have room to backup even my data, much less Win OS and programs.

After upgrading, how do I wind up with a dual boot system with one drive being everything I had on the whole computer before Mint and the other drive being nothing but Mint?
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
VUMeter
Level 1
Level 1

Re: Hardware AND install combination question

Post by VUMeter »

Seagate and WesternDigital 7200rpm 3.5" SATA HDDs are not that expensive.