[SOLVED]Device for Boot Loader Installation

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
bill_steamshovel
Level 3
Level 3

[SOLVED]Device for Boot Loader Installation

Post by bill_steamshovel »

Hello,

Am ready to pull the trigger on an installation.Have diligently worked my way through install document here ........https://linuxmint-installation-guide.re ... stall.html

Please ..... a double check ? Total newb ..... didn't even know what a partition or a swap was until half an hour ago.

I have created a 100GB partition for the installl and a 8GB swap space, created the partitions in WIndows and then assigned swap and ext4 and mount \ during the install setup.

What is the Device for Boot Loader Installation ? Is that the same as the Windows Boot Manager ? See attached jpeg
Ready to Pull Trigger.JPG
Maybe that's defined somewhere and I haven't the skills to understand it when I read it.

Thanks

Bill
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
gm10

Re: Device for Boot Loader Installation

Post by gm10 »

bill_steamshovel wrote: Tue Jul 17, 2018 9:57 am What is the Device for Boot Loader Installation ? Is that the same as the Windows Boot Manager ? See attached jpeg
It's the drive and potentially partition to install the GRUB2 boot loader to. In case of doubt just leave it on /dev/sda (you didn't actually include a screenshot).
bill_steamshovel
Level 3
Level 3

Thanks

.... off and running in a minute or two ....

Bill
gm10

Post by gm10 »

Weird, hadn't seen the screenshot before. Just to confirm, /dev/sda it is.
bill_steamshovel
Level 3
Level 3

Re: [SOLVED]Device for Boot Loader Installation

Hey gm10

Thanks for your help.