19.1 slow to start [SOLVED]

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
LostAndDazed

19.1 slow to start [SOLVED]

Post by LostAndDazed »

Hi All, just moved over from Ubuntu after many years. Loving 19.1.

But and yeah, there is always a "but," it is slow to start. On every boot/reboot I have to sit through 7 or 8 full cycles of the green and white dots rolling through. I have it set up with dual boot and Ubutnu-16.04 but 19.01 is the first item on the Grub menu. If I select the Ubuntu option it boots through to the login in about 2-seconds.

Is there something I can do to speed Mint up? I am a programmer and rebooting is something that can need to happen many times a day. {gasp!} :)
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 3 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Flemur
Level 20
Level 20

Re: 19.1 slow to start

Post by Flemur »

LostAndDazed wrote: Fri Dec 14, 2018 12:18 pmIs there something I can do to speed Mint up?
Probably.
I am a programmer and rebooting is something that can need to happen many times a day. {gasp!} :)
Then you should know that you need to supply information about your problem; could you fix your software if someone said "it's too slow", with no other information?
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?
DAMIEN1307

Post by DAMIEN1307 »

information that would be useful can be done by copy and paste to the terminal, the commands i will list below...DAMIEN

System Specs.

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz
System Start Up Time

systemd-analyze
System Start Up Programs etc.

systemd-analyze blame
LostAndDazed

Post by LostAndDazed »