Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
helmar
Level 2
Level 2

Laptop freezing after suspend/hibernating

Post by helmar »

Hi guys.

I'm not a newbie in using but I'm not an IT person.

I've been using Mint for 3 years and I love it! Linux user for over ten years.

My laptop is a LeNovo G40 Core i5 12GB RAM and it's been a long time since a particular issue is bothering me.

I never turn my laptop off. Almost all the time I use it on A/C power and very few times on battery.
Either on A/C power or battery when I close the lid and open again after a while, my laptop isn't able to restart. For a long time, the Power Manager was set to "suspend" when the lid is closed. Then, I tried to change the setting to "Hibernate". In both conditions many times the laptop doesn't restart properly. It freezes the screen (either on a black screen or in desktop background) forcing me to physically restart the laptop on the power button.

Can anyone lend a hand on me to help me figure it out? It's quite annoying since I need to go out and back to work several times a day.

Thanks in advance!

JoeFootball
Level 8
Level 8

Re: Laptop freezing after suspend/hibernating

Post by JoeFootball »

helmar wrote:...forcing me to physically restart the laptop on the power button.
I don't have a solution, but wanted to say that you'll eventually corrupt your file system that way.

As an alternate option, hold down Alt + SysRq, and type r e i s u o, waiting a second or two between keystrokes. This will (usually) shutdown your computer cleanly, and preserve your file system. More info here.

For what it's worth, I've never found any OS to have a foolproof resume from Sleep, Suspend, Hibernation, etc., as there's always some peripheral that doesn't "wake up" properly or otherwise. Besides, Linux shuts down and boots up fast enough for my purposes. Speaking only for myself, of course.

Joe

LienRag
Level 1
Level 1

Post by LienRag »

Thanks joe, I never heard of that solution...