Cant boot [SOLVED]

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
TomPisciotta
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2017 11:52 am

Cant boot [SOLVED]

Post by TomPisciotta » Thu Aug 09, 2018 4:25 pm

HELP!
I've did a clean install of Mint 19 Mate on my Lenovo All-In_one desktop, model number 10110. Previously had Mint 18.3 and worked fine.

It has a 1T Seagate HD
1G2030 CPU
4g ram

It will boot the first time after installation. After that if I power down it will not reboot. Gives a read_Error.

It will not restore using Timeshift.

I've installed 3x now and it does it each time. Any ideas?
Last edited by TomPisciotta on Thu Aug 23, 2018 12:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

JeremyB
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9058
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: Cant boot

Post by JeremyB » Thu Aug 09, 2018 4:49 pm

Post results from terminal for

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxxxz

User avatar
Flemur
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6065
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Potemkin Village

Re: Cant boot

Post by Flemur » Thu Aug 09, 2018 5:49 pm

TomPisciotta wrote:
Thu Aug 09, 2018 4:25 pm
Previously had Mint 18.3 and worked fine.
...
Any ideas?
See if you can get 18.3 to run again.
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?
Mint 18.3 Xfce/fluxbox/pulse-less
Xubuntu 17.10/fluxbox/pulse-less

TomPisciotta
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2017 11:52 am

Re: Cant boot

Post by TomPisciotta » Fri Aug 10, 2018 6:18 pm

Code: Select all

System:    Host: mint Kernel: 4.15.0-20-generic x86_64 bits: 64 gcc: 7.3.0
           Desktop: MATE 1.20.1 (Gtk 3.22.30-1ubuntu1) info: mate-panel dm: lightdm
           Distro: Linux Mint 19 Tara
Machine:   Device: desktop System: LENOVO product: 10110 v: Lenovo C540 serial: N/A
           Mobo: LENOVO model: INVALID v: Win8 STD MM DPK IPG serial: N/A
           UEFI [Legacy]: LENOVO v: I0KT25AUS date: 01/22/2013
           Chassis: type: 13 serial: N/A
CPU:       Dual core Intel Pentium G2030 (-MCP-) 
           arch: Ivy Bridge rev.9 cache: 3072 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 11973
           clock speeds: min/max: 1600/3000 MHz 1: 1609 MHz 2: 1896 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel Xeon E3-1200 v2/3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller
           bus-ID: 00:02.0 chip-ID: 8086:0152
           Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.19.6 )
           drivers: modesetting (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1920x1080@60.00hz
           OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Ivybridge Desktop
           version: 4.2 Mesa 18.0.0-rc5 (compat-v: 3.0) Direct Render: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 Intel 6 Series/C200 Series Family High Def. Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0 chip-ID: 8086:1c20
           Card-2 Z-Star Micro
           driver: USB Audio usb-ID: 002-006 chip-ID: 0ac8:c450
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.15.0-20-generic
Network:   Card-1: Qualcomm Atheros AR9485 Wireless Network Adapter
           driver: ath9k bus-ID: 02:00.0 chip-ID: 168c:0032
           IF: wlp2s0 state: up mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCIE Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: 2000
           bus-ID: 04:00.0 chip-ID: 10ec:8168
           IF: enp4s0 state: down mac: <filter>

TomPisciotta
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2017 11:52 am

Re: Cant boot

Post by TomPisciotta » Fri Aug 10, 2018 6:18 pm

Won't reinstall keeps crashing halfway through

User avatar
Tomgin5
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 816
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 2:37 pm
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA

Re: Cant boot

Post by Tomgin5 » Sat Aug 11, 2018 12:51 pm

Offhand. Try reseating your HDD, Make certain all of your cards are fully plugged in. Note your inxi -Fxzd does not include your HDD info.

TomPisciotta
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2017 11:52 am

Re: Cant boot

Post by TomPisciotta » Thu Aug 16, 2018 11:35 am

Tomgin5 wrote:
Sat Aug 11, 2018 12:51 pm
Offhand. Try reseating your HDD, Make certain all of your cards are fully plugged in. Note your inxi -Fxzd does not include your HDD info.
Installed a new 2T HD Installs 19 but won't book. Keeps giving Grub Recover. Tried all the suggestions I found for Grub recover. None helped.

User avatar
Tomgin5
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 816
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 2:37 pm
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA

Re: Cant boot

Post by Tomgin5 » Fri Aug 17, 2018 2:00 am

I seem to recall somewhere sometime that LM does not really care to use anything over 1TB in the boot drive. I could be wrong. My big system running 19 uses a 240 GB SSD for the boot drive and a 2 TB for a data drive or archive. Try using a smaller SSD as a boot drive ( formatted with your 19) and the 2 TB ( assumed to be SATA as drive #2. Your inxi -Fxzd table dumps when it gets to the HDD. It does not recognize it (IE the 1tb limit exceeded).

User avatar
catweazel
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7117
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: Cant boot

Post by catweazel » Fri Aug 17, 2018 2:45 am

Tomgin5 wrote:
Fri Aug 17, 2018 2:00 am
I could be wrong.
You are.
¡uʍop ǝpısdn sı buıɥʇʎɹǝʌǝ os ɐıןɐɹʇsnɐ ɯoɹɟ ɯ,ı

User avatar
lsemmens
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 864
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 9:07 pm
Location: Rural South Australia

Re: Cant boot

Post by lsemmens » Fri Aug 17, 2018 7:02 am

I just did and inxi -Fxd on my server and it showed my 2TB slave drive, no problems.
Kernel: 4.15.0-24-generic x86_64 bits: 64
Desktop: Cinnamon 3.8.7
Distro: Linux Mint 19 Tara

Laptop T4500 Dualcore 4Gb RAM
Server AMD Phenom 9650 - GEForce 9400GT 6Gb RAM
+ three other Linux Mint machines
Out of my mind - please leave a message

User avatar
catweazel
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7117
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: Cant boot

Post by catweazel » Fri Aug 17, 2018 7:33 am

TomPisciotta wrote:
Thu Aug 09, 2018 4:25 pm
Gives a read_Error.
Can you be more specific?
¡uʍop ǝpısdn sı buıɥʇʎɹǝʌǝ os ɐıןɐɹʇsnɐ ɯoɹɟ ɯ,ı

User avatar
kc1di
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4664
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 8:44 pm
Location: Maine USA

Re: Cant boot

Post by kc1di » Fri Aug 17, 2018 8:30 am

is secure boot turn off? I would say it's a grub problem and you may need to reinstall grub and uefi files.
Easy tips : https://sites.google.com/site/easylinuxtipsproject/
Linux Mint Installation Guide: http://linuxmint-installation-guide.rea ... en/latest/
Registered Linux User #462608

User avatar
administrollaattori
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5167
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 4:51 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Cant boot

Post by administrollaattori » Fri Aug 17, 2018 8:36 am

The results for the next commands are?

Code: Select all

sudo parted -l

Code: Select all

[ -d /sys/firmware/efi ] && echo "EFI mode" || echo "Legacy Bios mode"

Code: Select all

inxi -po

TomPisciotta
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2017 11:52 am

Re: Cant boot

Post by TomPisciotta » Thu Aug 23, 2018 12:12 pm

After a LOT of troubleshooting I found the problem. It wasn't a software problem at all. There was a hairline crack in the motherboard!!! with vibration it would cause temporary opens in the circuits. Trashed the computer and rebuilt my old Optiplex.

FYI LM HAS NO TROUBLE WITH THE 2T HD in this machine.

Post Reply

Return to “Installation & Boot”