boot sequence gone wrong

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
cespinal
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2008 2:31 pm

boot sequence gone wrong

Post by cespinal » Fri Jun 05, 2009 8:15 am

Hello guys... I am having a little, annoying problem with when booting and shutting down the system.

Then thing is that the system hangs during the boot/shutdown sequences. The only way for preventing this is to keep pressed ENTER until the sequences are completed.

Is there any way to fix this? I just upgraded from Hardy and this is the only thing that is keeping me from enjoying the new version...

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: boot sequence gone wrong

Post by Husse » Sun Jun 07, 2009 6:25 am

upgraded from Hardy
So you installed Gloria or Felicia?
Have not heard anything like it before - what happens exactly if you don't press Enter
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

cespinal
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2008 2:31 pm

Re: boot sequence gone wrong

Post by cespinal » Sun Jun 07, 2009 11:43 pm

Hello Husse,

I freshly installed gloria, and yes... it happened to me before when trying to instal Felicia.

If I do not press enter the progress bar in the splash screen freezes and the system will not end booting. Likewise, when shutting down the system, the computer will stay on (blanc screened) unless I keep enter pressed until the shutdown sequence is over.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: boot sequence gone wrong

Post by Husse » Mon Jun 08, 2009 7:03 am

I know that for some it's necessary to continuously move the mouse or the screensaver will go in and be nasty to the install but this is new
I add it to my list that I will go through later today
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

badger
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 2:07 pm

Re: boot sequence gone wrong

Post by badger » Mon Jun 08, 2009 2:11 pm

i have a similar problem but it also occurs a shut down. I think its something to do with acpid or the hardware abstraction layer HALD but thats the best i can say as im no techie.
I have a hp laptop 1gb of ram and a amd 64 x2 athlon processor.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: boot sequence gone wrong

Post by Husse » Mon Jun 08, 2009 6:35 pm

There may be something in the logs - but what?
The next time you boot press Esc when the grub splash appears - then highlight the option you normally use and press e to edit
Follow the instructions and remove quiet splash from the line
press b to boot and don't press enter as you use to do
You may succeed to boot - there are a few cases when the splash does not play well with the system
If this is the case edit (as root - gksu gedit) /boot/grub/menu.lst so you remove the quiet splash part
This also means no splash on shut down
It's more likely that boot stalls - take note of what you find there - or take a photo - and tell us what you find
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

badger
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 2:07 pm

Re: boot sequence gone wrong

Post by badger » Tue Jun 09, 2009 8:15 am

didnt work for me im afraid. Ive just moved to mint7 from kubuntu 9.04 and i had a similar issue there so i guess its an Ubuntu/debian thing. I have noticed in Mint that i have ACPID and APMD running at the same time. Do i need both of these? I thought ACPID was a replacement to APMD

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: boot sequence gone wrong

Post by Husse » Tue Jun 09, 2009 12:42 pm

I thought ACPID was a replacement to APMD
Correct - but motherboards from around the year 2000 and older need APMD
If you have a recent motherboard you can safely turn it off and after you checked that nothing happened you can uninstall it
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

badger
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 2:07 pm

Re: boot sequence gone wrong

Post by badger » Tue Jun 09, 2009 4:12 pm

okay so how to i remove apmd? is is sudo apt-remove apmd? im still learning the sudo apt stuff

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: boot sequence gone wrong

Post by Husse » Tue Jun 09, 2009 5:16 pm

badger wrote:okay so how to i remove apmd? is is sudo apt-remove apmd? im still learning the sudo apt stuff
Correct, almost
Either the standard sudo apt-get remove apmd (I think you made a typo)
Or in Mint apt remove apmd (because sudo apt-get and apt are the same in Mint)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

badger
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 2:07 pm

Re: boot sequence gone wrong

Post by badger » Wed Jun 10, 2009 1:23 pm

i think i have found the solution.
So if it freezes on start up go here http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php? ... own&page=7 the hpet=disable line worked for me.
the acpi=force only made it start up and shut down normally when the power cord was plugged in.
For shut down i have set the preferences in power managment to shut down when laptop lid closed.
Im concerned about the laptop fan now as it seems to be running a but hot but it did when i used vista so maybe its just what happens with laptops.
If you know of any programmes to check the laptop fan is working feel free to let me know. if not hopefully the link above will work for most people

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: boot sequence gone wrong

Post by Husse » Wed Jun 10, 2009 1:33 pm

If you know of any programmes to check the laptop fan is working
lmsensors ?
It's included in gdesklets-data together with a bunch of other small gadgets
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

cespinal
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2008 2:31 pm

Re: boot sequence gone wrong

Post by cespinal » Tue Jun 23, 2009 2:00 pm

badger wrote:i think i have found the solution.
So if it freezes on start up go here http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php? ... own&page=7 the hpet=disable line worked for me.
the acpi=force only made it start up and shut down normally when the power cord was plugged in.
For shut down i have set the preferences in power managment to shut down when laptop lid closed.
Im concerned about the laptop fan now as it seems to be running a but hot but it did when i used vista so maybe its just what happens with laptops.
If you know of any programmes to check the laptop fan is working feel free to let me know. if not hopefully the link above will work for most people
thanks badger!!!!

this worked for me.... Now it boots normally and FAST... as for shutdown sequence, its still bugging me out...

any news about this?

Post Reply

Return to “Installation & Boot”