Newbie here. Can't log into Linux after careless use of "chown" commnand

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
jomama
Level 1
Level 1

Newbie here. Can't log into Linux after careless use of "chown" commnand

Post by jomama »

Hi, I am very new to Linux. I'm a lifelong Windows user, but a few weeks ago I decided a to give Linux a try. I installed Linux Mint 18.3 in a dual-boot setup next to my Windows 10 system. The installation went flawlessly, and since then I am absolutely loving the Linux experience. I almost never go to Windows anymore. Then tonight I did something really stupid.

I was creating a folder in root that I was going to use as a mount point for an external drive. I went to check the newly-created folder permissions with chown -R user:user /filename but I forget the filename. I heard a lot of disk activity. Then, instead of staying in Linux and making sure that I hadn't messed anything up, I made an even worse mistake: I rebooted. Yup!

Now I can't get back into Linux. When I reboot the machine, I get into Linux, I see the Linux Mint logo but the password screen never comes. Instead, I have a blinking cursor at the top-left corner of the screen. I tried to boot into recovery but I don't know enough to navigate through the recovery boot menu. Please, some help would be truly appreciated. Thank you.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
WharfRat

Re: Newbie here. Can't log into Linux after careless use of "chown" commnand

Post by WharfRat »

Hello jomama

Welcome to Linux Mint and the Linux Mint forum :)

If you did what I think you did, you made the ultimate neophyte mistake.

In the recovery mode console enter ls -lh /