BIOS trouble or OS write same place???

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
sebas77ce
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 12:23 pm

BIOS trouble or OS write same place???

Post by sebas77ce » Fri Nov 09, 2018 12:52 pm

I managed to install Linux Mint 19 on my computer with AMD64 architecture thanks to the following added parameters:

- APIC
- ACPI = FORCE
- AMD_IOMMU_DUMP = 1
- IOMMU = PT


The functionality of Linux Mint was a success. However Microsoft Windows 10 was no longer accessible !? The Windows HDD gave the following error codes and even file:

- HIBERFIL.SYS: Missing or corrupted file
- CODE: 0x0000000
- CODE: 0x0000025


After the creation of the DVD Windows 10. Accessibility was not at the rendezvous ??? This one gave me the following code:

- Code: 0xC0000225

It is after making a clear CMOS on the master card that Windows is accessible. However, Linux Mint 19 is basic. For the asccessibility of Linux, I have to remove ACPI (Enabled to Disabled) to access Linux!

What correction in the GRUB I have to make to leave ACPI active in the BIOS?

NB: I have protected the BIOS writes that can be done operating system and I do not intend to put it back available.

User avatar
lsemmens
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1261
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 9:07 pm
Location: Rural South Australia

Re: BIOS trouble or OS write same place???

Post by lsemmens » Fri Nov 09, 2018 10:09 pm

I'm wondering if you have a UEFI BIOS enabled for Windoze and installed Linux without UEFI.

Can You please open a terminal (little black icon with a $ sign in the corner)
type the following command: inxi -Fxzd
copy the resultant output and paste it in your reply between [ code ][ /code ] tags (remove the spaces that I have placed in the aforementioned tags before posting)
That might give us some idea of what is happening.
Kernel: 4.15.0-36-generic x86_64 bits: 64
Desktop: Cinnamon 3.8.9
Distro: Linux Mint 19 Tara

Laptop T4500 Dualcore 4Gb RAM
Server AMD Phenom 9650 - GEForce 9400GT 6Gb RAM
+ three other Linux Mint machines
Out of my mind - please leave a message

sebas77ce
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 12:23 pm

Re: BIOS trouble or OS write same place???

Post by sebas77ce » Sun Nov 11, 2018 1:37 pm

Thank for your help!

Code: Select all

System:    Host: sebastien-MS-7640 Kernel: 4.15.0-38-generic x86_64
           bits: 64 gcc: 7.3.0
           Desktop: MATE 1.20.1 (Gtk 3.22.30) Distro: Linux Mint 19 Tara
Machine:   Device: desktop Mobo: MSI model: 890FXA-GD65 (MS-7640) v: 3.0 serial: N/A
           BIOS: American Megatrends v: V18.9 date: 10/31/2012
CPU:       6 core AMD Phenom II X6 1100T (-MCP-) 
           arch: K10 rev.0 cache: 3072 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4a svm) bmips: 44750
           clock speeds: max: 3729 MHz 1: 3729 MHz 2: 3729 MHz 3: 3729 MHz
           4: 3729 MHz 5: 3728 MHz 6: 3729 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Cape Verde XT [Radeon HD 7770/8760 / R7 250X]
           bus-ID: 05:00.0
           Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.19.6 )
           drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: modesetting,fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1600x900@60.00hz
           OpenGL: renderer: AMD CAPE VERDE (DRM 2.50.0 / 4.15.0-38-generic, LLVM 6.0.0)
           version: 4.5 Mesa 18.0.5 Direct Render: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:14.2System:    Host: sebastien-MS-7640 Kernel: 4.15.0-38-generic x86_64
           bits: 64 gcc: 7.3.0
           Desktop: MATE 1.20.1 (Gtk 3.22.30) Distro: Linux Mint 19 Tara
Machine:   Device: desktop Mobo: MSI model: 890FXA-GD65 (MS-7640) v: 3.0 serial: N/A
           BIOS: American Megatrends v: V18.9 date: 10/31/2012
CPU:       6 core AMD Phenom II X6 1100T (-MCP-) 
           arch: K10 rev.0 cache: 3072 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4a svm) bmips: 44750
           clock speeds: max: 3729 MHz 1: 3729 MHz 2: 3729 MHz 3: 3729 MHz
           4: 3729 MHz 5: 3728 MHz 6: 3729 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Cape Verde XT [Radeon HD 7770/8760 / R7 250X]
           bus-ID: 05:00.0
           Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.19.6 )
           drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: modesetting,fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1600x900@60.00hz
           OpenGL: renderer: AMD CAPE VERDE (DRM 2.50.0 / 4.15.0-38-generic, LLVM 6.0.0)
           version: 4.5 Mesa 18.0.5 Direct Render: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:14.2
           Card-2 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Cape Verde/Pitcairn HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 7700/7800 Series]
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 05:00.1
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.15.0-38-generic
Network:   Card: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCIE Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: d800 bus-ID: 04:00.0
           IF: enp4s0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 2016.5GB (2.2% used)
           ID-1: USB /dev/sde model: USB_Flash_Memory size: 16.0GB
           ID-2: /dev/sdf model: WDC_WD5002AALX size: 500.1GB
           ID-3: /dev/sdg model: WDC_WD1002FAEX size: 1000.2GB
           ID-4: /dev/sdh model: WDC_WD5002AALX size: 500.1GB
           Optical-1: /dev/sr0 model: HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-H62L
           rev: DL00 dev-links: cdrom,cdrw,dvd,dvdrw
           Features: speed: 48x multisession: yes
           audio: yes dvd: yes rw: cd-r,cd-rw,dvd-r,dvd-ram state: running
           Optical-2: /dev/sr1 model: HL-DT-ST BD-RE  WH10LS30
           rev: 1.01 dev-links: N/A
           Features: speed: 40x multisession: yes
           audio: yes dvd: yes rw: cd-r,cd-rw,dvd-r,dvd-ram state: running
Partition: ID-1: / size: 458G used: 32G (8%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdh1
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 35.2C mobo: N/A gpu: 30.0
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 208 Uptime: 2 min Memory: 1450.9/16041.0MB
           Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 7.3.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.4.191) inxi: 2.3.56 

           Card-2 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Cape Verde/Pitcairn HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 7700/7800 Series]
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 05:00.1
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.15.0-38-generic
Network:   Card: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCIE Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: d800 bus-ID: 04:00.0
           IF: enp4s0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Info:      Processes: 208 Uptime: 2 min Memory: 1450.9/16041.0MB
           Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 7.3.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.4.191) inxi: 2.3.56 
My question : Why Windows 10 have trouble when I install Linux Mint & I reset my CMOS for full acces at Windows 10 but I need Disabled ACPI for acces at Linux Mint 19?

User avatar
lsemmens
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1261
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 9:07 pm
Location: Rural South Australia

Re: BIOS trouble or OS write same place???

Post by lsemmens » Sun Nov 11, 2018 9:13 pm

I am no expert, but, everything looks OK to me, best wait for a true expert to turn up. IIRC corrupt Hiberfil.sys can be corrected by booting into Safe Mode in Wondwoes and then re-starting. Haven't had to deal with that for a couple of years, so I cannot recall exactly.
Kernel: 4.15.0-36-generic x86_64 bits: 64
Desktop: Cinnamon 3.8.9
Distro: Linux Mint 19 Tara

Laptop T4500 Dualcore 4Gb RAM
Server AMD Phenom 9650 - GEForce 9400GT 6Gb RAM
+ three other Linux Mint machines
Out of my mind - please leave a message

Post Reply

Return to “Installation & Boot”