Page 1 of 1

Why isn't my Backup Partition being mounted? [Solved]

Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2018 1:46 am
by AZgl1500
I just noticed that my Backup Partition is not being mounted.

Sometimes, it appears on the Desktop, or it did earlier today, but not now.

Tried to run Timeshift and the /Backup partition is not available.
Timeshift did a scheduled backup just 7 hours ago :|


Image

Re: Why isn't my Backup Partition being mounted?

Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2018 2:00 am
by Kilz
Did you mount it in /etc/fstab? It might be a good idea that way its automatically mounted when you start the computer.

Re: Why isn't my Backup Partition being mounted?

Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2018 8:30 am
by AZgl1500
Kilz wrote:
Tue Jun 05, 2018 2:00 am
Did you mount it in /etc/fstab? It might be a good idea that way its automatically mounted when you start the computer.
no, I did not, and don't know how to do that

this is what fstab looks like

Code: Select all

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# Use 'blkid' to print the universally unique identifier for a
# device; this may be used with UUID= as a more robust way to name devices
# that works even if disks are added and removed. See fstab(5).
#
# <file system> <mount point>   <type>  <options>       <dump>  <pass>
# / was on /dev/sda1 during installation
UUID=a3c21aa6-a37c-456a-8e2c-73ea34b456df /               ext4     noatime,errors=remount-ro 0       1
# swap was on /dev/sda5 during installation
UUID=eac83fbc-366b-49ca-a7f7-151211c9c618 none            swap    sw              0       0

This is the info for /backup


Image

Re: Why isn't my Backup Partition being mounted?

Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2018 8:45 am
by AZgl1500
.
I just changed it to read as below, am rebooting to see if that fixes it.
have no clue to what I am doing, but I do have a backup fstab

Code: Select all

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# Use 'blkid' to print the universally unique identifier for a
# device; this may be used with UUID= as a more robust way to name devices
# that works even if disks are added and removed. See fstab(5).
#
# <file system> <mount point>   <type>  <options>       <dump>  <pass>
# / was on /dev/sda1 during installation
UUID=a3c21aa6-a37c-456a-8e2c-73ea34b456df /               ext4     noatime,errors=remount-ro 0       1
# swap was on /dev/sda5 during installation
UUID=eac83fbc-366b-49ca-a7f7-151211c9c618 none            swap    sw              0       0
# this is me trying to make /backup work
UUID=bb376658-a8ec-4f8d-9ee6-1f0defd65a8f /dev/sda3       ext4    errors=remount-ro 0       1

Re: Why isn't my Backup Partition being mounted?

Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2018 9:07 am
by AZgl1500
good thing I have 2 backup laptops, this laptop #3 :roll:

that did not work, got a boot error and asking me to do something about 'journal"

how do I handle editing the extra line out of fstab so I can get it going again,
not familiar with the Terminal down this deep...


Image

Re: Why isn't my Backup Partition being mounted?

Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2018 9:15 am
by Pierre
you can't copy the fstab - backup - over the top ?
or:
- Menu - - Accessories - Text Editor - - then open & edit that fstab file.
NB: you will have to open as /root aka administrator, in order to Save the file, though.

Re: Why isn't my Backup Partition being mounted?

Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2018 9:17 am
by AZgl1500
I just edited the previous post,

this is where the Dell laptop is waiting for me to do something.


Image

I don't know the steps to take now, to fix this.

Re: Why isn't my Backup Partition being mounted?

Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2018 9:25 am
by Pierre
yep - - if you do press Ctrl-D to continue:
- that should then bring up a menu, where you should be able to select an option,
generally, you would select the 1st option - which then should continue a Normal Boot . . .

see if it does that . . .

Re: Why isn't my Backup Partition being mounted?

Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2018 10:03 am
by Kilz
I should have said to wait if you did not have knowledge of mounting with fstab.. The line you added is wrong and needs to be edited. Boot with a live dvd/usb. Open the file manager by clicking on Home on the desktop. Mount the drive by clicking on it in the left panel. Leave it mounted.
Open a terminal, depending on which desktop the live dvd/usb has type the command after the - :
Cinnamon - sudo nemo
Xfce - sudo thunar
Mate - sudo caja
Then hit enter, this will open up a file manager as root.

When the file manager opens as root (you dont need a password in the live dvds/usb session) click on the mounted drive, it will be the uuid of the drive. You cant mount the drive in the root file manager thats why you left it mounted.
Create a folder to mount the partition in the mounted file system with no spaces in the name. I normally make them in /mnt. For example /mnt/drive1, it really doesnt matter where or the name, but remember its location for when you edit the fstab.
Navigate to the /etc/fstab in the mounted drive in the root file manager. double click on it to open it. Edit the line you added to read:
UUID=bb376658-a8ec-4f8d-9ee6-1f0defd65a8f /path/to/the/folder/you/made/before ext4 defaults 0 0
Save the file, reboot. The partition should now be mounted in that folder.

Re: Why isn't my Backup Partition being mounted?

Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2018 12:20 pm
by AZgl1500
Open a terminal, depending on which desktop the live dvd/usb has type the command after the - :
Cinnamon - sudo nemo
Then hit enter, this will open up a file manager as root.

Done:


When the file manager opens as root (you dont need a password in the live dvds/usb session) click on the mounted drive, it will be the uuid of the drive. You cant mount the drive in the root file manager thats why you left it mounted.

Nope, that just opens the drive, it does not provide the UUID

Create a folder to mount the partition in the mounted file system with no spaces in the name. I normally make them in /mnt. For example /mnt/drive1, it really doesnt matter where or the name, but remember its location for when you edit the fstab.

Create the folder /mnt in the Backup Drive's partition? that don't make sense, how can the OS know where to find it?


Navigate to the /etc/fstab in the mounted drive in the root file manager.

Nope: when clicking on the /mnt folder, there isn't any /etc/fstab located in it, just a blank folder.
I can't seem to get to the actual HDD's file system for some reason so that I can edit the fstab file.
So, the following is not able to be done.


the file system that I am seeing in LiveSession is the 'aufs' system for the LiveSession itself.

double click on it to open it. Edit the line you added to read:
UUID=bb376658-a8ec-4f8d-9ee6-1f0defd65a8f /path/to/the/folder/you/made/before ext4 defaults 0 0
Save the file, reboot. The partition should now be mounted in that folder.
[/quote]

Re: Why isn't my Backup Partition being mounted?

Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2018 12:38 pm
by Flemur
AZgl1500 wrote:
Tue Jun 05, 2018 8:45 am
I just changed it to read as below, am rebooting to see if that fixes it.
You can also do

Code: Select all

sudo mount -a 
to check fstab mount instructions w/o rebooting.

Code: Select all

# this is me trying to make /backup work
UUID=bb376658-a8ec-4f8d-9ee6-1f0defd65a8f /dev/sda3       ext4    errors=remount-ro 0       1
Per your picture, the disk is labeled "Backup", and labels are much nicer than UUIDs.

This is my "data" line from fstab:

Code: Select all

LABEL=DATA  /mnt/DATA  ext4 defaults,noatime 0 0
So I'd do yours like this:

Code: Select all

LABEL=Backup /backup    ext4    defaults 0 0
and you also need to make that mount point, "/backup":

Code: Select all

sudo mkdir /backup
sudo chown $USER:$USER /backup

Re: Why isn't my Backup Partition being mounted?

Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2018 12:43 pm
by AZgl1500
Flemur wrote:
Tue Jun 05, 2018 12:38 pm
AZgl1500 wrote:
Tue Jun 05, 2018 8:45 am
I just changed it to read as below, am rebooting to see if that fixes it.
You can also do

Code: Select all

sudo mount -a 
to check fstab mount instructions w/o rebooting.

Code: Select all

# this is me trying to make /backup work
UUID=bb376658-a8ec-4f8d-9ee6-1f0defd65a8f /dev/sda3       ext4    errors=remount-ro 0       1
Per your picture, the disk is labeled "Backup", and labels are much nicer than UUIDs.

This is my "data" line from fstab:

Code: Select all

LABEL=DATA  /mnt/DATA  ext4 defaults,noatime 0 0
So I'd do yours like this:

Code: Select all

LABEL=Backup /backup    ext4    defaults 0 0
and you also need to make that mount point, "/backup":

Code: Select all

sudo mkdir /backup
sudo chown $USER:$USER /backup

can I get that done in LiveSession?

The laptop won't boot anymore, it stops if I leave it alone.

it will bring up grub though and let me try 2 previous kernels, but those still refer back to fstab, right?

I am using the Dell laptop right now in LiveCD mode, trying to get access to fstab on its' HDD, but the only thing I am seeing is the LiveCD filesystem, not the one that I need on the HDD itself.

Re: Why isn't my Backup Partition being mounted?

Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2018 1:09 pm
by Flemur
AZgl1500 wrote:
Tue Jun 05, 2018 12:43 pm
can I get that done in LiveSession?
Yup.
I am using the Dell laptop right now in LiveCD mode, trying to get access to fstab on its' HDD, but the only thing I am seeing is the LiveCD filesystem, not the one that I need on the HDD itself.
I haven't booted the LiveDVD for a while, but IIRC the main HD holding your real installation will be under "Places" or some-such** in your file-browser/file-manager, showing the label or UUID of the partition. Double-click on it.

**Here the live CD shows the main partitions under "Devices":
https://askubuntu.com/questions/190239/ ... rom-livecd

After you get to the HD, I suggest you either copy your old, saved fstab back over the bad one, or comment-out ("#") the line that's causing problems. Then boot normally, make the changes to fstab, and check them with "mount -a" rather than rebooting.

Or, if you use the line I gave, you can do

Code: Select all

mount /backup
df
to test it.
df should show something like:

Code: Select all

/dev/sda3 ..buncha numbers... /backup
if it's mounted. "df" after "mount -a" is good, too.

Re: Why isn't my Backup Partition being mounted?

Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2018 3:06 pm
by AZgl1500
just so we are all on the same page, I am running under 18.3 LiveCDsession

System: Host: mint Kernel: 4.10.0-38-generic x86_64 (64 bit)
Desktop: Cinnamon 3.6.6 Distro: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia


and Devices does NOT show the HDD... very frustrating.


Image

Re: Why isn't my Backup Partition being mounted?

Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2018 3:21 pm
by Sir Charles
How about Disks or Gparted? Can they see the Mint installation? If positive, you might be able to mount the partition from there.

Re: Why isn't my Backup Partition being mounted?

Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2018 3:31 pm
by Kilz
AZgl1500 wrote:
Tue Jun 05, 2018 3:06 pm
just so we are all on the same page, I am running under 18.3 LiveCDsession

System: Host: mint Kernel: 4.10.0-38-generic x86_64 (64 bit)
Desktop: Cinnamon 3.6.6 Distro: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia


and Devices does NOT show the HDD... very frustrating.


Image
The instructions were to mount the root drive of the install and fix your fstab file. Instead you mounted the backup partition. This will fix nothing. Go back, mount the root of the install and follow my instructions.

Re: Why isn't my Backup Partition being mounted?

Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2018 4:22 pm
by AZgl1500
.

Thanks to everyone's input, I have a much better understanding of the boot process.

hit Control-D at boot and fell into Terminal, deleted fstab and cp fstab_bkup fstab

then edited stab as suggested, and all is well in hobokon

did the other instructions and we are good to go:

Image

and Timeshift is happy and making a new backup as I type.

Image

now, I can rest easy, get some sleep, and come daybreak tomorrow, we are taking the Toy hauler, and my motorcycle up to Colorado Springs, Colorado for a family reunion for a full week.

Bless you all, and thank you again.