[SOLVED] boot time error

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
ajaya123
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2018 10:03 am

[SOLVED] boot time error

Post by ajaya123 » Sun Jul 22, 2018 10:42 am

a.)
i install mint 18.3 on vb and
1.
/boot on ext2 partition
2.
/root of ext4
3.
/home on ext4
4.
bootloader -- not on ata vbox hence i choose /boot 's partition
that give this error :--> fatal: no bootable medium found! system halted
b.)
i did install dual boot at this time i delete 2nd /root partition from 1st os and after restart screen goes to grub rescue
and my bootloader was at ata vbox mbr for both os
c.)
1st os as --> mint 18.3 cinemon
2nd was --> manjaro kde



{the answer is to read about bootloader and then do hand dirty i am reading help any way this link will help full ---- viewtopic.php?f=46&t=121762&p=1505168#p1505168 }
Last edited by ajaya123 on Tue Jul 31, 2018 1:18 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
BG405
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1551
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 3:09 pm
Location: England

Re: boot time error

Post by BG405 » Wed Jul 25, 2018 9:11 am

This is the first time I've seen someone attempting a dual-boot within a VM (assuming I read it right!) - I assume the procedure will be the same as for a bare metal install; i.e. last installed OS takes control of the bootloader and, in the case of a BIOS install which your VM likely is, rather than (U)EFI, the bootloader should go on e.g. /dev/sda.

Have you tried booting the live .iso (of Manjaro KDE) & reinstalling GRUB from there? Then you could add Mint again later.
Dell Inspiron 1525 - LM17.3 CE 64-------------------Acer D255E 2GB - Manjaro KDE, LM17.3 KDE 32
Toshiba NB305 - Manjaro KDE------------------------K7S5A AMD 1.2GHz - LM17.3 Xfce 32 & WinXP-Pro
Acer Aspire E11 ES1-111M - LM18.2 KDE 64 ----Dell PII 350 64MB - Puppy 4.3 & Win98-SE

ajaya123
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2018 10:03 am

Re: boot time error

Post by ajaya123 » Sat Jul 28, 2018 11:36 pm

/*
thanks a lot for reply*/
1 . --> yes i tried dual boot linux on vm
2. --> sorry , i thought no one gonna reply so i deleted thab vb and tried again
3.--> a) this time i install mint first as above same three partition with /home , /root , /swap of ext4 and one with ext2 1.5gb as /boot,efi and bootloader on parheps it was dev/sda but infront of this it as ata vbox (that followed by ) dev/sda
b) all worked well so i go further and did same with manjaro in this one option was extra in flag as boot and esp i chhose /bootefi for ext2 , same of mint 's /boot
c) again all was done well i did not notice the grub and try one more thig , as ubuntu as third boot all worked well i did same as above all work well but ubntu,s grub take controll as you say
d) i thought it should not last , i saw a img of dedoimedo's blog in which he use more os so i add solous budgie , it said to use gparted to make new partition and i made , then when install it ask for bootloader and did not give the option to choose atavbox dev sda hence it give only one dev/sda1 which was my /boot partition , i choose that and at last only solous was running
e) i tried manully run from bios it shows only one grub file with twoo option <leagcy> and <efi> leagcy was empty and efi had some option in which ubntu , manjaro , mint was with a option of solous.
f) i choose ubuntu , it ran and all with mint and manjaro was in grub but not solous was presented in that , i choose to save by f10 and with the command to make change and it ran i restart it showed the ubntu grub not with solous
g) i decide to manully handle the solous and trun off the vm next time i start vm i had to choose the grub setting cause this time also only solus was runnig , all time after trun off vm i had to make change again and again
4.------> main question is , may i chhose dev/sda1 as bootloader for all , if so last time i do so i got some kind of error , i want to sure about dual boot my pc before i knew how to handle all grub situation
5.--> thank u much more again , hop u will understand :)

ajaya123
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2018 10:03 am

Re: boot time error

Post by ajaya123 » Sat Jul 28, 2018 11:41 pm

the big problem is after choose ext2 as boot why it ask for bootloader at differ location and want to know should i choose loader on /root or /boot ? all the grub boot time error is on grub boot loader thats why i described it . thanks again

ajaya123
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2018 10:03 am

Re: boot time error

Post by ajaya123 » Sat Jul 28, 2018 11:55 pm

again soryy i did not mention i dont know install grub from live iso hence i can boot live iso on vm

ajaya123
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2018 10:03 am

Re: [SOLVED] boot time error

Post by ajaya123 » Tue Jul 31, 2018 1:21 pm

thanks guys they says : " dieing self will give heaven to self no one will give you that to ask them to give you are at your own " ... thanks again :wink:

ajaya123
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2018 10:03 am

Re: [SOLVED] boot time error

Post by ajaya123 » Tue Jul 31, 2018 1:46 pm


ajaya123
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2018 10:03 am

Re: Some General Questions on Updating Linux

Post by ajaya123 » Tue Jul 31, 2018 2:36 pm

i also posted a newbie question about /boot loader no reply from such level of users :(
Last edited by xenopeek on Tue Jul 31, 2018 3:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: this was posted on another topic; moved it back here to not hijack the other person's topic

User avatar
Moem
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7029
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Some General Questions on Updating Linux

Post by Moem » Tue Jul 31, 2018 2:40 pm

ajaya123 wrote:
Tue Jul 31, 2018 2:36 pm
i also posted a newbie question about /boot loader no reply from such level of users :(
So you come into a random different thread to complain? That's not very friendly towards the people who took the time to answer you and help you solve your problems. :?
A person's level on this forum only means that people have posted a lot. It's not related to level of expertise. I wouldn't pay too much attention.
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

User avatar
BG405
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1551
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 3:09 pm
Location: England

Re: [SOLVED] boot time error

Post by BG405 » Wed Aug 01, 2018 12:26 pm

ajaya123 wrote:
Sat Jul 28, 2018 11:41 pm
the big problem is after choose ext2 as boot why it ask for bootloader at differ location and want to know should i choose loader on /root or /boot ?
I've been a bit busy these past few days, hence delay in replying. Also easily distracted .. :oops:
Are you installing the OSes in (U)EFI mode or Legacy / BIOS mode? You can check which mode you're in for each OS using something like this:
[ -d /sys/firmware/efi ] && echo UEFI || echo BIOS
.. it sounds to me like the last OS (Solus) is being installed in (U)EFI mode whereas Mint etc. are in Legacy. For successful multiboot using the GRUB menu, all the OSes need to be installed in the same mode.

If using (U)EFI the EFI system partition (ESP) needs to be FAT16 & this is where your bootloader should go. Otherwise it's to the "root" of the drive i.e. /dev/sda.

The /boot partition is ext2 on my systems but you probably won't need a separate /boot if using BIOS / Legacy Mode, nor will you need an ESP.

Also, this:
Moem wrote:
Tue Jul 31, 2018 2:40 pm
A person's level on this forum only means that people have posted a lot. It's not related to level of expertise. I wouldn't pay too much attention.
:wink:
Dell Inspiron 1525 - LM17.3 CE 64-------------------Acer D255E 2GB - Manjaro KDE, LM17.3 KDE 32
Toshiba NB305 - Manjaro KDE------------------------K7S5A AMD 1.2GHz - LM17.3 Xfce 32 & WinXP-Pro
Acer Aspire E11 ES1-111M - LM18.2 KDE 64 ----Dell PII 350 64MB - Puppy 4.3 & Win98-SE

ajaya123
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2018 10:03 am

Re: [SOLVED] boot time error

Post by ajaya123 » Wed Aug 01, 2018 9:48 pm

oops i thought it was metter of experienced user forget about that :D

ajaya123
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2018 10:03 am

Re: [SOLVED] boot time error

Post by ajaya123 » Wed Aug 01, 2018 9:50 pm

BG405 wrote:
Wed Aug 01, 2018 12:26 pm
ajaya123 wrote:
Sat Jul 28, 2018 11:41 pm
the big problem is after choose ext2 as boot why it ask for bootloader at differ location and want to know should i choose loader on /root or /boot ?
I've been a bit busy these past few days, hence delay in replying. Also easily distracted .. :oops:
Are you installing the OSes in (U)EFI mode or Legacy / BIOS mode? You can check which mode you're in for each OS using something like this:
[ -d /sys/firmware/efi ] && echo UEFI || echo BIOS
.. it sounds to me like the last OS (Solus) is being installed in (U)EFI mode whereas Mint etc. are in Legacy. For successful multiboot using the GRUB menu, all the OSes need to be installed in the same mode.

If using (U)EFI the EFI system partition (ESP) needs to be FAT16 & this is where your bootloader should go. Otherwise it's to the "root" of the drive i.e. /dev/sda.

The /boot partition is ext2 on my systems but you probably won't need a separate /boot if using BIOS / Legacy Mode, nor will you need an ESP.

Also, this:
Moem wrote:
Tue Jul 31, 2018 2:40 pm
A person's level on this forum only means that people have posted a lot. It's not related to level of expertise. I wouldn't pay too much attention.
:wink:
all os with uefi in virtual box mint is not allowing/boot in fat32 and not giving the option for esp :)

ajaya123
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2018 10:03 am

Re: Some General Questions on Updating Linux

Post by ajaya123 » Wed Aug 01, 2018 9:53 pm

Moem wrote:
Tue Jul 31, 2018 2:40 pm
A person's level on this forum only means that people have posted a lot. It's not related to level of expertise. I wouldn't pay too much attention.
:o didnt knew it , i saw adminstrator etc thought they are running forums

User avatar
Moem
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7029
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] boot time error

Post by Moem » Thu Aug 02, 2018 2:14 am

Well, the words 'moderator' and 'administrator' DO mean that people have specific funtions on the forums. But it still doesn't mean they know more about Linux. And their answers aren't worth more than other people's answers, unless you have questions about the forum.
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

User avatar
BG405
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1551
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 3:09 pm
Location: England

Re: [SOLVED] boot time error

Post by BG405 » Thu Aug 02, 2018 1:47 pm

ajaya123 wrote:
Wed Aug 01, 2018 9:50 pm
mint is not allowing/boot in fat32
It won't. It needs to be ext, preferably ext2 from what I've read so far. Only the ESP needs to be in fat format. You did state that you had set up an ext2 /boot partition in your OP though.
ajaya123 wrote:
Wed Aug 01, 2018 9:50 pm
and not giving the option for esp
You'll need to create the EFI partition at the start of the disk if it doesn't already exist. There should be ample space in /boot to shrink it from the left to create the partition at the beginning of the drive; about 256MB should be sufficient for a multi-boot setup.

Could you post the output of sudo parted -l from the VM? Mine, for example, looks like this:

Code: Select all

Model: Generic SD/MMC Storage Card (sd/mmc)                               
Disk /dev/mmcblk0boot1: 4194kB
Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
Partition Table: unknown
Disk Flags: 

Model: MMC HBG4e (sd/mmc)
Disk /dev/mmcblk0: 31.3GB
Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
Partition Table: gpt
Disk Flags: 

Number  Start   End     Size    File system     Name                  Flags
 1      1049kB  135MB   134MB   fat16           EFI System Partition  boot, esp
 2      135MB   672MB   537MB   ext2                                  msftdata
 3      672MB   11.4GB  10.7GB  ext4
 4      11.4GB  28.6GB  17.2GB  ext4
 5      28.6GB  31.3GB  2684MB  linux-swap(v1)
Dell Inspiron 1525 - LM17.3 CE 64-------------------Acer D255E 2GB - Manjaro KDE, LM17.3 KDE 32
Toshiba NB305 - Manjaro KDE------------------------K7S5A AMD 1.2GHz - LM17.3 Xfce 32 & WinXP-Pro
Acer Aspire E11 ES1-111M - LM18.2 KDE 64 ----Dell PII 350 64MB - Puppy 4.3 & Win98-SE

ajaya123
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2018 10:03 am

Re: [SOLVED] boot time error

Post by ajaya123 » Fri Aug 03, 2018 1:21 pm

one attachement test purpose
Attachments
output of inxi.png
this is out put of inxi

ajaya123
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2018 10:03 am

Re: [SOLVED] boot time error

Post by ajaya123 » Fri Aug 03, 2018 1:23 pm

now all i getting few more
Attachments
after boot from file 1.png
out of update grub.png
shell error.jpg

ajaya123
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2018 10:03 am

Re: [SOLVED] boot time error

Post by ajaya123 » Fri Aug 03, 2018 1:28 pm

1 more for efi boot
Attachments
1.gif

ajaya123
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2018 10:03 am

Re: [SOLVED] boot time error

Post by ajaya123 » Fri Aug 03, 2018 1:39 pm

sorry i was disconeected i forgot that command ,
i will do it again , tommarow , i have limited internet will come tommarow
made fat32 gparted give its flag msdata i changed to ESP
then bootloader on ESP partition installes without third party and without net
installed well but had to manuall boot from vb bios fat32 image -> efi -> grub64
cause it boot internal shall need give exit command then from bios manually choose it
added boot option but automatic reset every reboot need to repeat every time
but this time it is the option boot from file --> fat32--> efi--> grub64

ajaya123
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2018 10:03 am

Re: [SOLVED] boot time error

Post by ajaya123 » Fri Aug 03, 2018 1:40 pm

soon will post sudo parted -l output
limited access will do tommarow

Post Reply

Return to “Installation & Boot”