Have I got LM19 V2 or not? SOLVED

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
wilbobob
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 4:30 am
Location: Leicestershire

Have I got LM19 V2 or not? SOLVED

Post by wilbobob » Mon Aug 20, 2018 12:37 pm

I downloaded LM19 xfce 64 bit from here https://torrents.linuxmint.com/torrents ... so.torrent
The torrent I have in my downloads folder is called linuxmint-19-xfce-64bit.iso.torrent
The file it stored in downloads is called linuxmint-19-xfce-64bit.iso
The sha256sum is this one
772786adad318c0571ff621fe13e66ebde1366557d0579bd045a3c649ffb917a *linuxmint-19-xfce-64bit.iso
not the V2 sha256sum, which should be this one
c996a0de1e010476f36ed55322cb055b07d3bd507f0c60eff65b07634f20f897 *linuxmint-19-xfce-64bit-v2.iso
according to the table on
https://ftp.heanet.ie/mirrors/linuxmint ... 256sum.txt

Is there something wrong with the link to the torrent on the first line above?

Bob
Last edited by wilbobob on Mon Aug 20, 2018 1:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Go Steady, but keep going

all41
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5366
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: Have I got LM19 V2 or not?

Post by all41 » Mon Aug 20, 2018 12:44 pm

That checksum is not for v2, so that torrent link is wrong.
Why not use the torrent link from linuxmint.com)
https://torrents.linuxmint.com/torrents ... so.torrent

gm10
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7428
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:11 pm

Re: Have I got LM19 V2 or not?

Post by gm10 » Mon Aug 20, 2018 12:55 pm

wilbobob wrote:
Mon Aug 20, 2018 12:37 pm
I downloaded LM19 xfce 64 bit from here https://torrents.linuxmint.com/torrents/linuxmint-19-xfce-64bit-v2.iso.torrent
The torrent I have in my downloads folder is called linuxmint-19-xfce-64bit.iso.torrent
Spot the difference. Seems the torrent file you are looking at is not the one you downloaded but an old one that you still had in that folder. Maybe you downloaded to a different location? Just download it again and make sure to use the correct one with your torrent client this time.

You can however also just use the .iso you already downloaded, but in that case you must disable networking in the live environment before starting the installer if you are booting via EFI. The installed version won't be different from the v2 once you applied the updates after installation.

wilbobob
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 4:30 am
Location: Leicestershire

Re: Have I got LM19 V2 or not?

Post by wilbobob » Mon Aug 20, 2018 1:39 pm

Hello again
ALl41 - You'll notice that the link you suggested is the one I used. But thanks for the reminder
gm10 - I hadn't downloaded LM19 before today, and the Properties of the torrent link and the iso in my download folder said they were created today.
I've gone the download the iso from the University of Kent mirror, and that works fine, correct file name, and correct sha256 checksum. So it seems that the torrent link is in fact pointing to the wrong ISO.
I should have tried the direct route before posting, instead of trying the torrent multiple times, Transmission says I've tried 5 times.
I'm satisfied that I have the right ISO, so can mark this solved.
Go Steady, but keep going

all41
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5366
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: Have I got LM19 V2 or not? SOLVED

Post by all41 » Mon Aug 20, 2018 1:45 pm

is in fact pointing to the wrong ISO
When I first checked I also saw it was indeed pointing to the original release and not V2.

I have rechecked and now it is correct-- I even downloaded the torrent and files to verify
and it is now V2 with correct checksum

gm10
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7428
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:11 pm

Re: Have I got LM19 V2 or not? SOLVED

Post by gm10 » Mon Aug 20, 2018 2:07 pm

Weird, that .torrent file hasn't been modified in a month. Does the download page have a bug and is sometimes serving the old one? I did get the correct one, I had also checked when I posted.

all41
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5366
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: Have I got LM19 V2 or not? SOLVED

Post by all41 » Mon Aug 20, 2018 2:49 pm

I followed the first link in op and pretty sure the Transmission download window did not indicate the V2 version, even though
the link itself did. But if the link hasn't changed in months then perhaps was mistaken.

JeremyB
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 10673
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: Have I got LM19 V2 or not? SOLVED

Post by JeremyB » Mon Aug 20, 2018 5:08 pm

It doesn't really matter what version it was if you could install it. Version 2 only exists because of an issue with Ubuntu providing an update for grub-efi-amd64-signed and it only affected EFI installs while connected to the internet, if you didn't use an internet connection or have a legacy BIOS boot then you didn't see any issue

Post Reply

Return to “Installation & Boot”