Page 1 of 1

Need to create sda from system only seeing loop0

Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 6:38 pm
by JAFOLou
Ok my who knows how many attempts to install a linux distro. I think I have some progress. I have a doner laptop I am dedicating to the learning.

Mint 19 cinnamon 3.8.6

What I did:
Tried to install once it took but never has a swap partition and would not reload. So I did a shred to the whole hdd. Now I have loop0 at 1.8g and nothing else can not create other partitions and when I try to install mint from the live CD it says I have 0 free space on a 1.8g hdd.

I'm guessing I need to create a dev/sda and a swap and maybe a third partition for my data so mint is separate from my data. (How in used to have it with windows and once a year I'd wipe my C drive keeping my data and other programs on D then use D to reinstall all I had)

All I need to know is how to create I suppose a dev/sda and go from there so I can install and start learning more.

Re: Need to create sda from system only seeing loop0

Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 7:21 pm
by WharfRat
Mint is not going to fit on a 1.8g hdd

From the live media, open the terminal application and paste back the results of sudo blkid

Re: Need to create sda from system only seeing loop0

Posted: Sun Oct 28, 2018 11:59 am
by JAFOLou
/dev/sr0: UUID="2018-06-26-18-22-19-00" LABEL="Linux Mint 19 Cinnamon 32-bit" TYPE="iso9660" PTUUID="0b3f944c" PTTYPE="dos"
/dev/sda5: UUID="59ebfdf3-e800-4c5e-8570-3fa4e1e7ce88" TYPE="swap"
/dev/loop0: TYPE="squashfs"


Sorry for the long reply. I was awaiting notification that the post was approved.

Re: Need to create sda from system only seeing loop0

Posted: Wed Nov 14, 2018 9:49 pm
by JAFOLou
Bump? Had issues with booting the Live CD on this machine for some reason after closing the screen.

How would I create a SDA1, 2, and 3 possibly 4 when all I see is loop0 after I did a wipe of the drive. I assume I wiped out the boot sector?

Re: Need to create sda from system only seeing loop0

Posted: Thu Nov 15, 2018 11:04 am
by WharfRat
You only have a swap partition on /dev/sda5. There is nothing else on that disk.

What you should do is just install using the option to use the entire disk.

The installation procedure will setup the / and swap partitions.