<SOLVED> Mint 18.3 not booting after successful installation on Ideapad 100-15IBD

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Ninja_Nick

<SOLVED> Mint 18.3 not booting after successful installation on Ideapad 100-15IBD

Post by Ninja_Nick »

Good day all

I've been having a bit of trouble with my instillation of Linux Mint 18.3 64-bit on my 2016 Lenovo Ideapad 100-15IBD.
It has an i5 duel core Intel 5200U 2.20 GHz with 4GB RAM.

I previously had Windows 10 on it but I am attempting to switch over to Linux completely so I erased win10 on installation. (PS. I am a newbie first time Linux user)

I created a bootable USB with Mint 18.3 MATE which ran perfectly. Tested that all the hardware was working, terminal, etc. All seemed good to go. Continued on to the instillation and after it had successfully completed it asked to reboot, as expected.

After the reboot a window appeared saying "ubuntu" and "[ok]".
Thereafter it says "Checking media" and gives another window saying "EFI Network 0 for IPv4 (C8-5B-76-0C-25-0F)".

I am able to access the GNU GRUB 2.02 screen if I hit Esc.
If I insert the USB again I can access a boot menu with the options:
- ubuntu (ST1000LM024 HN-M101MMB) which just goes back to the "ubuntu [ok]" screeen.
- EFI PXE Network which gives the Network 0 error
- EFI USB device which allows me to run Mint from USB again, compatibility mode, OEM or to check the integrity of the media

I have also tried to boot it from a DVD and also tried the Cinnamon Desktop to cover my bases but all have the same effect. And yes I have checked the sha256sum.
I have even tried to install it along side the already installed version but not difference there either. By the looks of it, it is installed, I just cant seem to access it.

Any ideas or thoughts on what the issue is or what I could try next. Thanks in advance! :)