How to get out of "grub rescue" prompt? [solved]

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
Faust
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 441
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2016 3:40 am

Re: How to get out of "grub rescue" prompt?

Post by Faust » Wed Jul 18, 2018 6:00 am

Noodlecakelol wrote:
Wed Jul 18, 2018 4:40 am
..... I can access the bios menu and I have The CD option as #1 should I change that? ....
That's very good !
You can get into BIOS , so you now "own" the machine .
CD as #1 boot option is just fine for now .

What you do next might depend on getting an internet connection , on a different machine .

If you can find someone who can download a file from the internet and put it on CD/DVD for you , there are these options
a] Download an Operating System of your choice .... Mint is ideal of course :D ( Microsoft will want your money , and more ! )
b] Download a " Utility Disc " and use it to repair GRUB .... Parted Magic is the easiest to use IMO , but there's Hirens , Ultimate Boot repair disc
and others

And if none of that is possible there is still
c] GRUB Rescue

Note that Pjotr has recently updated with some very useful info , above ^^

Looking back on your posts I have to say that option [a] is probably your best bet for getting up and running , quickly and painlessly
And if making a disk is a really serious problem for you , some kind soul may offer to mail one to you , ready-to-use and free of charge ?

The other two options are going to need guts and determination , but they WILL work , eventually :)

Edit : everything I have said about disks will work just as well and faster using USB sticks , but you might need to change that boot order in BIOS
" And so it goes " - Kurt Vonnegut
The modern reality and the satirical parody are rapidly converging .

Noodlecakelol
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2018 1:24 am
Location: Utah

Re: How to get out of "grub rescue" prompt?

Post by Noodlecakelol » Wed Jul 18, 2018 2:54 pm

I really don’t want to use my other desk top at all for that kind of stuff because we have taken it into the computer repair place that we get free coverage for it from and they said don’t access the internet at all with it because it is not safe what so ever and it’s so old that they won’t fix it :(
The only way I would get one is if it’s from amazon or something
But if one of you could make a cd that would be awesome 😭
But it’s perfectly okay if it’s on amazon, Since I have 100% no idea what I am doing lol

Noodlecakelol
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2018 1:24 am
Location: Utah

Re: How to get out of "grub rescue" prompt?

Post by Noodlecakelol » Thu Jul 19, 2018 12:18 pm

Btw guys if I don’t reply for the next 4 1/2 so days it’s because i’m Going to my cabin either tonight or tomorrow morning for the whole weekend and I don’t have internet up there.
So if anyone replies I can’t respond until Sunday night or Monday morning.

Noodlecakelol
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2018 1:24 am
Location: Utah

Re: How to get out of "grub rescue" prompt?

Post by Noodlecakelol » Sun Jul 22, 2018 6:41 pm

I’m back now, is there a link to one I can get on amazon???

rui no onna
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 241
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2018 4:18 pm

Re: How to get out of "grub rescue" prompt?

Post by rui no onna » Sun Jul 22, 2018 10:54 pm

Noodlecakelol wrote:
Sun Jul 22, 2018 6:41 pm
I’m back now, is there a link to one I can get on amazon???
Not Amazon but you can buy discs and even LiveUSB with persistence already setup.
https://www.osdisc.com/products/linuxmint

User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2877
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: How to get out of "grub rescue" prompt?

Post by AZgl1500 » Mon Jul 23, 2018 12:13 am

Noodlecakelol wrote:
Wed Jul 18, 2018 2:54 pm
I really don’t want to use my other desk top at all for that kind of stuff because we have taken it into the computer repair place that we get free coverage for it from and they said don’t access the internet at all with it because it is not safe what so ever and it’s so old that they won’t fix it :(
The only way I would get one is if it’s from amazon or something
But if one of you could make a cd that would be awesome 😭
But it’s perfectly okay if it’s on amazon, Since I have 100% no idea what I am doing lol
okay,
do you live in the USA?

I will make you a couple of DVDs for free and mail them off to you.
I looked up your PC, Dell OptiPlex 7010 - SFF - Core i5 3470 3.2 GHz - 2 GB - 250 GB

so I will send you 18.3 xcfe which will run very fast on that PC.
I will also include 18.3 Cinnamon, will load and run, but not quite so fast.

that will let you experience both ends of the Mint spectrum.....
the DVDs will allow you to create a fresh install now that you can access a DVD.

Click on my name, then send me a Personal Message with your name and address.
okay?

rui no onna
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 241
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2018 4:18 pm

Re: How to get out of "grub rescue" prompt?

Post by rui no onna » Mon Jul 23, 2018 12:37 am

AZgl1500 wrote:
Mon Jul 23, 2018 12:13 am
okay,
do you live in the USA?

I will make you a couple of DVDs for free and mail them off to you.
I looked up your PC, Dell OptiPlex 7010 - SFF - Core i5 3470 3.2 GHz - 2 GB - 250 GB

so I will send you 18.3 xcfe which will run very fast on that PC.
I will also include 18.3 Cinnamon, will load and run, but not quite so fast.

that will let you experience both ends of the Mint spectrum.....
the DVDs will allow you to create a fresh install now that you can access a DVD.

Click on my name, then send me a Personal Message with your name and address.
okay?
Kudos! That's extremely nice of you. The community is one of the reasons Mint is my lead choice while considering an exit strategy from Windows.

Note, I have a PC with much slower CPU (dual-core i3-3227U 1.9GHz) and it runs 18.3 Cinnamon (and surprisingly KDE) very fast. Granted, it does have 4GB RAM and 128GB SSD.

Noodlecakelol
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2018 1:24 am
Location: Utah

Re: How to get out of "grub rescue" prompt?

Post by Noodlecakelol » Fri Jul 27, 2018 10:48 am

Oh my gosh thank you so much! I’m so sorry I didn’t reply sooner I never got a notification that I got any more replies on this post, so I haven’t been on here for a couple days.
And yes I’m in the US
I’ll pm you

User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2877
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: How to get out of "grub rescue" prompt?

Post by AZgl1500 » Fri Jul 27, 2018 9:48 pm

Okay,
think this will fix her up:
Mailing off some DVDs to her.

I have two different repair disks, I will send them with printed instructions on how to get that thing working again.

the 1st one is called "Boot Repair Disk", it will search to see what is on the computer and fix the boot loader to let you choose which one you want to boot.

the 2nd one is called PC Unlocker Pro.
It will unlock and remove the passwords from any Windows PC.

I am also sending...

Linux Mint 18.3 xcfe with will run very fast on that PC.

Linux Mint 18.3 Cinnamon which I think will run fairly well, some slower than xcfe, but it is Windows Look alike

Noodlecakelol
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2018 1:24 am
Location: Utah

Re: How to get out of "grub rescue" prompt?

Post by Noodlecakelol » Sat Jul 28, 2018 12:25 am

I’ll post an update if/when I receive them and will see if it works, thank you!

Noodlecakelol
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2018 1:24 am
Location: Utah

Re: How to get out of "grub rescue" prompt?

Post by Noodlecakelol » Fri Aug 03, 2018 4:43 am

Update:

I can only get one of the disks to work and that is the pc Unlocker. And I don’t know how to get the other ones to work, when I put them into the computer it will just put me back into grub rescue, unless it’s the pc Unlocker disk, but there’s no accounts on the computer anyway and it pops up something about needing a windows SAM registry file and I’m not to sure what that is and or what one I choose, I tried to look it up and the one they have is different from what mine says?

User avatar
Faust
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 441
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2016 3:40 am

Re: How to get out of "grub rescue" prompt?

Post by Faust » Fri Aug 03, 2018 6:53 am

Noodlecakelol wrote:
Fri Aug 03, 2018 4:43 am
....I don’t know how to get the other ones to work, when I put them into the computer it will just put me back into grub rescue, unless it’s the pc Unlocker disk,
.....
That's odd !
I suggest you go back into your BIOS , look at the boot options , then post back here with the order in which they appear .

I'm sure that you are close to getting up and running .
" And so it goes " - Kurt Vonnegut
The modern reality and the satirical parody are rapidly converging .

Noodlecakelol
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2018 1:24 am
Location: Utah

Re: How to get out of "grub rescue" prompt?

Post by Noodlecakelol » Fri Aug 03, 2018 4:15 pm

I have my boot sequence at
1. CD/DVD/CD-RW Drive
2. USB Storage Device
3. Hitachi ( and numbers but I don’t know if I should put those )
4. Diskette Drive

Noodlecakelol
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2018 1:24 am
Location: Utah

Re: How to get out of "grub rescue" prompt?

Post by Noodlecakelol » Sun Aug 05, 2018 1:30 am

Would it help if I try to find the command I entered that screwed everything up?

Noodlecakelol
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2018 1:24 am
Location: Utah

Re: How to get out of "grub rescue" prompt?

Post by Noodlecakelol » Fri Aug 10, 2018 11:10 pm

Going to my cabin again, so if anyone replies that’s why I can’t reply for like 2 days

HaveaMint
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 477
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 9:56 pm
Location: Somewhere in the USA
Contact:

Re: How to get out of "grub rescue" prompt?

Post by HaveaMint » Sun Aug 12, 2018 1:23 am

I wonder if you did a non-UEFI install and your bios has UEFI on, it would make it go to rescue. Meaning did you recently switch to or from Secure boot in the bios?
"Tune for maximum Smoke and then read the Instructions".

Noodlecakelol
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2018 1:24 am
Location: Utah

Re: How to get out of "grub rescue" prompt?

Post by Noodlecakelol » Sun Aug 12, 2018 11:14 pm

Back now, and no I have not. Not that I know of anyway lol

Noodlecakelol
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2018 1:24 am
Location: Utah

Re: How to get out of "grub rescue" prompt?

Post by Noodlecakelol » Thu Aug 30, 2018 4:40 am

Still having no luck :(

User avatar
catweazel
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7774
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: How to get out of "grub rescue" prompt?

Post by catweazel » Thu Aug 30, 2018 5:18 am

HaveaMint wrote:
Sun Aug 12, 2018 1:23 am
I wonder if you did a non-UEFI install and your bios has UEFI on, it would make it go to rescue. Meaning did you recently switch to or from Secure boot in the bios?
Secure boot is not UEFI, it is a feature of UEFI.
¡uʍop ǝpısdn sı buıɥʇʎɹǝʌǝ os ɐıןɐɹʇsnɐ ɯoɹɟ ɯ,ı

User avatar
slipstick
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 807
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 9:56 pm
Location: Somewhere on the /LL0 scale

Re: How to get out of "grub rescue" prompt?

Post by slipstick » Sun Sep 02, 2018 3:33 am

Could this be a case of having Secure Boot turned on? With the computer set to boot from DVD, it won't do it, but instead tries to boot from HDD, leading to the Grub Rescue (because something about the boot loader is scrambled?). I would think that the DVD drive is just bad, except that it tries to boot from the pc Unlocker disk. Is this a clue that has been overlooked? Maybe pc Unlocker has a way to get around Secure Boot - I see on the pc Unlocker web site www.pcunlocker.com that they advertise "Support Windows 10 / 8 computers with UEFI Secure Boot....". Although I would expect, that with Secure Boot on, trying to boot from an untrusted source, some error message to that effect would be generated rather than simply "selected boot device failed". Don't know how Secure Boot would have gotten set, since it's not needed for Windows 7. Anyway, maybe worthwhile trying to access BIOS (UEFI) menu to disable Secure Boot if it is on - otherwise, I have no idea what the problem could be.
In theory, theory and practice are the same. In practice, they ain't.

Post Reply

Return to “Installation & Boot”